We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will defo go back”
Review of Solaqua Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solaqua Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will defo go back”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

As most of the reviews have said this is a lovely hotel centrally positioned between the old town and the strip, very clean all the staff very helpful and pleasant, the snacks by the pool where Tastey and good, Claudio, and Emma, (bar staff) were brilliant, however the Brazilian girl prayed for rain and got her wish, so we nearly chucked her in the pool. In hind sight now I will do my home work for our next visit on cheaper bars and places to eat, as we met up with a group of wiganers who put us right on some great places, thanks to all the solaqua staff for a very relaxing holiday, and good luck to Emma on the forthcoming birth of her baby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mugsy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    406
    145
    41
    20
See reviews for
308
481
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just got back from a week stay in albuifera. After reading alot of great reviews we were really looking forward to this holiday but sadly we could not wait to come home.

The hotel is absaloutely fine its modern and clean , yes the sounloungers are a bit stained but you put your towel over it anyway ! We were self catering so no comment on the hotels food. I have only two bad points which are most days the maids don't come until 5 or 6ish which is a bit silly as normally we were getting ready at that time so just had to get them to hand us more towels and empty the bin. Also in the photos it looks like the back of the hotel looks down onto a little walkway or small park - it is in actual fact a lake of greeny brown murky waste water which was a bit disgusting to be honest.
We did use the indoor pool one day (it rained ALOT) it is the same temperature as the pool outside but once you were in you got used to it.
The hotel is in a strange place , it is down a road and to the left, right opposite the hotel is a radiology building :S and 2 mins walk is a shopping centre with the great portugese version of tesco (continente) inside it... anyway please be careful of the homeless dodgy men that hang about outside the shopping centre and near the taxi rank as they hassle you for money .. on one occasion one of them pulled a photo of an old lady out his jacket and said his grandmother was sick and he wanted 1 euro, we said sorry no so he started to follow us down the road which was a bit scary but he quickly saw other people so went to hassle them instead. Nearly every wall you walk past has graffiti on it aswell... bit run down which was a shock as we had heard it was a lovely place.
There is a taxi rank right outside the shopping centre and it only cost 3.50 euro to go to the strip or old town and there is a little train aswell thats 2.50 or 4 euro for all day ticket. There is a kfc and mcdonalds at the other side of the road aswell.

THE STRIP is basically a longish street of bars resteraunts and little shops but we were not impressed. We are in our 20's and love a good drink and night out but it really was poor little bars that were all charging 10 euros for two drinks . The usual "come in and get a free shot" or a classic that the girl trying to get you into "Patcha" club ... "come in XFACTORS on " - REEALLY?! yeah thats why ive came abroad to watch xfactor in a bar on holiday LOL .
THE OLDTOWN looks quite pretty at night with good resteraunts and bars but durig the daylight you can see all the usual graffiti and shabbiness. The doppbell is good and great prices but most of the resteraunts all serve the same really at the same good prices. However please dont waste your time going to wild&co at the strip because even though it looks very nice and better quality it really isnt and was double the price compared with everywhere else. Also the American Diner in oldtown was very good with lovely deserts. The oldtown did seem lovely with its little streets but once youve walked round it once thats it its very small. Major downfall in oldtown aswell is the back street where the main bars all kind of come together in a little lane are totally ruined by the SAME guy singing EVERYnight ALLnight at this bar is so BAD it just makes you cringe and you cant stay there for long as he is THAT annoying.

The beach is quite good and if you walk far enough along theres little coves and rocks to explore about , the beach has some shelly parts though so be careful as a few people cut there feet. A few people had said to me don't go in the sea it is freezing as its the same ocean as in Britain but is was actually quite warm so on't listen to people tha talk crap.

Random point but.. make sure you double check your transfer coach or shuttle service , we were with BT4U ( besttransfersforyou) and you have to phone them the day before going home to find out your pick up time but we just asked the receptionist and they can check it online for you.

All in all I definately would not come back here as it was very rundown and boring, there wasnt alot to do and we werent made to feel welcome by the locals much ( which you are staying right in the middle of their main town and they all live right beside the tourist area). Also we only had 2 days of sun the rest of the time it rained so made it even worse , if you still want to go here i suggest you go from june to august to gaurantee at least the weather so you arent bored or depressed out your skull lol. We are so happy to be home and quite disaapointed but oh well it just shows you not everyone has the same taste in places!! I think we will stick to places like the canaries or greek islands as they are all lovely and friendly locals !

Room Tip: probably go for the usual pool view as you dont want to be looking at the street opposite another ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Errin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed from the 9th to18th September. The one bedroom apartment was excellent for 4 adults.
We will be back in March for another break and looking forward to it already.
Great offers in happy hour and the staff were always polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

These apartments were spacious and clean, they had everything that you would need to cook a basic meal, 2 ring hob, microwave, fridge plates, cups etc and a toaster, the only downside was that it didn't have an electric kettle instead you had to boil water on the hob which took time so I would advise taking a travel kettle. The room had air conditioning, flat screen tv with a few English channels, twin beds, dressing table, wardrobe and a dining table. The bathroom had a full size bath and stand in shower. I would recommend asking for a pool view as the other side only looked onto other houses. The hotel was very close to a shopping centre that had a supermarket similar to asda or morrisons. There is quite a walk to both the old town/ beach and the new town approx 20-40 mins depending on speed, however there is a land train that has a stop near the supermarket that only costs €4 for the day to hop on and off as much as you liked or €2.50 for one trip. We got the train to the beach in the morning, back to hotel in the afternoon, to the old town in the evening, then onto the new town before getting the last train back to the hotel (approx 12.30). If you had a party of 4 then the taxis would be cheaper for one trip costing approx €4 to go to the old town/ beach or new town per trip. The old town is best for having a meal and listening to live music and the new town is best for drinking and dancing. This was a great holiday and I would recommend it any age groups.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank achady29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There was 2 of us staying in a studio apartment which was very spacious and always clean. The towels were changed daily. The kitchen area was very basic but we made good use of the full size fridge. The pool area was very clean and this time of the year reasonably quiet. We never had any issue finding a sun lounger around the pool. The location of the hotel was perfect for a steady walk into the old town which took us about 15 minutes or a slightly longer walk to the strip. There is also a local train that takes you between the strip and old town that stops near the hotel. We had a really good time here and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishdisneymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Me, my wife and 15month old daughter arrived at solaqua on the 19th sept and stayed for a week having previously stayed for 2weeks earlier in the year at ondamar apartments. I would definately say that solaqua is the better of the 2 apartment blocks, as the rooms are far more modern and the positioning although down a quiet road is better at the solaqua. Because you are almost perfectly inbetween the new town(the strip) and the old town. The apartments at the solaqua are very large with a seperate bedroom and we had 2x balconys. Theres a tv in the apartements with ITV1,2,3,4 and BBC 1 so if you spend any time in the rooms you can take advantage of this! Theres an indoor and outdoor pool which are both nice pools! Theres a large mall with supermarket about 300mtrs from solaqua to get everything you'll need. We ate out every night and the best restaurants that i can recommend are the clay oven(indian) near the strip and the chinese opposite ondamar apartments. We would def recommend solaqua to anyone!!! Excellent place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumberste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travelled as a family of four with one child and had two adjoining studio rooms.
first impressions were that the location is great, and that the rooms were modern and clean.

It was ok, but not that clean, the housekeepers frequently came to our room after 5pm and we sent them away several times, so we have ourselves to blame on that score. Also if a hotel is using scatter cushions and throws to add colour, it's only a nice touch if they are clean.
On the one occasion I tried the microwave there was an alarming smell; we didn't use it again. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby so not too much of a problem.

The pool itself was a lovely size, but as mentioned elsewhere the loungers were very grubby and there didn't appear to be regular cleaning taking place. Also, the pool area was sort of sterile, no plants or shrubs and it felt sort of unfinished. The pool bar was fine for drinks and ice creams.

The atmosphere round the pool changed at the weekend. One afternoon on our return from the beach there were a group of approximately 15 Irish/NE English men who were drinking heavily and messing about with each other (shoving each other in the pool) They were wolf whistling/ jeering at a small group of younger women who had arrived. The women took it in good part, but it wasn't the sort of thing I appreciated or wanted my 13 year old niece exposing to. We gave the pool a miss after that.

I did enjoy the indoor pool for a morning swim, but again the area looked like it could do with a clean.

We have been to Albufeira and the area a number of times, the location here was great and we enjoyed our selves, but we won't rush back to this property.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool avoids traffic noise. Also do you want to be somewhere that caters for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaqua Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaqua Apartments

Property: Solaqua Apartments
Address: Rua do Mediterraneo, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solaqua Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solaqua Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaqua Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Solaqua Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing