We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Ranked #15 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Third New Year Break”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We usually book this hotel as its ideally located for us. The tourist train stops outside, there is a supermarket and good places to eat and drink within walking distance.

The apartments are a good size, clean and well equipped apart from a shortage of coat hangers and the absence of any wine glasses. The TV is a bit on the small size but we found we could view a few English channels including ITV and ITV3. Wi-fi available if you can manage to pick up the signal anywhere. We found the end of the corridor from our room was sometimes ok.

The beds are firm but pillows very soft. After two nights I had very bad neck and shoulder pain so asked at reception if they had any other pillows. Lady on reception wasn't very hopeful but said she would see what she could do. That afternoon a maid arrived with two much better pillows so sleep improved immensely after that. Thank you very much, we will no doubt be back sometime in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellyC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. The feedback from our guests its always of great value once it help us to keep improving for our services.
It´s with great pleaser that we notice your enjoyment on your stay with us. In order to improve our services, your comments and suggestions were forwarded to our management team for attention.
Thank you for staying with us, we really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Forte do Vale Hotel in the near future, so we can provide you once again with great quality holidays.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    452
    177
    57
    40
See reviews for
390
581
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

All reviews are personal and what suits one may not suit another. But I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forte Do Vale as a family of four. We stayed over Christmas and New Year when both the hotel and Albufeira were fairly quiet.
Upon arrival we were shown our room. We were not happy with the location as it was at a quiet end of the hotel on a dimly lit corridor. We asked the friendly staff at reception and were given two alternative rooms to choose from. Our chosen room was on the first floor overlooking the pool. Inside was clean and spacious. There was a bathroom with a proper bath and shower and bidet. One bedroom which had two single beds pushed up to each other to make a double although the beds were actually made up as singles! The beds were not too bad if you like a bed on the hard side but what I didn't like were the pillows that were lumpy. Having said that I slept really well each night. However when the hotel gets busy I am not sure if that would be the case as all movement noise from other apartments seems to be magnified 100 times. You can hear people upstairs moving furniture, walking in high heels and even being sick!
Moving on to the kitchen. This has all you need including a microwave, kettle, toaster, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer, hob and all utensils etc. One thing that we did miss was a proper oven. In the lounge there is a very small (20" ??) flat screen TV with english channels like BBC 1, ITV and SKY News. There is a dining room table and a sofa bed where the bottom half pulls out to make a single bed with someone else sleeping on the actual sofa. There is a small balcony with table and chairs that can be accessed from the lounge or the bedroom. You can also listen to various stations on the built in radio system.
I have to say all staff were very helpful and polite. We left a list for the maid of three or four items that we needed like a bulb, tea towel and to fix the shower. When we got back to the apartment all had been sorted. Excellent. Our towels were changed daily, rubbish emptied and beds made, even on Christmas day!
Around the hotel is spacious and clean. Although it did seem like the hotel was part shut down as the indoor fountains were never on except for cleaning, two out of the four lifts were switched off and the Flavors restaurant was closed. The bar was very quiet. The one night we did go in there was a live guitar playing duo with only a handful in attendance. There is a Spa in the hotel but this costs extra anything from 4 euros per hour to a daily or weekly pass. We didn't go to the outside pools being winter but there seemed to be plenty of sun beds even for the summer months. There is a free open top bus from the hotel but this only goes to the three other hotels in the group apart from at 10:30am when it will drop you off in the town. There is a small games room with 3 pool tables and an air hokey game.
Opposite the hotel is a stop for the land train which, even in winter, was very frequent. Location wise the hotel is about 10 - 15 minute walk from the beach ( yes we mad Brits did go in the sea a few times as the weather was pretty good), town and strip including the main supermarkets. We walked most days and along a few of the roads we noticed some rather unpleasant smells from the sewers. Also everywhere you look in Albubeira there is graffiti. It was also very quiet and many restraunts and bars were shut. Apart from these negatives it is a lovely place. The beaches are fantastic, the old town is lovely and quaint and nearly everybody speaks english. If you want to get out of Albufeira there are many sight seeing tours to go on which can be purchased from the hotel or from the various ticket offices dotted around the town. We went on the photographic tour and saw some of the unspoilt villages of the Algarve.
We went for Christmas and New Year and were disappointed with the fact that in Albufeira there were no Christmas decorations or lights, not even a tree! At least there was back at the hotel Forte Do Vale to make us feel all Christmassy again. However New Years Eve was fantastic. A party on the beach with live music and fireworks. The place was packed which left us wondering where they had all come from as it had been so quiet up until that night.
Overall I would recommend both the Hotel Forte Do Vale and Albufeira however I suspect that a visit in summer would mean a completely different review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your time for this review and for your positive feedback. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to notice that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service.
Your remarks were forwarded to our Resort Management for attention. I can assure you that Albufeira at summer time it´s completely different
We thank you for your comments which will help us improve further for all our guest and look forward to seeing you again here at Forte do Vale Hotel, at winter or summer season, Albufeira always have a lot to offer to our visitors !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our fourth visit here and the first since being taken over by the MGM group, so we were expecting good things. Safety deposit box is €30 deposit and around €3 per day - so not too bad. Out of the 4 lifts we only saw 2 in working order, though this was adequate for the time of year and number of guests. Our room was as good as expected, with large bedroom, ample storage (but take your own hangers as we only had 6 in all the wardrobes), large lounge and balcony. The kitchenette comes with nearly everything - including dish washer and washing machine - but no wine glasses, even though there were some glass tumblers..
We never saw the 'Flavours' restaurant open, though meals could be eaten in the Piccadilly bar, which offers happy hours, large screen showing mainly sports, and the occassional act during the week. Wi-fi is available, but we found it very slow with poor signal, but many of the surrounding bars and restaurants offer good free wi-fi if you ask for the security code.
The hotel offers a free open-top tourist bus from 10.30 in the morning, which does a round-robin of the three other local hotels in the group then drops off at Abufeira shopping district and old town. However, on the day we chose to use the bus, it broke down outside of the Club Praia Oura hotel. After 15 mins or so we chose to get off and walk but there were some elderly people who were stranded. We saw no one from the Club hotel come to assist, or arrange other transport for them. We later heard that the bus had simply run out of fuel.
Beware that the hotel locks the rear doors at midnight (though we found it locked long before that one night) and the front door was also found locked after midnight, leaving a group of us trying to use the intercom to summon the night porter's attention for a while, before eventually being let in.
Maid service was most days which involved a change of towels on a couple of days but little cleaning and no bed-making.
So a few niggles. We have had better but despite this I'm sure we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleMunchbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time for this review. Your opinion is important to us and we appreciated your comments. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. We will be addressing your comments regarding the hangers, wine glasses and wi-fi signal to our management team for attention.
Regarding the Bus episode, we are sorry to notice that you had that experience, I can assure you that was the first problem we had with it and please accept our apologizes for the inconvenient caused. Your observations were taken in consideration.
Once again, many thanks for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to a Petchey Leisure resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Top notch apartments. Dishwasher,washing machine,large fridgefreezer plus all the normal stuff very large rooms. Must praise all hotel staff very very good Rui and Rus the bar staff and Carlos on reception especially but all staff spot on .There is a free Bus that takes you around the other hotels are well worth a visit, nice bars in all, only complaint is the price of drinks outside of the happy hours very expensive 5 euros 90 cents around 5 pounds for a baileys etc !!!!!!!, shame had some great nights in amandas bar entertainment etc just too quiet due to drink prices please take note management !! apart from that super stay. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynewithay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Forte do Vale in Tripadvisor.
I am truly delighted to hear that overall you have really enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the excellent feedback regarding the services provided by all of our team members, Rui, Ruslan and Carlos, with whom I have shared your comments, your compliments were highly appreciated. Thank you for your kind attention.
Your comments and suggestions regarding the bar prices were forwarded to our F&B and resort manager for consideration.

Once again thank you for your review, we really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here about four years ago and we still found these apartments very nice. They are spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped with a washing machine and most of the things you need to make a meal but no oven. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a bar and at night they have various entertainments including karaoke. Midway between the old town and the strip in a fairly quiet area (at least in November). Rua Dunfermline has a few restaurants and bars and just beyond the roundabout at the top of the street is a pingo doce supermarket. We enjoyed our stay and if we return to Albufeira we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor, your opinion is very important to us once it help us to strives and improve the services to all our guest.
I am truly delighted to hear that overall you have really enjoyed the experience with us and thank you for the excellent feedback regarding the services provided by our team, with whom I have shared your comments.
We really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel in a near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Returned a few days ago from a lovely week at Forte Do Vale. The hotel was very quiet and we were pleasantly surprised to be asked which room we would like when we arrived. The staff throughout the hotel were lovely and very helpful. This was our 3rd stay here and it is still one of the best places we have stayed in. The apartments are massive and have everything you could need. The cooking facilities are minimal, but we don't cook on holiday, therefore, this isn't an issue for us. The maids were in every day and cleaned the rooms, as well as renewing the bedding halfway through our stay. The pool and pool area was cleaned every day despite it not being used due to the winter weather.

My only gripe would be the hotel bar. I am not a great lover of sport and as such found the constant sport being shown on all 6 screens overbearing. We used the bar a few times whilst there but after a couple of drinks I felt the need to escape the sport overdose. On our last night we went to the bar and there was music playing which was relaxing and pleasant. However, on each television was sport (the sound was off). We had a bar snack which was lovely. It left me wondering what the bar actually is i.e. a sports bar, a relaxing bar or a restaurant? To this end if I was to return I wouldn't use the bar and would prefer to go somewhere else.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and I would definitely recommend these apartments for couples and families alike. Well done Forte Do Vale.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annwilson_367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Forte do Vale Hotel in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments, as it will help us to improve our services for all our valued guest.
I am truly delighted to hear that overall you have really enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the excellent feedback regarding the services provided by all of our team members, with whom I have shared your comments. I can assure you, that your compliments were highly appreciated. Thank you for your kind attention.
Your comments regarding the Sports/Tv at the bar were forwarded to our F&B manager team for attention.
Once again thank you for your review, we really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel but the restaurant closed first weekend of November until spring. Food available in bar but limited menu and you had to eat from your lap. Not for us so had to eat out or cook your own. Very central to both old town and strip but a walk to beach. Lovely gym and pool area but sadly no green space. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Had a few fun evenings in bar with karaoke and quizz night. Overall very pleasant stay. Before we left they put on a free bus running between other resorts which was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time for this review. Your opinion is important to us and we appreciate your comments.
Forte do Vale Hotel its indeed very well located, so our guest have close access to all that Albufeira have to offer and to provide them with maximum facilities and resources.
Your comments regarding the lack of restaurant service at the hotel till spring time, were taken in consideration and forwarded to our F&B team for attention.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenient that it may had caused you during your stay, but as you could also notice, we have now a free bus running between our other resorts which allows you to choose any of the Restaurant services that we offer to our guests: Trevi´s Restaurant at Oura Praia Hotel, Jac´s Restaurant at Clube Praia da Oura and Terrace at Oura View Beach Club. I can assure you that all our restaurants will toast you with great food and service.
Regarding your compliments to our staff team, they were conveyed and highly appreciated. Thank you for your kind attention.
Thank you again for your comments, all our team looks forward to welcome you again at our hotel on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale

Property: Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Address: Rua Dunfermline | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Grand Muthu Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing