We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Ranked #11 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Brilliant holiday at the FDV the rooms are very spacious, and cleaned to a high standard. Could not fault anything great pool plenty of sunbeds.The bar staff very friendly as was the reception staff and the cleaners always had a smile for you. The apartments are in a great location for the old town and the strip would not hesitate to go back again great holiday plus fabulous weather.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzibenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    439
    163
    55
    39
See reviews for
377
567
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at Forte Do Vale on 29th April -4th May. The previous reviews we checked out were all true, the hotel is fab. It is large, spacious, clean absolutely deserving of a 4*, and possibly a 5*. We travelled with an 8 year daughter and found that there isn't a lot of entertainment for little ones, however, she made friends and found her own entertainment each evening. There is a games room with pool tables and a computer room, were you can see them at all times whilst your in the bar area. Happy hour is 9-10 each evening which is great. The prices at the hotel are very reasonable at full cost, (2.50e per pint) however, happy hour it is all half price. The bar staff are so friendly, especially Reuben, great service. Great atmosphere, met a great bunch of people. The food service at the hotel isn't up to much tho, it does take a long time after ordering and comes cold, but we went out to eat every night and I recommend the chinese around the corner, The Shangai Restaurant, absolutely fab, at 25euro for a meal for 2. And only 4.90 euro for little ones. Jojo's in the old town is also lovely, this being the nicest area of the two. The new strip is full of stag and hens which is a bit roudy, but the old town is more cultural and the beach is here. It is only 15 mins from hotel either way. Also try Buena Seras in the new strip, lovely meal there too. All around 9.95 euros in most restaurants.
It rained every day bar one whilst we were there but this didn't spoil our holiday, The hotel is so lovely that you really do feel at home, there is a TV, a radio built in the walls of the bedroom and living room. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. The kitchen has a dishwasher, fridgefreezer and washing machine! Can't fault it, really. There is also a gym and spa but if you haven't already booked it into your holiday then it is 8 euros a day per person ( children not allowed) so it is a bit steep. Just a downside which is prob wherever you go, it can be noisy from the neighbours. We had someone with small children above us and they woke us up early each morning crying, or banging. Maybe useful to take some ear plugs!
I highly recommend the hotel and would definately go back.

Room Tip: Room 327 ovalooks a buidling site, avoid if can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiltshirev251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had a wonderful time in forte do vale. It is a shame to hear that the prices are going up as we got our holiday for a good price, which always helps!
The apartments are lovely and modern and very clean. The kitchen is a little under equiped on cooking utensils, but you can make do with what you are provided. Pots, pans, cutlery, knives, tea towel, serving spoons, bottle opener/corkscrew.
Some of the other reviews have complained about the hardness of the beds and noise at night time. Firstly, the beds are not so bad, we actually slept very well. however, I can see where noise might become a problem. We were lucky and were on a fairly quiet corridor, but at time it was very noisy. I think the noise comes through the walls and the air condition vent on the balcony. I would suggest if you are offered a room on the first floor to change rooms as the bar can be noisy at night.
The walk to town is about 15 minutes, and not too bad. On the way back to the hotel it is up hill though. Taxis are pretty cheap though if you wanted to get one.
The hotel is very close to a number of supermarkets which is great. If you are looking for a wider selection there is a large supermarket 10-15 mins walk away called 'Continente' which is very good, and the taxi back only costs 3.25 euros!
For eating in the main town, STAY AWAY from 'A Ruina'. It has a beautiful setting but is expensive and the food is of poor quality. I would recommend 'Tasca do Viegas' which is next to it, on the beach front. The food was excellent, reasonably priced and the service was attentive and friendly. Try any of the vinho verdes, they are great!
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our. A few things: you don't need to take a hairdryer or towels for the room (although you will need towels for the pool). Join the spa - it is only 20 euros per person per week, I think good value for money. Take either washing up liquid of tablets for the dishwasher and washing machine. During easter the pool was very cold, but we still braved it! I think it will warm up by summer though. The bar service was poor as they were understaffed. But overall, the positives FAR OUTWEIGH the negatives!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMcDredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

In our opinion this will not be number one next year at the prices they are trying to charge for future bookings. We got a bargain to go here this year and we think this is one of the main reasons why the reviews are so good. When asking for their price list for August they were shocking (we know its peak season but it was 4 times what we paid for Easter)!!

The location is great, apartments fine. Cleaners come every day except Sunday but either knock you out of bed or come around teatime! Bar and restaurant service is very poor and the pool snack bar is a waste of time. You wait half an hour for food that comes out cold and has to be returned.

Please try Tres Palmeiras restaurant across the road from the hotel, it is fantastic!!

On the whole this is a good place to stay but they are in danger of pricing themselves out of the market as there is alot of competition in that area. Not sure it deserves its current number one spot on trip advisor!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank presc0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

On arrival, we were wowed by the modern, spacious hotel and room. We were expecting a studio apartment similar to our past experiences, being a small one room type. However we were allocated a one bedroomed apartment with a large living area with separate kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom as well as a large balcony accessible from both the living area and bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped with fridge, freezer, four hob cooker, microwave combination oven, dishwasher, and washing machine. No kettle, but a quick trip to reception and we had one delivered later that day. Enough crockery for 4 people, with 4 plates, 4 bowl etc, etc. But do take a can opener.

The pool area was very nice, even if the pool was freezing and only the brave of brave used it at this time of year but there were lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. Pool bar was ok, but only opened on days when the sun was out for long periods of time.
We used the hotels bar (Piccadilly Circus Bar) quite a few times, reasonably priced drinks, more reasonable in happy hour, cocktails were about 3.50 euros and pints 1.25 euros at this time. Free Wi-Fi is available here if you buy a drink. They also put entertainment on late in the evening several times a week.

We didn’t use the hotel restaurant but we ate several times at the Koala Garden restaurant about 100 meters away from the hotel, would recommend this restaurant, as it had a great selection of food including Australian specialities such as Kangaroo and Crocodile. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food and drink prices were good.
We did have a few complaints with the hotel by the end of our 14 night stay. The tiled floors were very noisy, whether that was out in the corridors or in the rooms. We were on the second floor and could hear the people above walking around and moving furniture. The walls were quite thin and towards the end of our stay we got quite rowdy neighbours who played very loud music up to midnight and then made a lot of noise when leaving to go out, coming in later having the same disregard for other hotel users. Acceptably, this was not the hotels fault.

Overall the hotel was good value for money, as we got a very good deal from Monarch. I would recommend this hotel as we were not disappointed and would go back if we are to stay in Albufeira again, as it very well located between the old town and the strip and a 10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsprks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Just got back from FdV with my husband and 2 teenage kids. The reviews on tripadvisor are pretty much spot on but I'll try to list the good and the bad!!

GOOD POINTS

* Beautifully presented hotel - lovely communal furniture, good quality and design
* Spacious rooms, we had a one bed but the largest we have stayed in
* Extremely clean, though cleaners came generally after 3pm
* Friendly staff, courteous but left you alone, no hard sell
* Able to bring own food and drinks to pool area, again no hard sell at the bar
* Plenty of sun beds, don't think there'll be a problem even in the peak season as the hotel was at full occupancy. Nobody hogging sun beds or putting towels out
* Lovely, large clean pool and separate kids pool
* No kids club (hurray, been there done that!) though a nice park opposite
* Mixed clientele of British, Portuguese, German etc guests
* Happy hour and offers at the bar
* Fantastic location near the "Strip" (if that's your thing), 15 mins walk to Old Town (fabulous) and only 3.25 taxi fare back up hill
* Great supermarkets, Spar, Modelo, Pingo Doce within 10 mins, cheap taxi back
* Great restaurants nearby. We loved "Expresso" two minutes right from rear lower level, superb value, friendly service, also do takeaway piri-piri chicken and other meals
* Sat TV, a few English channels (well it did rain a fair bit!!)
* Good views from rooms as on a slight hill, we had sea views room 405
* Washing machine, dishwasher and microwave (with oven) in kitchen area
* Good value at £180 for a week with TravelRepublic

BAD POINTS

* Beds WERE terribly hard, had back ache after 2 nights
* NOISE from other apartments. Yes it's true, all the floors throughout are tiled, you can hear chairs being moved below (we were on 3rd floor which is the top). Also can hear people talking loudly, we were woken up at 6.30 am by a young child talking normally
* They need to equip kitchens better as minimum cultlery/crockery/pans provided. BRING A TRAVEL KETTLE, can and bottle openers!
* Hotel lacks atmosphere. They have a bar and a beautiful restaurant but they did not promote them at all. Bar was only busy during important football matches. They really have missed a trick here.
* No courtesy room when checking out late, nowhere to shower or change apart from the communal toilets. As hotel was full could not even pay for late checkout. Would suggest booking an extra night if possible.
* No wi-fi available in public areas for 5 days despite them promoting this on the website and on hotel booking agents descriptions. High cost charged to use in rooms or on their own computers
* Erratic opening of pool bar, unclear what was served!!

WOULD WE GO BACK???

Yes, probably but with ear plugs!! All in all the good outweighed the bad and it was superb value for money booked with EasyJet flights and ResortHoppa transfers (on time, minibus for 4). Would have given it 5* but for the niggles above.

Room Tip: Bring spare toilet paper, their rolls are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1oftheLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I have recently stayed at the Forte Do Vale for a week with my partner. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are very modern, spacious and clean with great facilities including free tv, 2 air con units, large balcony and well equipped kitchens. We found the hotel to be perfectly situated just a 5minute walk to the Strip with its many bars and restaurants, and a 10/15 minute walk to the old town which is very nice with lots of fabulous restaurants on the sea front. There are also several local restaurants and bars around the hotel as well as a supermarket next door. The hotel bar and restaurant are nice but rarely used, between 2100-2200 hrs you can get a large beer for 1.50 euro which is nice. The pool is large and spacious, however i imagine that it can get busy in the summer and maybe result in a lack of sunbeds. Overall i found these appts to be perfect in everyway, location/facilities/price etc, they are very well priced for what you get and a definate 4*, will be returning later this year. I would recommend a visit to "Fatcats" english bar nearby and also the Sizzling Stone restaurant just at the top of the strip where you get a great steak served on a sizzling stone enabling you to cook it yourself to your liking, definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#82 of 154 in Albufeira
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale

Property: Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Address: Rua Dunfermline | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Grand Muthu Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing