We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
113
116
54
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
116
54
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering indoor pool duplex apartment shared pool upstairs bedroom old town neighbouring hotel fat cats lovely hotel minute walk air con clay oven floor overlooking pingo doce sofa bed plenty of sunbeds squash court
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 304 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a week from the 4th to 11th July. When arriving at the hotel first impressions were nice rooms spacious on the 4th floor with an upstairs. One of our group had 2 teenagers and only one double bed to which the hotel moved them to a different room without any questions throughly good service.

We made our way to the pool at the front of the hotel for a swim and a beer by the bar as our rooms weren’t ready at check in. The pool was full of Stag parties and Hen parties and very loud. We didn’t realise that this pool was part of the hotel beside us.

The Luna Hotel Da Oura has its own pool on the first floor to which we didn’t know about however the downside is it has no Bar or food service. But was kids friendly so we did not mind.

At one point we witnessed a stag party strip a guy naked and dump him in the pool to which he stayed until someone fetched him clothes.

Moving to nighttime. We used to have a drink in the bar before we went to have dinner somewhere nearby. Federico in the bar was an absolute gent and a very good Barman he’s a credit to the hotel. We did have an issue with the other guy bar manager who worked in the bar. One of our party had a severe nut allergy and he persisted on giving out nuts but even though we had informed him of the child’s allergy. This resulted in us having to leave the bar on 3 occasions. I think the hotel could really benefit from teaching their staff on the implications of allergy’s. The guy at one stage was rubbing the peanut dust off his hands had he touched the child this could of had severe implications.
On the Tuesday night before we were due to leave the following Thursday we had to go to reception to complain about the noice from a neighboring room to which the hotel had placed a large group of boys and they played music very loudly until late. My wife had to go to reception to complain and the guy in fairness was straight up to sort it out. They turned off the music however we’re still very loud. The following night same again my wife went to reception again and they said they would sort it however they didn’t they asked them to be quiet the party left their room at 2am to go out and returned at 5am to which they started again with the noice. All I can say is thank god we were going home on the Thursday.

This is a nice Hotel really comfortable however the large groups of parties that are arriving for the party scene is not great if you are traveling with a family.

I wouldn’t say it’s a family hotel more like a party hotel I will not go back here and very expensive for drink etc.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Soccer-team2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmoSantos, Ass. Manageress at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Mr. Gary,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing stay at Luna Hotel da Oura and for your review.

We do apologize that your experience failed towards the situation at the bar and hope that no embarrassment has occurred to your child after that.

Please be informed that the Hotel is recommend to families and not hen/stag groups, as stated in several channels. Although, it’s difficult to detect them in advance.

We truly value your opinion, which are always welcome and taken into consideration in order to improve our services.

We sincerely hope we have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Remain at your full disposal and service.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

What a fantastic hotel this is, service, cleanliness and general amenities are all excellent. We are a family of 3 with a 16 month old baby, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Plenty of pool areas to choose from. If anything let the hotel down is the slightly dated décor but that is just being picky. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andycA9967JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmoSantos, Ass. Manageress at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Mr. Andy C.,

We would like to thank you, firstly, for choosing stay at Luna Hotel da Oura and for taking time to share your feedback.

Thank you so much for your pleasant compliments towards the cleanness, as well as its brilliant location, atmosphere and staff.

We are so pleased to know that you had a delightful stay. Your recognition and assigning to us with the highest score are really important.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you in the near future.

Always at your service.
Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

My wife and I stayed here for a week, nice hotel, rooms are big and clean, cleaned everyday, towels changed everyday, however, don't understand why all have baths, as no one has baths when on holiday. Could have done with a walk in shower. Fridge, iron and ironing board provided.
5 minutes from all the bars and resutrants. Plenty of sunbeds as you share the pool with other hotel.

Room tip: Pool view, and top floor would be better
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balwantray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmoSantos, Ass. Manageress at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Luna Hotel and for taking the time to write your review following your stay.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful week and enjoyed your stay.

We really appreciate your kind comments regarding the cleanness, room spacious, pool area and hotel in general.

Please, remin at your full disposal and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends, Hotel is nice, a bit dated in places but clean. The apartments are great, huge bedroom and two big wardrobes with loads of hangers,
Iron and ironing board (important to us girls!), living area and kitchen nice too. Ours overlooked the new pool which is quieter than the one at the front of the hotel. Only complaint was that food and drink was a bit expensive at the pool bar. But some really good restaurants near by.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmoSantos, Ass. Manageress at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Dear Mrs. Annette,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing stay at Luna Hotel da Oura and for taking time to share your review following your experience.

We are so pleased to know that you had a super break with us. We really appreciate your comments about the hotel, the spacious and cleanness and the new pool area.

Regarding the expensive prices on the food and drink at the pool bar, just to let you know that the pool bar belongs to the neighboring hotel, so we have no connection to that bar.

Remain at your full disposal and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Room tip: Maid service every day
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CarmoSantos, Ass. Manageress at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews