We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, very clean, very high standards and friendly helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, very clean, very high standards and friendly helpful staff!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a two week stay at the pedra dos bicos. Arrived at 1030am on the 18/09/12 and guess what? Our room was READY! Fabulous room, 8ft double bed and beautiful sea view. We upgraded to a deluxe room with coffee/tea facilities - well worth it! Lovely view. All the furnishings were high quality, the bed was comfy and we had about 8 pillows to chose from. Could not fault the room in any way! I emailed the hotel in July asking about an iron and ironing board. It was waiting in our room and remained for the two weeks. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, bacon, sausages, eggs. Also, croissants and cakes, fresh juices and teas and coffee. All lovely! The rooms were properly cleaned every day and fresh towels a plenty. Would we stay there again? A very big YES! Are there any negatives? Yes, drinks are expensive around the pool €8 for a vodka and diet coke and the place seems to close down at 10pm - so no late coffee or nightcap! Not really a problem though! Out and about - the snack bar on the beach is good. We loved the SOL BAR for lunch or an evening drink - turn right out of hotel, then left and about 75m on the left. Brilliantly hard working friendly staff, great food, lots of TVs showing whatever you want. Beer €1.5 large! What a night watching the Ryder Cup Sunday with 70/80 others from all countries. Great fun!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Telboy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    581
    145
    24
    17
See reviews for
107
1,182
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

So easy to recommend this hotel because it came in first for everything:- New modern design -Lounge area exceptional lovely pool area and not a reserved towel in sight roof top terrace with fantastic views over the Atlantic spotlessly clean fabulous rooms very friendly staff who would go that extra mile Excellent food five minutes from the beach five minutes from the nightlife. Can I say a Big thank you to all the staff who made my sisters 50th Birthday the best ever. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gizelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Gizelle T,
We do thank you for choosing our hotel for you sisters 50th Birthday and we hope to see you in a near future. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlodave
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around Midday, and although official booking in was not until 14.00, we were given a map of the local area, with all the local amenities marked out for us, and then told our room was ready. Moving through the hotel , we were surprised how funky, and modern it was, as well as spotlessly clean. We had the standard room , which was the same size as your standard travel lodge, but the bed was huge, and quite firm .It was clean , and a nice bathroom. Our balcony view was of the main road, but it was not that busy traffic wise, so no problem there. The room had a mini bar, containing water, soft drinks, alchohol, and some chocolate items. These are expensive though, compared to the local supermarket. As mentioned here before , the breakfasts are excellent , plenty of choice between hot and cold. Evening meals were rather different though. Every night was one fish course, one meat course, and some pasta options. It did get a little boring. So I would definately recommend that you go B&B, as there are plenty of restaurants around with a great choice. A couple of points that have been mentioned here before, the pool area is a little small for the size of the hotel, but the pool is clean, and the temp is lovely. We were surprised that the rooms did not have Tea and Coffee facilities, and the sites for electrical sockets were baffling. The room safe comes as standard, and has a numerical digital lock.
The hotel was situated nicely, there is a supermarket across the road, as well as several bars, and restaurants, and the strip is a 10 min walk away. If you come out of the hotel, go to the main road and turn left, there is a great Chinese Buffet (The happy house). All you can eat for 10 Euros, excellent choice.There is a Taxi Rank just before the Happy House, and it was 4/5 Euros to the old town. There is a miriad of shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars to choose from. A slight warning about the beaches , they are very clean , but beware the current in the sea, because it is pebbles, they can be rather vicious when the water rolls back out, and a lot of people had slight injuries to knees, ankles, etc. The sunbeds on the beach were a little expensive, 15 Euros for 2 beds and a brolly. All in all though, this is a nice place to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererDarlodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear wandererDarlodave,
We thank you very much for your review and we hope you will come again to the Algarve soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Arrived at the Hotel on the 21st of September about 11.30pm.The Hotel staff where very freindly and helpful as we where there for my 50th Birthday they up graded me to a superior room with a sea view.The Hotel is spotless all the rooms are fab very modern and the Hotel is very Chic.The food is excellent enough choice .About the location perfect 10 mins walk to the strip so nice and quiet,5mins to the beach with sunbeds and a beach bar.All in all a great Hotel ,very clean ,modern ,great location ,food fab,staff helpful also in the fridge for my Birthday was a bottle of Champagne which was very nice of the Hotel.A big thank you to the Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel staff and management.
Just one little grip pool area very small feel a bit crapped but a lovely roof top terrace instead,also no entertainment but we made are own.

Room Tip: superior rooms have a sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSETurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear MRSETurnbull,
A big thank you for your opinion, really appreciatted. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, the first time last September and we returned yesterday after a five night stay. Last year we stayed in the normal standard bedroom which was very nice and perfectly adequate but decided to treat ourselves this year and stayed in the Bronze Suite. The suite was absolutely amazing and made us feel like royalty. The views from the balcony were stunning. I cannot fault this hotel at all, it is perfect for a quite, chilled out holiday. I really cannot understand the people that moan about this hotel, they must be very hard to please. Always managed to find a sunbed no matter what time of day and never saw a towel reserving a sunbed before 9.00am. Breakfast is fantastic with so much choice that it would be very hard for there not to be something you liked. The hotel is just so relaxing and in the evening it was nice to walk to the strip or go to the old town where it is more lively but then lovely to return to the calm of the hotel. Will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear helen1269,
We are very pleased to read your review, it's really great, please let me know next time you visit our hotel next year. Kind regards, Joao Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from 13th September. After reading previous reviews we chose to pay the extra and book a standard superior room but on checking in we were advised that we had been upgraded to a Deluxe room which meant we had views over the Atlantic Ocean and out to the pool area. On our last morning we were able to watch the sun rising from our balcony. The room was spacious with a coffee machine and fridge, although if you do use the coffee be aware that it is not complimentary.

The hotel itself is stunning, very modern and very clean. We had only booked breakfast but this was excellent every morning and there was always a varied choice of food. Breakfast time could be busy but it was never really a problem. We did have lunch one day on the terrace and this was very enjoyable and not too expensive.The pool area though small was very relaxing and quiet and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. All of the staff we encountered were all helpful and approachable.

The hotel does not have much on at night but we knew that before we booked and there are several good restaurants within a 5 -10 minute walk from the hotel. The Sizzling Stone and Invictus were two that we visited and were both excellent. For a snack or a night cap the Sol Cafe situated near to the hotel is well worth a visit, the service is very good with friendly staff and they will also make up sandwiches etc for taking away.

If you enjoy live music then a trip to Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro is also worth a visit.

The hotel has a rooftop terrace with magnificent views out to the ocean and along the coast. It is also within a short walking distance to the beach. We did not use either the fitness centre or the spa so we are unable to comment on these but both looked good. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be returning next year.

Room Tip: If you can then book either a standard superior room or a deluxe room as the standard rooms all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NicolFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear NicolFife,
What a great review, thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again, next year. Please let me know if I can be of help. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

25th wedding anniversary year finished off with a week in this hotel. Excellent week. Upgraded to a larger room free of charge. There is plenty for everyone at the wonderful breakfast bar, and the fact that it runs from 07:30 to 10:30 should suit even those who enjoy very late nights. Visit was 16th Sept. Very pleasant and helpfull staff. I can imagine the pool area being very busy in the height of summer, but the beaches are fantastic. 2 small criticisms and they are small, If you have a really early flight from UK, rooms are not ready until after 14:00. Secondly, If you have an early pick up for return flight, 'lunch pack' breakfast is basic, so your 7 nights bed and breakfast does not add up. Oh and if you are upgraded, ensure you check that coffee and tea is included in the upgrade as we ended up with an extra 37Euro bill. I would definately recommend this hotel for couples though. GO FOR IT

Room Tip: Our room was on reception level. South facing. superb views. room 019 was ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear shaun r,
Great to hear from you and it is a pleasure to have had you with us for your cellebrattion. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing