We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our booked room not available and pool closed for 3 of our 4 day holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week with some friends. Had booked a 2 bed apartment five months in advance and had confirmation of this. On arrival we were told we would instead be given two one bed apartments. I asked why when I had confirmation of my 2 bed, he said other people needed them. We were told we would have two better rooms. Instead we were placed in two rooms above the bar which was noisy at night and the rooms were the exact same as the two bed I stated in last year. No apology or complimentary anything was offered. Then a sign was posted in the lift the next day stating that the pool would be clouded for the next 3 days for maintenance. No warning of this on the day we checked in. On a positive side the rooms were clean and the reception area is pleasant. The sun loungers are not good quality but we noticed new ones arriving on the day we were leaving which is a good sign. They are definitely trying to introduce a new theme to thr hotel, slightly morrocan. There is also an extremely large picture of the owner behind reception. Slightly odd! Beds and pillows also uncomfortable. Location is good though and in fairness it is a reasonable cost so it is good value for money. However due to the issues I encountered I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out and writing a Trip Advisor review about your experience with us.

We appreciate your specific and constructive feedback as such interactions help us identify areas of opportunity for improvement and also give us further insight into our guests’ expectations, so that we can better exceed them in future.

Rest assured we are going to take up each aspect of your feedback with the respective teams personally so that other guests do not face the same difficulties.

We apologise that you were not allocated the apartments you requested but we cannot guarantee that this is always possible. Concerning the swimming pool, this was not predicted, we had a problem with the machine, it broke down so it had to be repaired. Unfortunately these things do happen and action was immediately taken. However, we do have three other hotels in the area where guests could go and use these pools, for that period, free transport was provided in our free shuttle which runs daily between hotels.

We hope you will not allow this experience to forever mar your perception of our hotel and will allow us another opportunity to prove our commitment to exceeding your expectations.

The team is eager to showcase a much improved aspect of our service standards to you when you next visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

extremely cheap for a weekend i think. very clean, quite close to old town and the strip. friendly staff. fully equipped kitchen, bathroom, and rooms. nice pool area to chill out at. more for the older crowd or families with young kids, however, we liked it as it wants noisy and was a good relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Forte do Vale.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family and was very impressed, lovely big clean rooms with adequately equipped kitchen areas. Beautiful hotel reception area and nice warm indoor pool, we didn't get to use the outdoor pool as it was too cold when we stayed.

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the main strip the beach and the bus stop when you feel like going further afield.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dwdsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the great location of our hotel and that you noticed our beautiful hotel reception area.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in the very near future.

Kind regards
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A spacious, pleasant and clean, reasonably appointed hotel and rooms, but supremely uncomfortable beds and no sound proofing between the apartments so every scrape the chairs upstairs could be heard. I don't expect a supposedly four star hotel to provide such poor quality bedding (pillows so old the stuffing was all clumpy) and no covers to the spare duvets, or miss basic things like tables between sunbeds. Fine for a short stay where you want a base and the odd afternoon lazing, but not particularly somewhere I'd want to spend a lot of time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milliecoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

Your comments have been taken on board as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests.

We apologise if we did not met with your expectations in some issue.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Second visit to Forte Do Vale, was slightly concerned after I found out the hotel was under new management before arrival. However, standards proved to be the same (excellent) and also had a few extra bonuses (including use of other sister hotel facilities which are some of the best hotels in albufeira, and free bus to old town).

The only difference from last time, was had to give card details over on arrival but made no difference to our stay (was an option to pay food etc in advance). Due to flight changes, we arrived a day earlier and had a one bed apartment on first night, and studio for the remaining hotel as booked. No difference in size of rooms (except no division between lounge and bedroom). However, slightly disappointed that studio did not have a balcony. By the looks of things, it seems no studios have balconies.

However, great location, central to strip and 2 minute drive from old town. Also great food in the bar, staff all pleasant and good clean hotel. Also, first hotel I've been to that considers holiday makers (maids do not come early, clean in afternoon).

Downside: worst beds ever! Need renewing, its like sleeping on a plank (alright if your a pirate!) Beds the same in both apartment/studio. Very uncomfortable.

Would recommend, and will definitely be returning for a third visit. But will make sure we book a one bed apartment to avoid disappointment of no balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing back of hotel (has the pool view) and also you avoid the noisy dogs on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we shall continue to focus to exceed expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.

Our team thanks you for the gracious comments on the hospitality shown by them.

With one of the best location in the city our hotel enjoys a beautiful pool, Spa and the entertainment services offered, it really becomes a great value proposition for all our guests.

We hope we have an opportunity to serve you again.


Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Used to enjoy going to this complex over the past few years. Now taken over by Petchey group. No excuse for poor maintenance. Hotel allegedly full! Bookings we'll in advance. It is as though the group didn't,t care. No pool maintenance, pool filthy with seagull droppings. Droppings all over pool chairs. No bar at pool. Meals brought to bar via kitchen situated across from bar. Food cold,undercooked chicken. Given apology by bar staff who were overworked. One positive. Good housekeeping. One bed apt well maintained by housekeeping staff. No internet connection. Don,t think we will be back to this complex. Requires full upgrade. Ok this was early March. Still no excuse for poor quality.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment, well equipped. Cleaners do good job of keeping it clean. Pillows terrible. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service and we truly apologize if we did not meet with your expectations in some issues.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Good looking modern hotel, in excellent location; being pretty central between old town and tourist strip, and only 10 - 15 min walk to very large main beach. Other beaches and all amenities within easy reach via free regular MGM bus service or land train. Close to range of decent 'traditional' restaurants, with plenty of Pizzarias, ATM's and mini markets just minutes away.

Hotel is nicely designed with pleasant interior decor. Room was huge and very well equipped. Also location of hotel meant nights were nice and peaceful. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful.

Agree with other comments re WiFi, never managed to get a reliable connection all week, across a range of devices. Eventually solved by taking a trip to sister resort, but I think maybe reliable WiFi should be a given for a modern 4 star hotel.

One other tip. Room 101 is huge comfortable room, but the terrace looks onto the car park, and when the bus service backs in to collect passengers you are treated to 5 mins of diesel fumes with your glass of wine. Easy to solve if bus dropped and picked up outside hotel entrance.

We booked transfers and welcome pack with Petchey Leisure, and that turned out to be real value for money.

Overall, given that we had been moved from Oura Praia, I think we got a good result there. We were very impressed with the overall experience, had a nice restful week at Forte do Vale, and would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Go for higher room with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased that your mention the excellent location of our hotel.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service and we truly apologize if we did not meet with your expectations in some issues.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $72 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Grand Muthu Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing