We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is excellent,Eduardo was the best,Paulo the bar man was also very good. The reason I am complaining is, we were all inclusive very good so far, until check out time, we were then presented with a bill for 33 Euros this was for the water in our room cost 3 Euros a bottle so as we were all inclusive we did not see any list for water, we have been on many holidays all over the world and this is the first time we have been charged, is this another hidden charge? So be warned not to drink the water from the fridge in your room. I would be interested in the hotels explaination

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annekinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review. We were pleased to find you enjoyed our hotel and will pass on your comments to Eduardo and Paulo.
We are sorry that you did not notice the information ( round sticker ) on the mini bar door mentioning that the drinks inside the mini bar ( waters ) do have a charge. This information is on the mini bar door and we hope guests may read this as to avoid future misunderstanding.
The drinks in the mini bar are charged despite what board you have booked ( Bed and breakfast, all inclusive, etc ).
We do hope that this misunderstanding will not change the good impression you have had during your holiday, and sincerely hope you may visit us again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have just returned from a week spent in the Vila Gale. I travelled alone but was given a large comfortable bed. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant really nice with plenty of choice. The breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit.
The staff were helpful and pleasant especially Eduardo the acting manager. I will return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter than the front which overlooks the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank antanjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review as it was very pleasing to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa ! We hope to welcome you again in the near future

kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff are so friendly and helpful in this hotel, nothing is too much bother! Marco on reception helped us to our room. I had my elderly mother with me and Eduardo met her every meal time and personally helped her with her choices, it made her feel so special and also meant that I had time to myself.
We had a disabled room and the bathroom was well equipped for mum to manage. There is a fridge in the room. I would have liked a kettle to make tea but that is just a little minus. Rooms are spacious and very clean.
Lots of facilities, children's pool and playroom, gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, spa, snooker and games room, outdoor and indoor pool, library and bar (Paulo was great fun and always smiling).
Location was great, the hotel is between the old and new town so both can be enjoyed. A little train stops outside the hotel if you don't fancy walking and you can purchase a daily ticket and use it as often as you like.
We were half board and the restaurant food was lovely with something for everyone. Even Rosa, the manager , was there on occasions to greet you and make sure everything is OK.
Will definitely return, thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sunnier
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniePatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely review as it was a pleasure to find you and your mother have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We will pass on your review to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed there from Dec.19 th to 2nd Jan and both myself and my girlfriend had a great time ..after a shoddy cancellation close to our departure date for this holiday I can honestly say this was the best move we could have hoped for..Christmas was quiet but we met some great people there and made our own entertainment..closer to new year it picked up and was a truly excellent holiday.when we heard there was a beach party on new years eve we had already decided to go to it so missed the gala dinner. My advise is to go all inclusive as the beers are quite expensive .The staff were awesome too from cleaners to the buffet to the reception .bruno the manager was a top bloke too.he even had the chef make us a curry as a different option which was great .we also got switched from a road view to sea view in our 2nd week .just a final say to 2 of the bar staff .Mario &paulo top blokes made our time at the bar fun and joyful ..I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to come to albufeira .just the staff alone make this a top hotel .so much effort is put it and us holidaymakers noticed .thanks for the effort put in and may be just may be we will see you soon .Gary & mandy from halifax.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank halifaxwobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We will pass it on to our staff as they will be very pleased to read it and find that our main objective which is our guests total satisfaction has been achievd.

Thank you for choosing the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here over the new year, travelling with travel department. Excellent location between old and new town. The new year gala was brilliant. The staff are excellent, room staff, bar staff and especially the restaurant staff. Only quibble I have is that the "free" internet available in reception is awful. The hotel are losing a lot of customers over this. One day I counted 8 people from our group in a nearby bar using the internet all drinking, the hotel is loving this revenue. I felt that they wanted everyone to pay for upgrading! The rooms are a little bit tired but clean and well serviced every day. Spa is really tired and changing rooms are just awful, indoor pool is very badly lit.

Room Tip: Get a room facing pool, rooms at front are very noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review, we were pleased to find you enjoyed your stay and the Newn years eve with us. We will pass on your review to our staff as it is highly motivating for them.
We are trying to improve our wifi-internet signal, and your suggestions and comments are welcome regarding this and the indoor lighting.
We hope we may welcome you back in the near future


Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent a week in this very nice, ultra-clean hotel which has spacious well presented bedrooms. Being winter, it was nice to have the indoor pool, though I did brave a dip outdoors as well! The sea was a bit too rough for trying a dip, though the water was adequately warm for an irish person like me. The food was lovely, very pleasing. Next door is the most wonderful cake shop and cafe! The hotel put on a fabulous New Year Party for 2013-2014-well done to the fantastic staff for feeding us, watering us and entertaining us so marvellously.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely review as we were very pleased to fin you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa and the New Years party.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa many times over the past few years always found it very clean throughout ,the staff always friendly, food at breakfast time is very varied all fresh, eggs are cooked while you wait, cater for all tastes loved the pancakes with the chocolate sauce... top makes.
Pool and pool area is immaculately maintained, great having a dip even in October when we were there last. loved it that much we are going again tomorrow, for a 3 day short break cant wait.
Hope they are still doing the wine tasting on a Thursday evening Vila Gale wine is very very good
Hotel is situated in a good position between the strip and the old town both a short walk or jump on the train it stops just outside... 4.00 euros for a day pass, some nice small local restaurant's on the way down to the old town worth a try.
Beach at the old town is beautiful, through the tunnel clean sand cant beat it.
See you tomorrow X

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GazandCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing you review, and hope you have enjoyed once again your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. It is really pleasing to know you continue visiting us.
We are still doing our wine tasting on Thursdays and will continue to do so.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $55 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing