We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alagoamar Aparthotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Noise”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived at the Alagoa Mar 270911, and were immediately told that my pool view request for a room was declined. However 'if you live in the city you will be used to the noise'. I have never heard noise like it and could not sit in the room with the door open. The a/c clicked during the night and resulted in a week of unbroken sleep. I mentioned this to reception, who sent the engineer to have a look. They said the noise was normal??

When asking to change rooms it seems the standard reply is that the hotel was full. I guarantee the hotel was not full. On walking into the room, found a mobile phone next to the patio door, that clearly demonstrated the cleanliness of the room. The cleaner came into the room every day but sometimes only mopped the floor, sometimes made the bed. It decided how she felt. Somedays we had our bed made 2 days in a row!! also, there was a rug in our room which was never vacuumed the whole time we were there. Looking at the rooms that were poolside they were vacuumed and the decor was completely different.
Having stayed around the corner at the Real Bellavista twice in the last year, this was a big shock to the system. I will never stay at this hotel on the main road ever again. Not if I want to sleep!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicnshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    127
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
82
128
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk.Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

On arrival we were ushered straight out to the Hotel/Apartments next door,obviously they were overbooked.
The Hotel we were taken to was approx 20 yards up the street,called the Paladim..
I cannot comment on the Algoamar but if you feel or worry that the same could happen to you.please read my report regarding the Paladim apartments.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WORSTONEYET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Me and my two teenagers stayed at the apartment for a week. We were given an apartment overlooking the road and after having read previous reviews I was worried and had wanted to move. Unfortunately the hotel was full so were stuck. Our worries were unfounded however and there was no noise to speak off at all.

The reception staff were absolutely lovely and always greeted you with a smile and made the whole experience very enjoyable, this could not be said of the guy who worked in the bar however whose attitude and customer service left much to be desired!

The room was a good size, the cleaners came every day and towels were always replaced.

The room did smell like drains when you first walked in and it was only the air conditioning and spraying of air freshener that helped and this was the case every day. I know that this was definitely not down to the cleaners who did an excellent job - not sure what it was?

I think it was a good place to stay central to the strip, old town and supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey. london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We came with our family and was pleased to finally arrive in Portugal. Outside our apartment we could see the pool because we had a pool side.In the apartment it was quiet up to date, our room was very clean and new built look. The only weakness is that our bathroom door and lounge door had a massive dent in the external side.

The kitchen and lounge area were together and there was sofa bed also a single bed underneath which 2 people could sleep on, which was good for a family of four. The apartment had a lot of space and we could prepare hot/cold food without any problems.except there was no oven just two hobs. When asked to provide bulbs the request was prompt.

Room Tip: a comfortable room and a large enough room to feel relaxed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived, after requesting a quiet room, to be told we had a room facing the road. It is reallt noisy. If u were planning on just using the hotel as a base sleeping in the day and drinking at night it is fine.

The staff were amazing when we complained and moved us within 3 days. Which was the soonest they could change.

The cooking stuff in the room is mot really conducive to self catering and this hotel is no way a four star its a three. But staff couldnt be more helpful. The location for amenties is cool 10 mins walk to old town/strip and the supermarket is 2 mins walk

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having a delay once again with thomas cook me and my boyfriend arrived at the hotel about 1am when we should have arrived at 7pm!! We got dealt with quickly at reception and was given out tv and air con remote and within 10 mins we were in our room. I was shocked when i opened the door as i heard so many bad reviews! The room was spacious, bathroom was a good size and huge mirror which we loved!! kitchen area had everything you need even though we didn't use it! When we booked i did ask for a pool view but didn't get it, we got a room right opposite the round about! Noisy but it didn't bother us! The cleaners did a good job and would come near enough everyday only thing that annoyed me was that they could have done a better job at sweeping the floors but our towels were changed etc. One thing i would say NOT to do is do not bring leftovers back to your room ( our stupid mistake) we left pizza in foil, came back and there was about 300 ants on the kitchen top and floor :( NIGHTMARE!!! but i killed them all mwhahahaha!!!! Watch out for the seagulls that fly near your balcony too, so dont leave food there!! we didn't use the pool once as we were always on the beach, it looked nice though and should be bigger if you ask me. Beds were ok but the pillows are awful, there not even pillows lol. I miss it already & would deffo go back, abit of a walk to the beach (which is old town) and the other way is the strip where me and my boyfriend loved!! Go to MATTS!!! cheap drinks, good music and lovely staff. Nice resturants, FREDDIES do the best chops ever!! worth the hour wait lol. (New town) . Watersports on the beach WICKED!!!. The sofa is amazing lol, we had so much fun for the 2 of us 25 euros. The sea water can be cold but you get use to it and soon warms up. The old town is more relaxed with good food, the new town/strip more lively but you should try both! Alot of homeless dogs too :( One of our best holidays yet! Make sure you come here!!!! ....

Room Tip: poolside view if you don't like traffic noise 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We didn't know what to expect from this hotel due to the small number of mixed reviews so were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The receptionist Ana was very welcoming and seemingly on some kind of hyper pills. We were given the introduction and told one room was ready but one would be an hour. Fair enough seeing as we were a few hours before normal check in time.

Our rooms were self catering apartments with a huge balcony, bathroom, bedroom with twin beds, large living room / kitchen with a sofa and pull out bed. All decorated in a relatively modern and clean style.

Free aircon in both bedroom and lounge, safe was 2 euro a day with a refundable 10 euro deposit.

Beds were a little hard and pillows seemed to be made of a bag of ripped up foam but did the job. There was a large wardrobe and plenty of storage space throughout.

Kitchen had a fridge, kettle, toaster, 2 plate hob and microwave plus all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans you would need. An iron and board available from reception.

Bathroom was least well decorated, just red and pink painted tiles, but had a sink, toilet, bidet, bath and shower over.

Rooms were cleaned every day but you did need to thrown the dirty towels on the floor in a pile to get them washed as they asked you to reuse them to save the environment.

Hotel had a bar open until 10pm and served food. Large coke etc (40cl) was 3 euro as was a same size beer. Food was basically sandwiches, toasties, breakfasts etc ranging from 2 to 5 euro.

We got a sunbed every day and a good thing is there are signs through the hotel warning that if you reserve a sunbed with a towel it will be removed and put on a table!

If there were no sunbeds the grassy areas were nice to lay around.

Pool wasn't heated but after 3 seconds it was quite a nice relief from the algarve sun. One point is that I don't think any chemicals were used in the pool so I'm not sure how they kept it sanitary. On the bottom of the pool there were darker patches which looking like replacement tiling but upon diving down and swimming along the bottom turned out to be black algae type grot in the grouting.

The hotel was always clean and tidy. There was a library with a computer that you put a euro in and got 12 minutes of net access but if you are a Facebook fiend don't bother as it spits you out if you try to read comments.

There is a lift and a vending machine but this is expensive at 1.30 for crisps and 1.50 for a coke.

2 min walk along the road is the big continente supermarket which has everything you should need and is quite cheap. 12 bottles of cristal beer and 3 litres of ice tea for 4.98 euro!!

Directly opposite is another supermarket called pingo doce. Above this is the famous o Jorge, and working along to the left are some decent small bars with cheap beers such as bellavista sports bar and net kafe where u get unlimited wifi for 1.50 - try the caipirinha and caipiroska cocktails, very popular in Portugal and very refreshing.

A bit further along is Tim tims Chinese, 9.75 all you can eat buffet. Not great but ok and good value. The standard menu is better apparently. Below this is a mcdonalds and a KFC. There isn't really anything further down the road apart from a lidl about 7 minutes walk.

You can get a taxi called from hotel or the taxi rank outside continente. 3.90 to both strip and old town. I much preferred the old town for food (bravo steakhouse was great and the 600gr porterhouse was the best steak I've ever had).

The tourist train can be caught from the brisa sol opposite mcdonalds and stops there, at the strip and at the top of the old town escalators. It's 2.50 per trip and 4 euro for an all day unlimited ticket. You can only get on and off at the stops mentioned. Complete circuit takes 40 minutes and it can get warm on there!

Anyway hope that helps any prospective visitors. Any questions don't hesitate to message me! Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank plymouthsp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagoamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoamar Aparthotel

Property: Alagoamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Municipio, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagoamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing