We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in March”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay in March”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from staying in this hotel for a week with my boyfriend. Despite some rainy weather the hotel was lovely. It is very modern and definitely 4* standard. We originally booked with booking.com and I got what I thought was a good price but a few days before our stay I was on the hotel website and saw their Easter offer, which included a few extras like wifi and 3 dinners in the hotel for the same price, I emailed the reservations team who came back to me really quickly to confirm, I was delighted and cancelled my original booking with booking.com!
The rooms were very clean and staff were v pleasant. We had a superior room with side sea view and was well worth the extra money for the balcony. The view was amazing! The breakfast was lovely and great variety but the dinner was a buffet and we would have prefered to eat out for more variety - but since it was free we didn't mind too much!!! We also had a few nice surprises like chocolate truffles when we arrived and then porto wine and more chocs as we stayed during Easter.
If you go to this hotel try the Aquafresh cocktail, it is the nicest cocktail my friend and I have ever tasted and the guy who makes the cocktails was really friendly. Also, definitely make use of the Wellness centre, my friend (who was staying at a different hotel) and I had a massage on Easter Sunday as it was a rainy day and it was great for just 45 euro, the hotel staff arranged everything. The location is good if you want to go to the strip (we prefered Old Town) but it is just 5 euro in a taxi or 3 euro for the little tourist bus. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the beach near the hotel is beautiful.
The only downside was the noise, our room was v close to the cleaners room and in the morning it was quite noisy, woke us up every day, you could also hear some noise from downstairs when there was entertainment. Also there was no iron but they brought us one when we asked but no ironing board!!
All in all a great stay and would love to go back :)

Room Tip: Our room was 321, it was a great view but the noise was an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma198620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Emma198620,
Thanks very much for staying with us and thanks again for the tip about the staff noise near to your room, you're right and we sincerely apologize for the inconvinience, the exit doors just next to your room are very noisy. We are going to find na alternative. Should you consider to come back we will take this into consideration. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    544
    134
    21
    16
See reviews for
99
1,096
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a short stay at this hotel over Easter, we chose it after reading such good reviews and were certainly not dissapointed.
As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice.
Check in staff were lovely and very helpful and imformative, we were told we'd been upgraded to a sea view room, Room 232, the room was lovely, lots of space, balcony, tv, big modern bathroom, plenty of towels etc, and quiet too. We were really pleased.
We were half board and the food was lovely, lots of choice of hot and cold food at breakfast and dinner, and restaurant staff were very good and friendly, couldn't fault anything.
The bar area was very trendy and comfortable, again really helpful friendly staff, we tended to stay in here in the evenings after dinner, as did most people, as the weather was bad, but the bar lounge was so nice and the drinks and cocktails were a good price.
Views were amazing, a short walk down a hill and some steps to a lovely beach, about 10 mins walk, and you can walk all along the beach on a wooden walkway, also a nice cafe/beach bar there.
Afternoon tea and sandwiches was a lovely touch at 4.30 in the lounge.
The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, and very modern and trendy, and fresh.
Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel, it made our holiday, I would definately return and would reccomend it, don't change anything as you have it just right.
This hotel has the 'wow' factor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hughes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Hughes33,

thank you very much for your very nice opinion about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is is rewarding to read how much you have appreciatted. We look forward to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday...location is ideal and close to restaurants, shops, bars and beach. The staff are excellant, always smiling and professional, nothing is too much for them. We had a great holiday and would definately return and use this hotel again, its spotless clean and very modern. The food was also very reasonable and tastey..the only draw back is not enough English TV channels but this is a very small thing. A massive thank you to the staff and management for an excellant stay and the complimentary bubbly in our rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newcDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear newcDerry,

Thank you very much for your preference at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos and for your review. We apologize for the small choive of english TV channels but the sat dish we are using is very limited on that. Still waiting for Portugal Telecom to install the cable connection in Albufeira...We will keep pushing. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to return. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Where do i begin... When I was taken to the hotel via transport i thought WOW.. I was not disappointed.. Upon arrival we were quickly checked in by Soraia, she was very pleasant and quickly booked us in.. We were on the 3rd floor room 323. When we got to our room we were very happy, it was fresh, modern and had a spectacular view of greenery and the sea. Breathtaking!

The breakfast was amazing, we had so much choice, continental inc cheese, hams, fresh fruit and salads, cereals, croissants, rolls, breads, rice cakes, spreads as well as sausages, bacon, eggs,hash browns, tomatoes...We were spoilt for choice.

We were close to the beach, lots of restaurants (the happy house Chinese buffet was our favourite) we walked to the old town it took about 20 mins..

We took the open top tour bus which was very nice and we also took a tour of Lagos, Sagres & Cape St Vicent..Quite interesting...

The hotel laid on activities such as coach trips, boat trips etc, at a cost. On Weds and Saturdays they have an in-house pianist which was quite nice. You don't even need to leave your room..
You can also have facials, massages, waxing etc all quite reasonably priced..

This was a beautiful hotel, in a lovely easy accessible part of town.. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.. Lovely helpful staff at every point.. Well done to them they no how to treat their guests..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank legalalien8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear legalalien8,
Great to learn that you've enjoyed staying with us and thank you very much for your preference and to share it with other travellers.
We love to know when guests trully enjoyed their vacations and that they recommend the Algarve to their friends and family.
We hope to see you again soon in Aqua Pedra dos Bicos. Best personal regards, joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is very modern....the staff are the most attentive ,friendly, staff I have ever known,when I am on holiday...nothing was to much trouble...every single one of the staff had a smile... The rooms and areas are spotless.....breakfast very good ...but I'm afraid for me evening meals were not for me ..I felt there was not enough variety...only 1choice of veggie 1choice of meat 1choice of fish for hot meals....but I do have to say food was of good quality...but I do prefere more options...desserts were yummy....added bonus of warm melted chocolate to. Poor over fruit or cakes ....there were no ice creams tho ...out side is a lovely area to eat if you wish ...restaurant lovely and clean..again staff were fantastic...I would definatley stay again but would do b& b instead of h/b...pool area is so clean and relaxing ....book this hotel you will not be disappointed with your stay ... Balconie was small .....I did notice pool view had larger balconies...I had side sea view..may I add my view was stunning....my safe in my room was also free...what more could you ask for

Room Tip: If you want a really good view choose sea or pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear faygan,
Thanks very much for your preference at Hotel Aqua Pedra dos Bicos and most importante for sharing with us all your opinion about the overall servisse, altough we regret to know that we weren't impressed with the evening buffet, choice is there but due to space restrictions we can't put more choice on the hot dishes but on the colds is there. Thanks for the tip for the ice-cream, we will do it now onwards.
Looking forward to seeing you soon in our hotel. Best personal regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

After arriving 6hrs in advance of check-in, I was pleasantly surprised to be allocated a room with fantastic sea view (as booked) on the 2nd floor. The higher the room the better. The hotel decor is very chic and contemporary. My room was cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and staff on front desk is very courteous and informative. The only down-side was that the only English channels were the news. Which meant wet days were very long days in the hotel. The bar was only opened at night, no late afternoon service - which I think would go down well for the older demographic guests. Free buffet breakfast was a delight to wake up to offering full English or continental. Great location to the beach and main strip of shops and bars. The local bus services also take you to local resorts such as a the Vilamoura (plush marina).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simtravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Simtravel_12,
Thanks very much for having stayed with us and good to know that you 've enjoyed it. great tip about the opening of the Lounge Bar, because we provide the service from the restaurant, but I agree that having the Bar closed puts people off and think that no service at all is available.
Unfortunatelly we are very restricted about the choice of TV channels, we are waiting for the cable TV to be installed in the área...hopefully will happen finally this Summer.
We hope to see you again in the near furture.
Best personal regards, joao Costa - GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ive never written a review before but I just had to share my experience and praise the hotel for its excellent service and overall brilliance!
Im 21 and I was surpising my boyfriend for his 27th birthday to a weekend stay in Portugal. I spent hours researching many hotels and reading lots of reviews but I kept being drawn back to this hotel. It was the excellent reviews and photos of other travellers that made me want to book it (and hopefully my review will make someone else do the same).

I booked through Travel Republic and chosen a double room with full breakfast. Upon arrival I was very impressed with the exterior, very modern looking and slightly set back from the busy street. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by two lovely staff on reception. I kindly asked if they would upgrade us as it was my boyfriends birthday today and I was suprising him. The lady wished him a happy birthday and made sure we were granted our wish. She gave us a map of the area and even told us some useful information on where to get taxis, atms and essential items from.
As we headed to our room we both were just amazed by the modern features and the excellent architecture.

Our room was 424 and I must say its the best hotel room ive stayed in (We both have stayed in very expensive hotels in London before and this hotel beats all of them)
The view was breathtaking, overlooking the sea and part of albufeira! The bed seemed huge and very comfy. The bathroom was very well decorated and modern. The room had a flat screen tv and free safe.
Within five minutes of being in the room we were pleasantly suprised by a staff member bringing my boyfriend a bottle of champagne and box of chocolates. He was so chuffed!
The pool area is on the ground floor where you will find the restaurant as well. We ate a few times in the restaurant having snack food and it was very good. The waiters are very polite and helpful.

There is a private beach about five minute walk from the hotel. At the end of the pool area there is a gate where you have to use your room key to get in and out. Then its a short walk down a quiet road and some steps to the beach! You have to go down there it was beautiful!!!

Theres a few places I definitely want to reccomend if your considering eating out a few nights. A place called the Cockral! Absolutely amazing food and wonderful atmosphere about 10min walk from the hotel. Also the Sizzling Stone which had such a Portuguese feel to it and the owners definitely made you feel welcome. A good night out is on the strip where you will find many bars and clubs, one of our favourites being Wild and Co!! Live band playing peoples requests of songs and they done great cocktails too!

As we are a young couple we found there was still plenty to do on our trip. We did a Quad Bike tour which I highly recommend doing! Their company is called QuadVentra... definitely look it up! We also visited the Old Town which had many little shops and restaurants. Beautiful beaches as well.

I could write for hours about our holiday but I will stop there and just say that you will not regret booking to stay at Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank GlobeTrotterPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear GlobeTrotterPrincess,
Fantastic review and very helpfull for future visitors to the Algarve. Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back with us. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-389, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing