We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Experience before Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Booking Experience before Visit”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are due to arrive at this hotel on 23 December 2012 and to spend Christmas and New Year here. I work in the hospitality industry and so far my experience of the hotel is a positive one. My partner Nick emailed the hotel to make the reservation and mentioned it is his birthday and they have been extremely generous and helpful with our reservation and we are really looking forward to our visit. I will give my review when we get back on our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scubachick38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    592
    148
    24
    17
See reviews for
111
1,214
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a lovely 11 days stay in this Hotel in November. Every member of staff we met was simply lovely, friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent, lovely view of the sea ect.

Breakfast was ok, they rotated the menu every second day. It seemed to me it was a buffet every evening. We only eat there 1 evening and it was a buffet which was good.

You could eat up to 5pm in the restaurant and choose from the A'la Carte Menu. We had an early evening meal from the A'la Carte Menu a couple of times and it was very nice. The house wine was excellent and always a good choice.

If I had to say something negative it would be that the tea/coffee in the room had to be paid for as part of the mini bar.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: a room with a sea view on the 3rd or 4th floor for the view. We did not use the A/C at all therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We returned from this hotel on 20th Nov 2012. Hotel is impressive on the outside and the inside. Rooms are spacious and like the hotel is very clean. Maids do a good job each day. All staff are very friendly and accommodating and the hotel has a nice relaxing atmosphere. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking what we think were residential apartments, which created an impression of a small village. In a great location for local bars and restaurants and a short bus ride to the Old Town or a pleasant 20 minutes walk. There is a great cafe/sports bars within a 5 minutes walking distance (if you come out of the hotel and walk up to the main road then turn left, go passed the taxi rank and it is at the end of the row, next to the real estate office) staff are very welcoming, food it very well presented and staff are typical of the portugese, very friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel ,excellent location near to restaurants and bars but not too near for noise, stunning beach about 5 mins steady walk down some steps. The staff and cleaners very friendly will come back here again without doubt! Still a good selection of restaurants open in the vicinity . Only stayed b/b in hotel because we like to get out and about without having to dash back for dinner ,so can't comment on meals although the breakfast was adequate I've had better ,apart from that everything has been perfect

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went there for 2nd year in a row, this Hotel is very impressive when entering the reception area, very pleasant and helpful can't do enough to please, rooms are modern nice size and well appointed, our room had poor outlook as it was inward facing and overlooked the car park completely different from previous year when we had sideview room, (we had requested a similar room but did not get one) , lounge area very modern and spacious, the pool area was nice, kept spotlessly clean, but could do with a few more sun loungers due to people putting towels on early and not usuing them until way into afternoon. We was on half board the breakfast was not too bad regarding choice, but the evening meals was terrible, salad bar ok but the main meals was terrible not much choice always cold, the sweets was very poor choice not even ice cream on, it was as bad as the previous we did complain to the hotel last year about the same thing and they reassured us that they was going to improve but sorry to say they hadn't at all. All the staff from cleaning ladies through to the office staff always very smart efficient and helpful. This Hotel is well placed for Albufeira town also the Strip and a few mins walk to the beach. We would certainly go back to this hotel but only on bed and breakfast due to the very poor evening meals.

Room Tip: Try get a side seaview room inward side poor outlook, also go bed/breakfast evening meals very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here in an Appartment which was in a block round the corner from the hotel. It was spacious and clean and equipped with the basics for self catering although we had booked half board so did not use the kitchen much. The staff were all very good friendly and helpful . The hotel is very stylish and modern.

The food was very good but lacked a bit of variety, always scrambled egg at breakfast, and the veggie option at dinner was always pasta. We ate a la carte one evening and this was wonderful, and not over priced. The area is quiet, with access to the beach via steps. It's about 15 mins walk to the main resort centre. We loved the old town, and can recommend O Dias restaurant for grilled fish and the Lemon Tree cafe for snacks and a view! The marina is worth a visit too. Note: you cannot now walk along the beach from hotel to town. We tried to walk back and could not get through. Steps up the cliff here lead to a hotel and we would have been stranded but for the help of a hotel guest.

We enjoyed our stay and we very impressed with the hotel and the staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mowjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here in October as part of a package holiday and while is was quite nice would probably not choose to stay here again. The rooms were spotless and a good size although we asked to change rooms as we were looking into trees but were given a higher floor on our second day. the food was good and the choice quite good but the dining room was too small for the number of guests and was not relaxing as you were pushing past diners to get to the buffet. We were surprised to have to pay a supplement to hire towels for the pool. Surely a 4* hotel should include towels at the pool. The lounge seating area was inadequate for the number of guests and did not lend itself to sitting relaxing after dinner. No entertainment is provided at night in October which was disappointing. Overall a nice enough hotel but you could probably do better.
Not our kind of holiday area. Mostly bars with large screens showing football night and day. The day trips away from Albufeira were interesting but there is a limited amount to see in the area.

Room Tip: Go on to roof. We didn't know there was a roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wivenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Wivenny,
We thank you very much for stayin at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos and for your review. It's correct that we have limited space in our restaurant, when the weather is fairly wet, also because the restaurant is very much demanded by our guests, which is of course very nice. Our intention in the future is to cover our restaurant terrace on the sides weather-proof, thus to accomodate more clients. Altough you state that probably you are not coming again, we hope that you still come to the Algarve and eventually to another part of the region. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,072 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing