We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic-surpassed all our expectations!”
Review of Casa Amarela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Amarela
Ranked #6 of 29 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic-surpassed all our expectations!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Just spent 9 days at Casa Amerela ,a beautiful guest house just 5 mins drive from the old town of Albufeira. The owners, Jane and Stewart were so welcoming and such fantastic hosts, we felt we had known them for years. The Villa, gardens, swimming pool, sauna and hot tub are all immaculately kept. Jane provides a lovely hearty breakfast every morning and will cook an evening meal 4 or 5 times a week if required. We ate in several nights and the food was fantastic as was the atmosphere, a real "dinner party" feel. The tranquil setting of the Villa amidst the beautiful Portuguese countryside feels like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of Albufeira but is in actual fact only 5 mins by car! Alternatively you could borrow mountain bikes from the owners as we did and arrive there in 20 mins!.
Can,t wait to go back and be pampered again!!
Good luck Jane and Stewart, you really do deserve to make a fantastic success o this business.
Phil & Lynda. xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have just returned from a week here at Casa Amarela our first time and as soon as we returned home we booked flights to return here again in August, that shows you just how much we enjoyed it, we have never returned to a place straight away before in all the years we have been travelling.

Casa Amarela is bed & breakfast accommodation set in a large Villa just outside the centre of Albufeira, This property caters for the naturist traveller and clothes are most definitely optional anytime and anyplace in the property, no protocol exists regarding clothing, its upto you....

The service is provided by Jane & Stewart two ex pats from England with a long experience of hospitality, having both ran hotels, bars and clubs back in England. They know exactly when to give you attention and when to leave you alone, they will give you as much or as little as you want.
Casa Amarela can has 4 rooms for hire, 3 in the main house and one in an annex at the pool side, we stayed in this annex, the room is very small, with an en suite bathroom, literally big enough for the well sized bed in it, but you definitely do not come here to spend time in your bedroom, its sufficient for sleep and that I guarantee is all you will need it for, the small bathroom is off the bedroom with no door separating the bedroom from it, the shower was excellent nothing fancy but the most efficient shower i have come across in many years, instant hot water and massively powerful. The other rooms in the house are larger and more like a standard size bedroom but do not have en suite, though they all have private bathrooms dotted around the property.
Breakfast is provided as part of your deal, and was very pleasant..fresh fruit, toast, croissants, cereal, freshly squeezed orange juice (they have orange and lemons growing in the garden) and eggs of your choice. Served from 0830- 0930 each morning, sometimes a little early for us and we chose to miss breakfast on one occasion to have a "lie in" this was not a problem as there are a 1001 places to get a cheap breakfast 5 minutes away in the old town. Though I am sure if I combined a bit of sweet talk and arm twisting Jane and Stewart would have provided breakfast a little later should I have asked. That's how they are nothing is too much trouble. Jane even went to the trouble of arranging a homemade birthday cake for my wife’s birthday, she loved it.

Jane also provides evening meals for guests should they required them for a very reasonable fee of 18 Euro for 3 courses and all your drinks all night, a great deal and makes a change from restaurants in town every night, their company is excellent, and it is good to finish the evening with glasses of port in the hot tub!

The facilities here especially for naturists are excellent, good size pool, which also has some depth to it, a sauna and the hot tub along with a massive sun bathing area provides you with all the things you need for a relaxing day in the sun, or night when it comes to the sauna and hot tub. There is a guest kitchen at the pool side that has everything again you could require to make yourselves snacks and even meals should you wish to, there is a large fridge which you get allocated a shelf to store your goods, there is also a "trust" bar help yourselves to drinks and chalk it up on the board, settle up when you leave...

The location of Casa Amarela is idyllic - you feel like you are a million miles away from anything in the middle of the country side, but you are literally 5 minutes drive from the town of Albufeira and 5 minutes the other direction to the large shopping complex which includes a massive hypermarket and all the fast food you must avoid!..A car is very useful if you do want to get around at all as it may be a 5 minute drive but it would be an hours walk..Stewart will provide you with a lift to places locally for example down into old town for a very reasonable 5 euros (a taxi return is between 5:50 and 7:20 depending where you get it from.

All in all this was a fabulous holiday, our first dedicated naturist holiday and it couldn't have been any better..if you are thinking of trying a naturist break then this is fully recommended as i guarantee you wont be put at ease any more than you could be here...

Thanks Stew, Jane and see you again in August.

Room Tip: if you want ensuite go for the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazNbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Have been there 2009,2010 and have booked for this year,and hopefully again later in the year. we have enjoyed our stays there so much that we keep returning and dont look at any other destinations.This is due to the fact that Stewart and Jane are most welcoming hosts and you feel as if you have known them all your life.The rooms are fine and very clean.The garden and pool is paradise,in fact the location of casa amarela is superb so close to all ameneties and yet so secluded gives you the impression you are miles from nowhere.If you like socialising you will always meet someone to have a chat or a drink there (like me) if you want to read peacefully well its also perfect for that.All in all Stewart and Jane can not do enough for their guests,and casa amarela would be my first recommendation to anyone seeking a naturist holiday holiday.I hope Stewart and Jane can continue to build up their buisness and wish them luck and prosperity for the future

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilchesGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The only fault I can find with my short break at Casa Amarela is that it wasn't long enough - a fault that I intend to remedy as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Just returned from a week at Casa Amarela and loved every minute. So much so that before leaving we had to book again for later in the year. The accommodation was spotless, the company very friendly and the hosts wonderful. We felt like long lost buddies and were treated as part of the family from the word go. Nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was relaxing, the pool itself immaculately kept and the gardens were a pleasure to laze away the time. The week went far too quickly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

a little paradise in Portugal's nature.
A lot of privacy, nice people, a lot of hospitality, possibilities enough.
familiair atmosphere: very relaxed! End of the week: more friends and a nice brown-skin colour!
Thanks and compliments to Jane and Stewart!
regards,
Peter.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptzsws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2009

After having a few personal problems I returned to visit Jane and Stuart, having stayed with them last year for two weeks.
Once again I can give them nothing but the highest praise for their welcome, hospitality and understanding for the way I felt at the time. They once again went out of their way to make me feel at home and that my stay was as enjoyable as humanly possible, and for this and their continued friendship I am and will be forever greatful, there is no doubt at all I WILL BE BACK, and would recommend a stay to anyone.
If you want to get out and about and explore I would recommend you hire a car, but once again this can also be arranged through Jane as she has first hand knowledge of the various agents in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notthenorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.9 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
603 reviews
5.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,296 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,960 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel DP Albufeira
Hostel DP Albufeira
#11 of 29 in Albufeira
15 reviews
3.1 mi away
KR Hotels
KR Hotels
#7 of 29 in Albufeira
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarela

Property: Casa Amarela
Address: Sitio Ataboeira | Albufeira, Albufeira 8200-397, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Amarela Hotel Albufeira
Casa Amarela Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing