We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
85
92
42
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
92
42
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool duplex apartment self catering lovely hotel old town hotel shares small kitchen with microwave great water pressure adequate cooking facilities amazing bakery reception area is lovely minute walk air con shared pool hotel is centrally located waste ground fat cats
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 235 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The picture of the hotel is deceiving. The left part of the hotel has the Oura Bay Hotel right in front of it so you look straight into their rooms!
Room was clean and tidy. Reception area is nice too. Hotel was busy and I could not believe the amount of adults 30+ using the "f" word around the pool like it was the norm. There were children there too!! People don't read the rules - idiots in the pool playing ball and throwing the ball too hard or just taking over the pool so you could hardly swim. People in the pool standing drinking beer. This hotel does not allow stag, hen or other parties but Oura Bay hotel does and they use the same pool and facilities. Would not stay here again.
Takes 5 minutes to walk to the Strip and 30 minutes to the Old Town.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 31Jan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliaG53, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Luna Hotel da Oura.

We are pleased to know that you found the rooms clean and tidy and a nice reception area.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we are planning to upgrade the Hotel this coming winter.

Always at your service.

Nélia and the Luna Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Hotel was easy to get to about 40 mins from Faro Airport. Checking in was good room was ready earlier than usual and was a good start. The hotel was clean and well laid out and lifts worked well we was on the 3rd floor overlooking next door apartments and pool. Room was a good size air con small kitchen with microwave kettle toaster fridge ( decent size ) A Halogen Hob saucpans cups ( Small ) plates knives and forks were in sideboard in dining area. The first hr there tried to make a cuppa but electric point broke away from wall, however within 40 mins was fixed. 3 days later kettle failed and blew all the electrics again fixed within 40 mins . The bed was 2 singles together nice patio area enough storage room wardrobe and separate dressing table with drawers.
The bedroom also had a patio area but no seating not sure why ? Due to the fact you needed to go up stairs to the bedroom and downstairs to the shower room was in some ways awkward at times, and the settee area was opposite the stairs and tv was opposite the dining table so not great viewing not that there was much ever to see in English. The hotel was a 3 min walk from a supermarket other side of road on the worms roundabout easy Pingo Douce all you can need don't do what we did and do the smaller spars first 2 days lol. You can get to the strip easy out the hotel right at worms roundabout then 10 min walk your at the top of the strip turn right. We took one of those Tuk Tuks once charged £10 for 5 min drive walked rest of the time. Hotel had a lovely pool area lots sunbeds water very cool once in and under was lovely, Pool towels charged extra daily we always take a lightweight towel so no problem. This is our second trip to Albufeira and Hotel was prime location so would return again. One thing was noticed for 5 days by 4.30pm rooms were not cleaned Meant no fresh towels or bins emptied ,even though we had sign on door asking to clean room while we were out. We had to get them to do it, and beds never got fresh sheets while we were there for a week :( They came at 9 am on our last but one day to do it so mind boggles. Electric round 2 pins sockets,not many electric points but bring least 2 converters should be enough for phones cameras etc. Weather was between 26c - 32c dropping 5-8c at night. Lots and lots eating places nearby also on the strip where every 3rd place that is not a bar of some sort want to eat there ha ha.If you get a chance have a pastel de nata is a Portuguese egg tart pastry dusted with cinnamon, totally different to ones back home was yummy.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliaG53, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Mr. Peter,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful descriptive review of your recent experience Luna Hotel da Oura

We much enjoyed having your visit and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Always at your service.

Nélia and the Luna Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this lovely hotel. Our room was lovely and clean and overlooked the pool and had everything we needed. The hotel is near the main road but we didn’t hear any noise which meant that we slept really well in our comfy beds. The pool area was extremely clean and there were plenty of sun beds. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the strip and about half an hours stroll to the old town. We used to walk there and then get a taxi back for around €5. The people who work there are very pleasant and friendly and we would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliaG53, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Ms Lisa,

Thank you for you lovely review and for rewarding Luna Hotel da Oura with 5 stars.

We are pleased to know that our hospitality and cleanness was duly noticed, your recognition is most appreciated.

Remain at your full disposal and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Nélia and the Luna Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Quite a difficult review to write as a mixture of positive and negative points so to summarise: -

Pro’s:
Beautiful reception area, tastefully decorated, spacious, clean, relaxing
Reception staff – exceptionally friendly and helpful
Food – Breakfast certainly worth 4 * evening meals were delicious 5 * good selection always piping hot, tasty and fresh, for us we couldn’t find fault only praise
Studio apartment - Great air con which was cool and quiet, spacious throughout and large balcony
Spotless throughout the whole hotel
Decent Supermarket across the road along with a bus stop to the old town and bus station etc
The spa, sauna and indoor pool looked very relaxing although we didn’t use these facilities
Outside pool area was spacious with plenty of sun beds, nice little bar too
Nice mixture of age groups and nationalities

Con’s:
Location – Too far from the Old Town and the nearest beach was 20+ mins away, almost located on a busy and noisy roundabout with a dual carriageway to one side
Entrance to Reception was most strange, you had to drive/walk under a tunnel, this wasn’t ideal as cars/pedestrians using the same passageway
No outside evening terrace to have a drink (pool & bar area closed at 8pm) this was very disappointing and something which most customers would have expected from a hotel in a beach resort, lack of music and atmosphere
Studio apartment – quite dated, the balcony overlooked an untidy/waste ground area
Restaurant staff – although polite were a dowdy bunch, not much smiling and hovering around the tables collecting the odd item here and there which made you feel a little on edge

Overall, for us we would not return to this hotel mostly due to its location (which cannot be changed) and no outside evening terrace/bar. We did however enjoy and made the most of our stay visiting the beautiful sights and experiences of the Algarve

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliaG53, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Luna Hotel da Oura and nice compliments regarding the reception staff.

Your comments and suggestions were duly noted and taken into great consideration in order to improve our services.

Always at your service

Nélia and the Luna Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

This hotel we felt was nice to look at comfortable apartment spacious a plus. Good air conditioning in all rooms. Nice view pool. I noticed not many reviews on the food in hotel service. So im going to as it needs be pointed out. The food if its a four star hotel not up to standard. Not sure if it 3 or 4 stars. There is no variety im not a great lover in open buffet food anyway. Where germs spread quickly salad out not covered etc. The hot food was very basic just 2 options with none left by time we were there. Which is surprising as no guests were in restaurant. It was empty nearly. Small portions fish basic only one turkey option none left. At least it was covered up though.There was 2 many waiters walking around just staring at us made us uncomfortable while eating also while eating ready to grab plates. Just walking around not doing much else. Not relaxing we felt we were pressured to finish up not have more. Drinks extra also on menu. If paying as you go more expensive to.
The beach is much to far to walk to. Uphill way back. In a middle of a busy city cars outside. If your looking for beach holiday its not near it. The staff are very formal but polite. Walking distance to nearest first cafe is fat cats for english cafe. We were disappointed in a lack of atmosphere in hotel and restaurant as no one used it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank niknak346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliaG53, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your say at Luna Hotel da Oura.

We are so pleased to know that you found the apartments spacious and comfortable and the staff polite.

Your comments regarding the buffet were welcome and taken into great consideration in order to improve our services.

Remain at your full disposal and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Nélia and the Luna Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews