We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kev S”

Restaurant O Veleiro
Ranked #55 of 787 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kev S”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Whilst on holiday in the Algarve recently, we visited the old town of Albufeira.. Walking along one of the beautiful historic narrow streets one evening, we came across the O Veleiro restaurant and thought we would give it a try. It was a lovely warm evening so we decided to sit outside. The food and atmosphere was fantastic and very reasonably priced. (Try their Portuguese steak, absolutely gorgeous!) We would certainly use this restaurant again if we returned.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevins847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    219
    62
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tourist menu unbelievable value for money and good service.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We try to stay away from the tourist menus but you can't argue with the value for money. €10.50 each for a starter, main, coffee and pudding. Bread and olives with the starter is also included. Food was of good quality although it could have been a bit hotter at times and the portions were much better than at most other places we ate at. Our waitress was friendly and the food was consistently nice. I would definitely return to this restaurant rather than similar ones in albufeira.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amcc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It's worth looking for”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We came across this restaurant when we were out during the day, we sat and had a drink, locals were eating there so we checked out the menu and the dishes coming out of the kitchen. We returned that evening and were not disappointed, service was speedy and friendly and they were pleased to see we had returned. Food was fresh and ideally cooked, 1/2 bottle of there own h/wine was 4 euro and very good. Prices are very reasonable and they do offer a fixed price menu too. It's at the end of the street and it's certainly worth finding, so good we returned to celebrate my friends birthday, this evening they were very busy but still found time to sing happy birthday and if you think they are full, pause a moment and they will bring out more tables/chairs. A well run family business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, tasty and cheap.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a little gem. They do a tourist menu of which I have attached a copy of. Not a great variety but everything I have ordered has been cooked perfectly and without waiting too long. They offer 5 courses for 10.50 euro which is excellent value and all freshly made.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value tourist menu!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The tourist menu at 10 euro 50 is superb value and includes 1/2 bottle of house wine! Varied menu and good quality food, freshly cooked and served with a smile! Would certainly recommend and go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dartsmadstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O Veleiro also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurant O Veleiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing