We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel is ok”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Whilst this hotel was ok i expected more .
Our room was average and faced a busy road and car park..to move we had to pay a fee as was south and sea facing and classed as superior.
The facility was bed and breakfast whuch was very good. Good choice ..
We also liked our location very central to old and new town although only visited new town 1 time as it really is for the younger crowd.
The old town is great very traditional, lots of character. Fabulous restaurants well varied and a range if prices.
The beach is stunning with good access via steps ,escalator and a lift.
Lots of intresting little stalls adorn the cobbled streets.
Many evenings there was entertainment in the streets .
Our flight time was only 2 an a bit hours with ryan air.(good service)
Our transfer from the airport was yellowfishtransfers an took 30 minutes (also very good service) with a free gift on arrival to the hotel
I would use the flight and transfer again .Maybe it just didn't suit me as other people rate it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review which deserved our attention. The rooms facing the pool or with sea view do have a little suplement, but we are happy to find these suited your choice.

We hope you may reconsider visiting us again in a near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    600
    210
    57
    25
See reviews for
403
737
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel very clean and staff worked hard and very friendly. Stayed All Inclusive and enjoyed the food. We still went out on an evening mostly to the Old Town which was busy and a good atmosphere. The train was very convenient and stops outside the hotel. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidaymakerYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and were very pleased to find you have had a lovely holiday at the Cerro. We will pass on your rewardong review to our staff
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights . Rooms were really comfortable. staff were second to none.We checked in on my birthday. Later that day they surprised me with lovely food and sparkling wine which I didnt expect.Lovely buffet breakfast put up to us every morning staff were really friendly and helpful, WE would like to say a big thank you for everything at this hotel. We will definitely return here when we visit Albufeira again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happycouple090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back after 2weeks, hotel very nice,very clean and staff very friendly,pool area very nice,in fact only one complaint,was charged e3.50 for a 50cents bottle of water,a bit ott.found a great restruant just around corner. Dom Capito and a good Indian on way to the strip(which isn't far to walk) called the clay oven. If you want a cheap drink and wi fi the Internet cafe across the road is good

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Edgar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
We are pleased to find you have enjoyed your two weels stay at the Cerro Alagoa and will pass on your comments to our staff.
Hoping to welcome you back
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

spent 2 weeks here in early September, fantastic hotel and facilities. paid the little extra for a pool facing room which was worth it. only stayed "Bed & Breakfast" as i believe "All Inclusive" is a waste of time in Europe, if you wanna go all inclusive go to the Caribbean! Had the included breakfast every morning, which was great, there was a lot on offer from cooked meats, to cereals and a range of fruit. Poolside was great, we always managed to get a sun lounger at our regular spot at around 10am every day.

Didn't use the bar or the hotel restaurant, so can't comment - we like to dine out for lunch and dinner. had a couple of soft drinks from he pool bar, expensive, but to be expected.

Location couldn't be better - 10 minutes walk to old town, 15 to The Strip and most excursions picked us up form outside our hotel (waterpark etc!)

Indoor pool was great for getting outta the sun at midday, jacuzzi, steamroom & sauna all fantastic. Gym was well equipped. Even treated ourselves to massages from the lovely staff at the spa.

Only had one minor issue at the hotel - the fridge in the room didn't work, no big problem though - a quick phonecall to reception had a member of maintenance bring a new fridge to our room in a matter of minutes.. all in all a great stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the pool or sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deeevolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review as we found it very pleasing to read and find you have had an excellent stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We will pass on your rewarding comments to the Spa staff. We are pleased to find you have enjoyed our facilities
We hope you may choose the Cerro Alagoa again should you wish to visit Albufeira again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel and first impressions were good, the front of the hotel is well kept and clean the reception area is impressive we found the reception staff to be polite and helpful.
we upgraded to a sea view room which was well worth the extra money, the rooms them self are good, spacious and well cleaned with nice overall feel to them.The pool was a good size but very cold never had a problem getting a sunbed but we are early risers, the snack bar serves some good food and drinks but is a bit pricey.we only stayed B&B and didn't try the main restaurant but the breakfast was fine. overall this is a good hotel for the money its clean well presented and a nice place to stay the best part being its location just a ten minute walk from the beautiful old town with its tiny winding back streets and its plentiful supply of bars and restaurants,the main square and strip are very nice and even have shows but do take a walk through the back streets and other routes where you will find some great bars restaurants and shops, we did go to the strip in the new town but found it very tacky ok if your 21 and just want to get leglass but not much good for anything else my advice is stick to the old town its nice, and have a meal in the old converted fort at the corner of the beach and old town thats a fish restaurant bit pricey but worth it. Overall when you consider this wasn't a very expensive holiday i thought it was very good value for money nice hotel nice place very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are defo better but get one away from the bar can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barrlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and rewarding comments on our hotel. We were very pleased to find you have enjoyed our hotel and Albufeira. Our location is ideal when visiting Albufeira as it is ideally situated in the heart of the city.
We hope to welcom you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

clean comfortable , mini fridge did cool ambient temparature drinks very well , choice of food o.k not the best but enough , food was lukewarm rather than hot . Hotel did provide a meal in room first night as we arrived after 11p.m. location good, short walk to beach but is hilly .Pool very good , clean ,sunbeads always plenty ,we were all in , food and drink very pricey if not . Mini train stop outside hotel very handy to visit the srip etc.Reception staff very good other staff apart from manager not so friendly . could do with some music in bar and some entertainment and this would make hotel much more attractive.Can have early breakfast from 4.a.m if needed as we did .Hotel will even give you a packed lunch if going out for day ,let them know day before. All inclusive guests 7 or more nights or more are able to have a free a-la-carte meal in separate restaurant which is very good and worth 35 euros , make sure you book it day before , many guests did not realise this so make sure you claim yours ! Hotel will also book some local excursions and offer wake up calls . Wrist bands for all-inclusive are only paper so only last couple of days , very anoying to have to keep asking for a new band , should have plastic ! stayed 10 nights from 30th sep , every day hot and sunny , water on cool side , however indoor pool o.k ,but no bar ! Sauna , steam room jacuzi o.k but no drinking water on hand . Beggars etc should not be able to get into hotel and pester the guests ,. Overall not bad , just a few thigs to mend and it be at top!

Room Tip: Ask for higher bed if have bad back , beds very low .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tombofkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your detailed review and are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your comments regarding lack of entertainment and the all inclusive wrist bands are welcome will be taken into consideration.
All guests who reserve all inclusive for 7 nights or more can have an a la carte menu on one of the days ( just advise 24 hours in advance )
We hope you may choose our hotel again should you return to Albufeira in the future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing