We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic accomodation for simple needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alagoamar Aparthotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“basic accomodation for simple needs.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have recently returned from my stay at this hotel on 24/10/12.
It is rated four star but i am under the assuption this is european rating as personally i felt let down as i would rate it three.
First impressions, reception staff are polite and attentive and do tend to give it that personal touch.
The rooms are basic and my room did require some decor attending to but nothing major to raise concerns.
Television is a basic portable and no english channels other than BBC News, slightly dissapointing.
Bed was comfortable and plenty of room in the apartment.
Kitchenette facilities are good as everything required to cook is provided as well as a microwave.
Cleaning was good too as cleaners will clean daily compared to some hotels i have been to.
To make calls from pay points in the hotel are not good as very expensive and not convinient as 85p per min approx.
The location of the hotel is good as you have a travel point located two doors down for day trips and a supermarket and internet cafe within walking distance.
Beach can be located also either side and is a 10 min walk.
General overview of the area is negative as theft and street robbery rate is high as I myself and two friends on seperate incidents have experienced this.
Please remember if you are going to report anything to the Police out thier then you do have to pay 12 euros for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    128
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
83
128
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Albufeira is a favourite holiday resort for us because it has plenty to offer.
This October 4th we stayed at the Alagoa Mar Apartments for 14days. On arrival we were given a room overlooking the busy street with the lovely aroma of barbecued sardines wafting over the balcony, despite requesting a pool view. We had read previous reviews and knew of the 2 different views. Reception was very helpful and moved us to a pool view immediately, even tho they had no notification of our request.
The facilities were poor, we were informed upon arrival that it was out of season now and the bar facilities closed at 6pm, drinks and snacks unavailable after this time. It would have been nice to sit on the veranda outside the bar in the evenings with a few drinks!!
The housekeeping team were excellent, keeping the apartment clean and well provided with towels and clean bed linen.
The shower, what a palaver!! The riser rail only adjusted up and down, it had the wrong shower head fitted and did a grand job of spraying the wall at the other end of the bath, or right in your face if you stood in front of it. I complained to reception on the way out for the day and they promised to send the maintenance man. Well Mr. Fixit called whilst we were out and replaced the shower head with a brand new one. Exactly the same design as the old one. Not being able to trust myself to complain again, I went to the local supermarket and bought a bag of cable ties and did a Heath Robinson type modification. The shower was perfect for the remainder of our stay. (probably still is, I left the ties on).
Reception are paranoid about the one key allowed!! Our son is without hearing and speech, and when asked for a spare key reception refused. Made it difficult if he was alone in the room, meant a trip to reception for the spare, which was either accompanied by a staff member or had to be returned straight away. Even had a room 'phone call from them one afternoon asking if I still had the original!!
So to summarise, great for location, lovely clean rooms, limited facilities 'out of season', fixtures and fittings getting a bit tired, and ffs don't lose the key!! We won't stay there again 'out of season'. Definitely not as good as we have experienced within 500 yards walk away, even 'out of season'.

Room Tip: Always request a pool view!! They won't guarantee you get one, but it is the basis for complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Froisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from a One week stay at the Alagoamar hotel. Firstly I will explain the review title. Being right smack in between the Old town and the Strip, it is the perfect location to be based. However if you have a room at the front of the hotel like we did, it is noisy, being as it is on the busiest road in Portugal! We had requested a pool view/rear room but sadly didn't get this. So i would strongly recommend getting a rear room as the noise is pretty much constant through the night, obviously being less heavy between 03:00 and 07:00 ish.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness throughout the whole Hotel is very high.
The pool and pool side bar is excellent and the bar is open till 6 pm.
We had no problems getting sun beds.
One negative with the room was it lacked some things you wood expect from a self catering apartment, such as there were no dishcloths and no washing up liquid which we had to buy. The cooking facilities are also fairly basic.
Overall I would recommend it as a good value hotel for your stay in the Fantastic town of Albufeira.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ianesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from Alagoamar apartments, Rooms cleaned every day, clean towels etc, Staff very friendly it was very handy for both the strip and the old town, we always walked. You could always get a sunbed no having to rush down first thing in a morning to put on the towels. Would def return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christiner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned yesterday from a fantastic family holiday staying at these apartments, having read a few of the other reviews I was a little worried before we left but there was no need to be worried and we were very surprised when we arrived there, reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, room was clean and very well decorated & equipped with everything we needed, we stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the roadside and it was fine, both pools and pool bar are nice and also does snacks as well as drinks, location is good and in walking distance to the old town which we would definitely recommend, taxis are €3.25 if you dont want to walk there, takes about 10-15 mins to walk, supermarket, cafe bars, restaurants all a few minutes away, this was our 6th visit to the algarve and 2nd visit to the albufeira area and would definitely stay at these apartments again :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMJWILD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from short break at Alagoa Mar (Tue -Sun). I am not a fussy travellor and do not expect home from home comfort while on holiday so this is a very honest apraisal of my experience. Our apartment was clean and kitchen had all we needed, it overlooked a busy roundabout so if you are a light sleeper you need pool view, however it was not an issue for me. There were 2 main problems - 1st was the pool area is small with no natural shade and few sunbeds and umbrellas which meant it was extremely hot and the pool was so icy cold I couldnt bear any more than toe dipping, however the beach is a 10 minute walk and a lovely alternative. 2nd problem was there is absolutely nothing to do in evening unless you take another 10 minute walk to the old town or go down to the strip which is not my scene. The TV had no english channel except for world news so if going out every night is not your thing take entertainment with you. The staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you. This is an ok place to stay if you are using it as a base to sleep - do not expect anything else and you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: If light sleeper get pool view - alternative is busy roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank april12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fy6 0eb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went to the alagoamar apartments in august 2012, all i am going to say is don't go off the bad review's it was brilliant. Rooms were cleaned every day towel's changed every day the staff were very frendly the apartment was excellent well worth the money.It was 20mins from the old town and beach 3 euros in a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank victoriafy60eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#22 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagoamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoamar Aparthotel

Property: Alagoamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Municipio, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagoamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing