We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We originally booked to stay at a 3 star hotel in Albufeira but after it got wiped out by Norovirus we changed our booking to this hotel. How glad were we! This hotel is really lovely. Our stay was all inclusive. The food was gorgeous - a diverse range to suit different cultures and plenty of choice. I ate 3 x 3 course meals every day!! If you fancy a lighter lunch, you can get snacks at the bar. A range of drinks were available to suit most tastes. The hotel is clean and the staff and the service they provide was superb. The gym and health suite facilities looked great, although we never got to use them! There's loads of sunbeds and the pool was gorgeous. It's in a great location too, close to the old town and the new town....everything within walking distance. I'd definitely go back again...a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not sure that the sea view would warrant 16 euros a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littlesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    607
    215
    58
    25
See reviews for
414
748
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

just arrived back from the cerra alagoa lovely hotel staff are great food very good at breakfast and dinner not so good at lunch but you can always have a very nice sandwich all inc drinks a bit rough but drinkable everything very clean no problem getting a sunbed at any time of day we had room305 on side of hotel very comfortable largest balcony ever had 3sunbeds on one part and still room to hold a dance room kept very clean small niggles we went all inc but had to pay for safety dep box 35euros also only allowed water by the glass if you want a bottle fof room you have to pay for it we bought ours from supermarket no brewing facilities in room we took our own no sign of mosquitoes lovely cake shop next door hotel very handy for every thing we originally booked to go to the auramar hotel but changed because of all the bad reviews it cost us an extra several hundred pounds but it was money well spent i did get a bout of food poisining but i think it was sardines i had in the town because my wife was ok and that was the only thing i had differant to her all in all it was a lovely place and will go back kingsley and pat mills

Room Tip: room305 very quiet large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingsley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth stay at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa and sadly will probably be our last. First, the positives - great location, good variety at breakfast, lovely pool (albeit very cold) good facilities such as the gym, jacuzzi, steam room and indoor pool. The negatives - the rooms are dated and the hotel could do with a lick of paint both internally and externally. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Senior Suite and were impressed by the space we got but not by the Suite. The rooms are tired and would benefit from updating to make better use of the incredible space. Also, the base of our beds were grubby and exposed and just didn't look very nice. The balcony is large but because of the way the balcony above is positioned it didn't catch the sun.

In the bathrooms, every time we took a shower, we spent the next 10 minuites mopping up because the water ran down the side of the bath onto the floor!

The staff at the hotel were friendly enough but the same cannot be said for their Central Reservations team with whom we made the booking through. For some reason (which they couldn't explain) they debited us with the full cost of EUR1358.00
5 weeks before our stay, instead of the 10% they should have taken. It then took them a month and only after several phone calls at my expense to get it reimbursed.

For a four star hotel, I would expect extras such as tea/coffee making facilities, free access to the room safe and in room WIFI at no extra cost.

That said, we still love Albufeira and the old town is just fantastic and will probably return next year, but maybe not to this hotel.



Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Petty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay and do regret you were disappointed on this visit to our hotel.
We have in fact painted and renovated the entrance of the hotel as you may have noticed from the last visit. The reception area in now much brighter with a new entrance.
We will be painting the hotel exterior this winter so this has been taken into consideration. Your comments on the room are welcome and will be dealt with ( room 338 ).
We do apologise for the charge with the Central Reservation system as this is a new automatic system which is being improved.
We hope you may reconsider chosing our hotel again in the future

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we have just come back from a 2 weeks stay B&B in may. This hotel was fantastic would recommend anyone to stay here. everything down to the room being clean and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. all the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. location was great for both old and new town you could get around by using taxi,bus and the little blue train which you could get right outside the hotel.
the only 2 faults we had which are minor faults was that the pool was FREEZING!! and really would of liked tea and coffee facilities in the room other than this what a great place to stay and hopefully will be back in September.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms are quiet and are a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have returned today from a weeks all inclusive at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. We arrived well before the 2pm check in due to the 6am flight from Gatwick but our room was ready for us and was exactly as we had requested, pool view, sea view etc. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel and was cleaned and fresh towels supplied daily, the sheets were changed 3 times during our stay too. The food was always excellent and very well presented and the staff were always polite and helpful. The evening entertainment was not very inspiring but we didn't mind as we just enjoyed sitting and watching the world go by. Overall we were really pleased with our choice and are planning on going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/sea view as the rooms on the other side look out over a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, very attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The breakfast offered a variety of options as did the pool bar. Pool was clean. I would not choose the dinner personally as there are so many cheap restaurants around! A great hotel...would go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachael b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 week AllI Inclusive at this hotel 4th May - 11th May. The Rooms were clean beds good bathroom clean good pressure from the shower , no Tea/Coffee facilities which was disappointing expected moref rom a 4 star. The pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds. We did not test the water but by the looks of things tempreture was cold. Did not go to entertainment so cannot comment.Food was just ok you could always find some thing to eat food was cold disappointed. Staff were very plesant and helpful. Overall I have stayed in better 3 Star Hotels with better quality and varity of food and room facilities

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
435 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 154 in Albufeira
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing