We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suited us perfectly......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suited us perfectly......”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week in this lovely small boutique hotel. It suited our needs perfectly.

Our room was on the 3rd floor (No: 317) overlooking the pool area and we had sun on the very adequate balcony till about 1030am, and the shade was then most welcoming as the temperature increased throughout the day. The pool seemed a reasonable enough size in relation to the size of the hotel and there always seemed to be plenty of early sunbeds available although I would agree with the other reviews that the hotel really does need to enforce the "no reserving" signs that are around the hotel.

Our room was large enough for us and the facilities were fine (remembering this is not 5 star) & a good shower with excellent cleanliness. WiFi was erratic the first few days but was upgraded at the end of the week and was super fast!

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast offered was plentiful and a good varierty. There were many different local restaurants to choose from to eat out offering lots of different cuisines and full range of prices. We also visited restaurants in the old town ( taxi 5/6 euros) and villamoura marina (taxi 20/25 euros) and enjoyed every lunch and evening meal we had.

Within a 200 metre walk there is a semi private beach which has two beach cafes, both are excellent. High tide offers a lovely place to swim and when the tide is out there is a good stretch of sandy beach to stroll along plus a multitude of rockpools to explore and enjoy.

Over all we definitely recommend this little gem of a hotel and we will be staying here again very soon I hope!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    553
    137
    21
    16
See reviews for
102
1,121
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
larkhall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Found all aspects of hotel excellent. In particular the staff were helpful, polite and efficient. Agree with other reviews regarding soundproofing as we were getting woken up by late revellers. Overall would go back to hotel and recommend to friends
also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Me and my partner are just back from a 2 week stay at the Aqua Pedra dos Bicos, and before going we had like many others trailed through all the trip advisor reviews and seemed pretty confident with our choice before arrival.

We arrived in the evening (10pm) and were greeted by very lovely reception staff, the lady stood and showed us a map of the area and filled us in on all of the facilities nearby which was fantastic help as we hadn't been to Portugal before and seemed like she was very happy to help make our stay a happy and welcome one!

We were in room 208, which overlooked the apartments at the back of the hotel which we didn't mind so much as we had the sunshine from 3pm on wards and we rather enjoyed the people watching! The room was immaculate with little signs of wear and tear (burnt straighteners marks, some scuffs on the floor etc) but nothing to bad, the balcony was a lovely size and the shower was powerful. You do have a small fridge/minibar we used this to keep our bottles of water and juice cool, so its big enough for the little essentials you need for your room.
Me and my partner had no issues whatsoever with the beds, we felt they were comfy enough! However like a lot of people have mentioned the walls/ceilings are not very sound proof, I was woken up at 5:05am to people 'doing the deed' very LOUDLY! which was a little cringy, and my other half also woke up the week after to a loud group of men shouting and swearing. So if you are a light sleeper this could cause some issues sadly.

The hotel itself is very modern and clean, however the cleaners don't seem to clean the balcony areas of your rooms? and the glass is always grubby and full of fingerprints? our balcony wasn't even mopped over for the two weeks we were there which was strange? the pool area is small, we had issues with the sunbeds being reserved at 6am every morning! which is very annoying, we end up laying on the grass with our towels most days. The towel on sunbeds thing is a issue that crops up a lot, there are signs all over the hotel telling guests that this isn't allowed but people still do it? someone needs to be reinforcing this from the hotel to be honest.
The roof top terrace is lovely, people seem to never look for it? so we had it to ourselves most days! however towards the end of our second week it was invested with corn flies so we never returned sadly.

We went b&b and the breakfast was great everyday, good enough selection to suit everybody! from cereals, fruit to continental and cooked breakfasts. Juices weren't fresh, but still tasty enough. Food in Portugal is lovely, the restaurants are all very nice and we found all the food to be of a high standard so I advise you to go b&b! Lunches cost round about 12-15 euros for two and dinner was 25-35 euros, I am giving you this information as no one seems to mention food prices on reviews? also alcohol was pretty expensive for the likes of cocktails and spirits, you could get cheap beer for the likes of 1.50euro but cocktails could range from 7-10euro each?

Old town and Villamoura are lovely and both worth a visit or two, we walked to the old town and it took about 35-40mins and we are pretty fast walkers! you get a taxi back for 6Euros or the train back which can be nice. Villamoura is 8euros (return) but bus times aren't great and stop really early and we had to pay 25euros for a taxi home one night!!! so don't make that mistake.

All in all the hotel was lovely enough, the staff were all very attentive and nice and we even received a complimentary bottle of bubbly and fruit/chocolate on our arrival (for our anniversary) which was so sweet. Very relaxing stay, hotel did attract some lads holidays and girl holidays? which made round the pool loud at times but nothing to offensive. New town can be busy with stags and hens, so if that's not your scene just head to old town. We were sad to leave, Just got back last night and I already have the holiday blues!! Portugal is beautiful, and I'd have no problem recommending this hotel to family and friends.

p.s Internet Addicts: Wifi was really bad connection for 13 days we were there, then on our last day they updated the internet and put a router in every hotel room which made the internet connection fantastic! so good I could Facetime family so hopefully this is a solution, and no more internet issues for all you addicts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melissa_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFS.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

On arriving the check in was quick and efficient. The receptionist was very helpful and informative.The room was kept very clean and the bed linen changed regularly with a nice view of the sea.I was suprised that the tea/coffee making facility only had tea. Coffee was extra. The decor was fantastic and very modern. Although there were signs saying "no sunbeds to be reserved", every morning 90% were reserved before breakfast, with some not being occupied all day but still reserved with their towels. I think the management should enforce this rule. The beach is close and very nice with intimate coves if you wanted.The Old town was very nice with plenty of bars and restaraunts. The strip is very seedy and i would not recommend going at night unless you want to see fights or bottles and glasses being thrown..Bus into old town was 1.40 euro and well worth it. Overall i would recommend this hotel but the lack of evening entertainment makes the atmosphere a little wanting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for a week at this fabulous little hotel at the beginning of May. What a gem! The interior design is gorgeous and the bar area is exceptional. It is a pity that it is under-used by the residents. Our bedroom was quite spacious with a lovely bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Staff in this hotel are very friendly and when we had a problem with opening the safe, a member of staff came up within a few minutes of us ringing reception. Breakfast in the hotel was very good but we would have appreciated freshly-squeezed orange juice. The beach is about a 5-minute walk from the hotel but we spent most of the week poolside or on the rooftop terrace (so quiet and peaceful with a hint of a breeze). There are some restaurants/bars close to the Aqua Pedra dos Bicos, and the famous (or infamous!) 'strip' is about a 10-minute stroll away. A taxi into the old town of Albufeira costs about 5 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are probably best as on the higher floors there are lovely sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PkayTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Simply awesome!

Came with no expectations.. Was surprised how funky the decor & architecture of the building was! Feels like your kinda in a shopping centre yet a hotel with a resort vibe.. Really unique.. Definitely stands out as one of the most interesting hotels i have ever stayed at!

Really clean, great customer service & free parking available! Rooms are equiped with Nespresso machines which is a fantastic touch! Large rooms, modern/art deco furnishing & a large balcony!

You wouldn't expect a hotel like this exists in a beach resort city like Albufeira!

Oh yea.. We also got an amazing deal on this hotel which gave it that extra star! There was truly nothing to complain about whatsoever! This place was on point! We paid 89 euros a night in the Summer!

If you go to Albufeira.. Stay here! Exit the pool area onto a little trail that takes you to a semi-private beach with a fantastic restaurant/bar right on the beach!

Enjoy the beautiful Algarve!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCanadianNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Would echo much of what Eimearsull said.
Not the best for pool, but we like the beach and the exercise involved. The Beach Caffe we also like and had a few lunches there.
Taxi to old town was between 5-6 Euros which was reasonable.
Local bus to Villamoura was about 8 Euros return, a recommended break from the beach.
We were B&B so ate in the old town or the nearby numerous restaurants.
Friendly staff and clean. This was our second visit, same time last year.

Room Tip: WE had a side view room which was excellent but had to pay 15 Euro per day extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandlindaArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing