We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alfagar Alto da Colina(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$156
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$281
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$227
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$267
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$486
$325
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$325
$302
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$185
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$901
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
361
273
74
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
273
74
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machineold townself cateringindoor poolsteep hillfridge freezeraldi lidldouble balconythomson rephalf boardhotel restaurantsea viewthe main hotelbedroom apartmentironing boardwell equipped kitchenthese apartments
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 740 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first time to this hotel. It's lovely, clean and very friendly. The pool is a good size and I couldn't get my daughter out. A cheeky seagull visited daily for a wash and a swim! The rooms were very spacious. The hotel sits on a hill and there are stairs down to the old town. After a week we were skipping up! There is a courtesy shuttle bus from the hotel if you don't like hills. Was impressed. Definitely recommend and definitely going to revisit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have just left this hotel, having been treated appallingly by the hotel management and I feel it is only right that others are warned of this. We arrived at the hotel and at first things were going very well, and we were very much enjoying our stay in the old town area of albufeira which is, might I say, quite beautiful. The room was very good, we were very pleased with it however on arrival, my partner noticed a metal plate was missing from the bedroom door. We thought nothing of this and continued with our holiday. Whilst on our way out of the room a couple of days later, part of the door frame collapsed suddenly falling to the floor. We were shocked by how sudden this had happened and reported it immediately to the hotel reception. Little did we know that the maids had spotted a problem earlier in the day, and a maintenance man had been up to perform a shoddy repair job on it which had then resulted in the frame collapsing. The hotel manager was fully aware of this, and no one thought to inform us that this frame was loose, despite us having a little 2 year old son who could have quite easily been injured or worse had this fallen on him. To make matters worse, the manager accused us of causing the damage, a young family with a small child kicking in a door.. Seems unlikely doesn't it. Not according to this guy who was seeking a scape goat for his sub standard fittings, or indeed a previous guest who had damaged the room and tried to patch it up.. I was appalled by this managers behaviour, he talked over us, refused to listen to anything we had to say and called us blatant liars. Disgusting behaviour from a hotel who obviously do not value the guests who pay their hard earned money to stay there. Thomson Holidays were amazing throughout this fiasco, their rep Kat could not have done enough for us and we were incredibly well supported and looked after by her and the Thomson/ First Choice team we encountered along the way. Please think carefully before booking this hotel, it has caused me no end of misery and spoiled the end of my holiday but if you do go, check your room and report anything untoward, no matter how small straight away, keeping a records of dates and times, as I would not like anyone to end up in the curious position we were put in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Irene474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

we got back from the Cerro Mar yesterday after 11 glorious days, after a disastrous christmas holiday to Lanzarote I had done a great deal of homework for this holiday and it couldnt have been better.The apartments are spacious,clean and very well equipped. We have been going to the Algarve for 25 years on & off and this was one of the best holidays we have had ! The cerro mar is clean, spacious ideally located for town but far enough out to be be relaxing and quiet. Well done Cerro mar and we look forward to returning soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sadtobehome14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 small kids (3+1) in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 weeks. Our first impression was how big the apartment was, a big hall which led to 2 good size bedrooms and a large living area each with their own balcony. The living area has a well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher and washing machine which is fantastic with 2 small kids. The only downside is the beds which were a little firm for my liking.

The staff are all friendly and helpful, the restaurant serves lovely meals and you even get a complimentary bottle of wine if you eat within the first 2 nights which is a nice perk.

The pool area is great for little ones as the kids pool is away from the main one giving a bit more safety for them. But be aware the water is very cold, although the kids one does warm up a bit.

Aldi is only a short 10 min walk and has everything you could need, and very cheap with it. Bottles of wine for less than 2 euro's can't be wrong!

The steps are OK and manageable we did it at least once everyday and I carried a 1 year old and a buggy, and I'm not the fittest in the world! The old town is nice although it was probably a bit too "English" for our tastes, we managed to eat somewhere different everyday and there were still lots of restaurants we didn't go to. The best being "infinity" near the beach towards the escalators. Although build your own burger was amazing with a Brie, bacon and chicken burger that was gorgeous.

Overall it was a great holiday with a fantastic hotel, cheap meals and fantastic weather.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tifosidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in the first week of June for 7 nights. We stayed half board in a one bedroom apartment and I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel is very clean and modern. There is a decent sized pool (it was quite cold though) and a snack bar. The staff were lovely at the hotel, everyone spoke very good English and were very welcoming. I was very pleased with our apartment and didn't expect it to be so big. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a fully equipped kitchen (dishwasher, toaster, coffee machine, kettle, and all the pots and pans, cutlery etc.) There were air-con units in the bedroom and living room / kitchen area, and were not noisy at all. There was a safe in the bedroom cupboard and you can pay 10 euro for a week to use this. There was a shower / bath in the bathroom and had a hairdryer connected on the wall. The view from the balcony (which was huge) was great too, it looked out on to the sea and the old town, and also the hotel's pool. Breakfast was great, there was everything that you could possibly want, catering for English breakfasts and continental breakfasts. There was also a buffet evening meal, however not many of the hotel guests seemed to go for this option. As a result, there wasn't a huge selection of food however it was nice quality food. If we decided to stay again, we would probably stay bed and breakfast, as there are so many restaurants nearby in the old town. It is about a 10 minute walk to the old town, down A LOT of steps. It was not so great coming back up all of those steps to come back to the hotel, however we managed it. There is a shuttle bus that runs about 4 or 5 times a day to the old town, but we never bothered and just took the steps. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the old town and the beach is about 15 minute walk from the hotel, through the old town. There is a little shop opposite the hotel, however it was a little pricey as you can expect. There is an Aldi about 10 minute walk from the hotel (the opposite direction of the old town) which was very useful. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we had a lovely holiday here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Caroline_P89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews