We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Luna Solaqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Solaqua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very clean spacious apartment, a home away from home and no extra charge for air conditioning. Large supermarket a short distance away as is KFC and McDonalds the latter which is open till 4am, 15 mins walk downhill to the Oldtown (nice friendly restaurant Dom Capita nearby, specials well worth it and food very nice), if you don't fancy the walk into town a taxi will drop you for 4 euro. My only gripe is we were told the poolbar would open during our stay but this never happened in our 2 weeks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrektherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

very very clean hotel maids were in my corrider every morning or evening supplying new towels and then every other day changing the sheets and sweeping the floors, very clean! Pool bar didnt open till about 11 which was a shame as i was round the pool at 8.30am most mornings, always managaed to get a sun lounger at any time of the day, the pool area was big. The few days of bad weather we went in to the inside pool which is a good option. pool table in lobby, food at the pool bar was good and good prices, prices of beer was much beer at the supermarket 2 mins up to street. (sneak in a cool bag at the side of the pool). Few bars near the hotel but not many but walked to the strip or old town every night for tea anyway. overall very good hotel, the reception staff were amazing as my boyfriend lost his wallet before arrivng at the hotel he rang the airline, transfers and airport to help. Lack of pool music in the day. Apartment rooms were huge! and english preview!

Room Tip: asked for a pool view but didnt recieve one but the room was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyndseykWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very pleased we booked this hotel.

Modern huge lovely apartments, we had a seperate bedroom with twin beds air con plenty of wardrobe space and drawers, huge bathroom with shower over bath, kitchen area with everything you needed to cook including kettle and toaster, seperate dining area and living area with large sofa bed and flat screen tv. Two balconies.

Pool area was great, nice sized pool, plenty of clean loungers, no loud pumping music.

Nice snack bar, reasonably priced for snacks. Happy hour drinks 7pm-9pm good value.

Our room was on the pool level facing the end of the pool and it was relatively quiet we werent kept awake as some other travellers have suggested. May not be the case if u faced the street or were directly next to the pool.

Staff very friendly and helpful we booked trips and taxi's through them.

Taxi was about 4euros to strip and 5 euros to old town. We also went on a boat trip and it was 7euros to the marina. About 15mins walk to old town and 15-20 to strip.

Ideal mcdonalds and big supermaket and shopping mall close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Checked the reviews here before booking and we were not disappointed! Reading some reviews might put you off but it is a holiday complex and some people seemed like they did not cop on to this!!! People go abroad to enjoy themselves not to sit round

They are Big apartments, air conditioned but we had a street facing one so not a good view but it didnt matter as we didn't spend time out there. Noise from the street was a bit of an issue but again not a ground breaker. Everyone in the complex was really nice and polite and willing to help with any queries. Great food which was reasonably priced, lovely sized pool which was never overly full so we enjoyed that. There was an ice cold breeze going round the pool though. They could do with putting something around the railings to try and stop it. Theres an indoor pool and jacuzzi also which is very handy. Only gripe i had was the beds. Not very comfortable.

Perfect location to the main strip for a good night out or dinner and the old town was very close to. Plenty of restaurants and pubs so you wont go thirsty or hungry. No more than 5 euro in a taxi to either location

Room Tip: Bring some comfortable walking shoes if you don't want to use the taxis. Paths are not up to muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 12th-19th june,good size room,clean and tidy,pool area spotless,120 loungers and plenty of space around pool,only problem,rooms had no kettle or toaster,these are a must for self catering Apts, staff very friendly, two large supermarkets within walking distance ,old and new towns,15 minute walk,lifts are very good overall good location between old and new towns

Room Tip: pool view 2nd or 3 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beenbe4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travelled to ALbuferia in May with 3 of my best friends for a cheeky few days away without the other halves. Having been to Albuferia a few times i was familiar with the hotel and its location so when it came to booking the hotel i was happy with the deal.
The hotel is bang in the middle of the old town and the "strip" ... which is perfect as you have the best of both worlds, shops, restaurants the beach and night life of all kinds are within a 10 / 15 minute walk..
The apartment we had was extremely spacious for 4 of us and had a great pool view which reached over to the beach. The rooms and the hotel itself was clean and well presented, the pool area was basic, but perfectly sufficient. My main gripe was the lack of atmosphere around the bar and pool with no music being played. The staff were friendly and helped us with our bags and checking in when we arrived tired and late. Overall I would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling there, beit families, couples and / or singles! ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemery-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

hotel was fine but not 4star just 3 star nice big studio room 116 view of the pool, trouble was noise the sounds seem to travel up through hotel, it was over run with irish people who were very loud, one group sat around the pool all day drinking shouting etc night time they were in the bar same again the bar is supposed to shut at 11.45pm loud singing and shouting and banging we were in our room 116 and could hear it all it was so loud we could even hear the words to the singing put up with it till 12.10pm phoned reception they told me will ring bar one hour later 1.10pm still the same phoned reception given the same answer did not end till1.45pm then all the noise changed to the rooms gave up and made a cup of tea, every night about 1pm till 2pm people comming back to hotel all you hear is high heel shoes clonking along then the slamming of doors, loud talking out of 7 nights we had one quiet night,i just think the staff could not handel all the irish people the hotel was fine the area is nice but very noisey hotel will never go back again the week we stayed was 28th may to 4th june

Room Tip: do not have room 116 get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert-dobbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 153 in Albufeira
3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#40 of 153 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Solaqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Solaqua

Address: Rua do Mediterraneo 14 | Cerro Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $37 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Solaqua 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Solaqua assumes a central position on the Algarve coast. It is just a few minutes from the iconic Praia dos Pescadores, as well as the main shopping area of Albufeira. Next to the hotel, you can find numerous restaurants, bars and shops, typical of tourist offer very characteristic of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luna Solaqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaqua Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Luna Solaqua Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing