We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to see the sun set”

Pedras Amarelas Restaurante
Ranked #177 of 790 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to see the sun set”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for the best meal in the Algarve, then this isn't the place, however we have eaten here a number of times when we have visited the Algarve and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. The food is good and the fish is fresh. The service and staff are excellent and the views and the setting is amazing. Not the cheapest but nowhere near the most expensive also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheMeat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    139
    42
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Views and Friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here twice during our week in the Algarve region. All the staff was very friendly and willing to answer any questions we had concerning wines or items on the menu. During our two trips we tried grilled Sea Bass, fish cataplana, mussels, fried calamari, and grilled shrimp. We tried some desserts the first trip but cannot remember which ones. We found everything to be very good except maybe the fried calamari as we don’t think it was fresh. The Sea Bass was had twice and each time we were able to choose our fish from their display case. The fish cataplana was served with rice and was very good. My wife tried cataplana three times during our ten days in Portugal and this place was her favorite. The wines recommended by the waiter were very good. We thought the sangria was good though a little weak. The restaurant has plenty of seating inside and outside with wonderful views of the beach and sunsets. Recommend reservation as they tend to fill up pretty fast during the high season. Of the three restaurants located in the Praia da Gale we tried two and this was the better of the two.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great view and great prawns”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is one of three beach restaurants close to the Vila Gale Praia so we had plenty of options each night. We had lunch twice here - the service is a bit slow here and not as warm or welcoming as the Praia da Gale but the menu is more extensive. We tried their grilled prawns and they were massive and delicious. I do agree with some of the other reviewers: the food is a touch pricey but give it a go, I loved their calamari starter...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidGamerWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely settling but food very over priced”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant has a lovely setting on the beachfront snd whilst the food is good it is ridiculously expensive and 33 Euros for a plain grilled sea bass is far more than I pay in expensive UK restaurants

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing food, friendly service, great view”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went there with a group of 5 people in march, and it was a truly great experience. The food was delicious. We had several starters, including calamari, squid and some salat. Everything was great and it felt like there was always something special to it. For the main course we ordered different kind of fish for all of us to share. It was perfectly prepared. I can only say the same thing for the deserts.

What really stood out was the service. The waiter(s) took a long time to explain the meals and also the different kind of wines to us. The communication was really friendly and funny, which created a really warm atmosphere. I think we stayed there for up to 4 hrs.

It was a great experience for all of us. Obviously, if you are going for several courses plus wine you have to willing to spend some money. But value for money is great.

For your orientation:

Starters: 5-10€
Main courses: 15-60€
Deserts: 4-8€
Wine: 15-35€

All in all, I really can recommend this place and if I ever go back to the Algarve again, I`m pretty sure I will stop there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robirob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedras Amarelas Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Pedras Amarelas Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing