We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located Clean & Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #28 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well Located Clean & Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 10 days in May at this hotel & enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean with fresh towels every day. We requested a pool view but we did not get one & our room was facing out onto the busy road, this is the only real complaint I would have about the hotel, if staying in this hotel insist on a room with a pool view as we found our room to be very noisey & if you are a light sleeper you will not enjoy your rest as buses are going from early morning outside the hotel. We loved the location of the hotel as it was just 5 min walking distance to the Old Town & about 10 -15 min walk to New Town (Strip) so we had the best of both. We found all hotel staff to be very friendly except for one waiter in the restaurant & the reception staff were very helpful & had a good sense of humour. We stayed on a B&B basis & would recommend this as there are so many delicious places to eat in Albufeira for example La Barca (Italian restaurant in Old Town), Clay Ovan (Indian restaurant on way to New Strip & a must for Indian lovers), Costa Rica (Good for fish, located in New Strip) & for cake & pastry lovers La Riveira is a must (located just right of hotel just 1 minute walk). The breakfast buffet had something to suit everyones taste & there were 3 coffee machines located in the restaurant which supplied a variety of coffees, all lovely. We dined in the restaurant on two occasions & really enjoyed both meals, we received a voucher for a free bottle of wine with our first meal & chose a local Portuguese red wine which was delicious & would recommend a visit to the restaurant, also 3 course meal was very cheap. There was an indoor pool & spa area but we did not avail of this but we did view the area & it looked ok, the outdoor pool was very clean & there were plenty of sunloungers every day to choose from, I availed of the gym on one occasion but found it to be very small & very humid, there was a small childrens play area outside with a playroom. The night time entertainment could be improved on & the games room would need to be updated, also the cost for 1 hour of pool was quite expensive. We both agreed that we would go back to this hotel again & would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel insist on a pool view otherwise expect noise from early morning from buses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read your comment and find you have enjoyed your holiday and found our hotel and service to your standard.
The rooms facing the pool / sea are further away from the busy street and eventual traffic noise, so whenever we can if the guest requests and if we have availability we can acoomodate accordingly.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    609
    217
    58
    25
See reviews for
415
750
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and we had clean towels every day, lashings of hot water, the air conditioning was great as the temp was 90+ whilst we were there. Ask for a room with a pool view as the other rooms face onto a busy road which we were told became very noisy at night.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. the food was plentiful with enough choices to please everyone.The whole hotel was spotless, the indoor pool was like stepping into a bath, it was so warm and both pools were very clean. The hotel provide towels for the pools, just ask at reception.We booked trips through the reception and the coach company's they used were great, and we only paid a couple of euros more than the ticket shops, but had piece of mind that if there was a problem we were well covered!! We didn't have any problems we were picked up and dropped off at the door of the hotel.The only negative thing I can say is the evening entertainment was very "cheap and tacky" organist playing and singing songs from the 60`s and a chap singing along to backing tracks..........there were a group of young dancers a couple of evenings and they were excellent. The hotel was only a few minutes walk to the old town, which we loved and about 10 mins walk to The Strip, which was very "British seaside bars"........... Portugal was beautiful with some amazing places to see and visit and every Portuguese person we spoke to were really friendly and helpful.
Whist we were in the hotel it was our Wedding anniversary (which out travel agent had put on the booking form, but told us not to expect anything) when we got back from a day out there was a bottle of champagne,in a ice bucket, and nuts and truffles waiting for us which we thought was a lovely gesture form the staff, and certainly added to our enjoyment of our stay in the hotel.Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tobyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments as we found them very pleasing and to find you have enjoyed your stay and recommend the Vila Galé Cerro Alagoa.
We are trying to improve our entertainment and these comments help us discover if this is what our guests expect.
We hope you may choose the Cerro Alagoa again in a fututre holiday

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

It takes a lot to please me but this hotel infact the whole holiday was one of the best there is nothing I can say bad about this place, it's spotless we stayed on a b&b basis the breakfast was the best we have had anywhere
The only thing I would say is that they could do with putting a kettle in so you could have a cup of tea when you fancied one
Would defo go back ere again we loved it

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lubylou_64088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All generally good. Breakfast a little restricted as no omelettes and bacon a bit fatty. Proper toasters though and choice of fruit , cerial, yoghurt etc.
Easy to get a sun bed w/o hassle before 9.30/10 . Picture of pool misleading as its ok but much smaller than picture. Rooms facing road a bit traffic noisy but do have afternoon sun on balcony. Staff friendly but did take 4 days to fix A/c which dripped quite heavily. Good location, close to old town( 10 mins ) and 20 from strip. ( which is like Blackpool, as are parts of old town) . The hidden away restaurants much better both for quality and value. One is found up a side street via a lady pointing the way with a huge 'pointy' finger. Food good , very busy inside and service good ( cant remember name)

Room Tip: Afternoon Sun on balcony roadside , but bit noisy at nite. Hotel for older people generally ( mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks break to this hotel. If you decide to book this hotel make sure you book a pool view room, the rooms at the other side are on a very busy road and I thought the moterbikes were in the room with me. I paid extra & room moved on the third night, I was lucky that the hotel was not full. I stayed half board & because I arrived at 11pm, I had emailed to hotel to ask about a light snack on arrival. They were very good & as soon as I had checked in they send a salad, some fruit, bread & water to me. The room was very clean and I paid 15 euro for the safe for the week. There is no kettle in the room but I always bring my travel kettle. I like a cup of peppermint tea before bed.There is a fridge which the hotel will fill for you or there are 2 supermarkets near the hotel. Out of hotel turn left & left again (small one which I liked) turn right out of hotel there is a huge one. As previous reviews have mentioned beautiful pastry shop when you turn right out of hotel.
The food in the hotel is great, something for everyone. On my first day it rained a little & as I had left Ireland to get away from it I was worried it was going to be a wet week. I need not have worried the weather for the rest of the week was fantastic. The day it rained I went to plan B & had an amazing facial & massage in the spa. The hotel does offers every week so keep your eyes peeled for that one.The are loads of beds & umbrellas ( however the Germans are still territorial so watch out.) And there are even lots away from the pool if you want quieter area, however & this is no reflection on the hotel. I got very sick and had to go to the hospidal with breathing difficulties early one morning.The hotel got a taxi for me. My throat was raw, my voice went and my eyes were swolen & closed due to the infection. BIG TIP Make sure you have your E111 card or you will pay. I had forgotton mine. The Dr at hospidal thought it was an allergy I picked up from the trees & shrubs at the hotel & I had been sitting near the same greenery every day. The hospidal only gave me painkillers which numbed the pain in my throat but was not assisting with the healing. I became great friends with the pharmacy across the road ( if you have to go there they operate a ticket system so pull a ticket just inside the door) I tried cough bottles & everything but nothing worked, I have been on antibiotics since I came back. I did not allow this to ruin my holiday but I just want to say sit in another area away from trees at the hotel.( Sorry about this part of the review but I would not like the same thing to happen to antone elce)
The bar in the hotel was were I had most of my conversations, I was travelling solo. Ezequiel & Mario were great & we had good old natters over a Baileys coffee which Tanya made so well. The entertainment at the hotel was dreadful, Parrots & Snakes. They had karoke one night but it was a bit of a flop.
Manuela is an excellent hairdresser and you can book her through reception.
Sergio ( chef ) was always smiling and friendly & very helpful. A few other members of staff who I met & deserve a mention were Pedro Feliz, Emamuel & Paulo. This was my first trip to Portugal & I have to say at first I did not find the staff very friendly but as week went on it seemed to improve.
A few other tips I did Historic Algarve Tour, its a long day.And my experience was you do not get to see enough of the places you visit, its like a whistle stop tour. I really wanted to visit Lagos but all I got there was 30 mins, not enough time to explore. The tour highlight for me was Cape St Vincent, which was like our Cliffs of Moher. I did not even get time to enjoy possibily the best coffee I had on my trip. Lovely coffee dock at Cape St Vincent. If I was to go again I think I would find a way to get to Lagos without the tour bus. I did the hop on off city tour bus & would not recommend it, waste of money & I was sitting at bus stops waiting for it for an eternity. The little blue & yellow train goes from outside the hotel and it will take you to the new town ( Strip ) and the Old Town. You can walk from the hotel to the Old Town, just turn left & its a short walk, however the pavements are narrow and uneven so be careful. A taxi from the Old town to the hotel will cost less the 5 euros. In the Oldtown there is a taxi rank.
The beach is amazing & there are lots of eating places where you can sit & watch the world go by. A coffee for 1.40, peri peri chicken ( traditional hot sauce) with chips & salad, a beer & water for 10.50 with an amazing view!!
I was ill for most of my trip but I still enjoyed my holiday. To the Managment at the hotel I would say sort out better entertainment & well done on excellent & professional & happy staff.

Room Tip: Dont hesitate if you are a light sleeper book a pool view room, its a pain having to move all your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bubbles66Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we really hope that you are feeling better and have recuperated from the allergy !
Thank you for your lovely comments and these will be passed on to the staff mentioned as it is of great motivation to us to read our guests satisfaction at the end of their holiday.
Thank you for choosing the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcom you back

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first class. In my opinion it deserves a 5 star rating instead of 4. From the moment you enter the reception area you are made to feel totally at ease by the pleasant and courteous staff. This includes waiters, waitresses, barmen, cleaners. Nothing and nobody to fault. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable holiday. The all inclusive option is well worth it. There is food to cater for every single taste. The salads, fresh fruit and desserts are wonderful. All food is always fresh. The swimming pool is huge and there are always plenty of sunbeds and tables and chairs to relax on. There is also an indoor pool and spa, together with games room, hairdressers and shop. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and no doubt will be returning for a 4th visit in the future.

Room Tip: Pool/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We originally booked to stay at a 3 star hotel in Albufeira but after it got wiped out by Norovirus we changed our booking to this hotel. How glad were we! This hotel is really lovely. Our stay was all inclusive. The food was gorgeous - a diverse range to suit different cultures and plenty of choice. I ate 3 x 3 course meals every day!! If you fancy a lighter lunch, you can get snacks at the bar. A range of drinks were available to suit most tastes. The hotel is clean and the staff and the service they provide was superb. The gym and health suite facilities looked great, although we never got to use them! There's loads of sunbeds and the pool was gorgeous. It's in a great location too, close to the old town and the new town....everything within walking distance. I'd definitely go back again...a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not sure that the sea view would warrant 16 euros a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littlesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing