We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Ranked #114 of 517 Hotels in Algarve
Bournemouth,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow - I'm wondering if the people that are complaining stayed in the same place as us?!

We stayed at this HV from 23rd May to 30th May 2013 and we had an excellent time.

Accommodation: After doing a bit of research before we left I knew the hotel complex was split over 2 sites and as we were traveling with young children I emailed ahead to ask to be in block 1 - which we were. We were in room 211 and it was fantastic. Large and airy and spotless. I am amazed that people have complained about the housekeeping as our room was kept spotless with clean towels. One evening my baby was not very well and was sick in his cot - twice! Both times housekeeping were there straightaway to change his cot with smiles on their faces and words of comfort for the baby. The beds were hard but not enough to stop us getting a good nights sleep. There was the usual noise as people walked past your door but nothing major and again nothing that stopped the children or us going to sleep.

Staff: Every single member of staff we encountered were brilliant. Always helpful, fun and smiling. They work long hours but they do a brilliant job. We used both the Creche and the Kids Club and both children had a great time. My 5 year old especially loved Kids Club and really enjoyed all the different activities.

Food: Someone else made the comment that the restaurant is little more than a canteen. Well it's an all inclusive hotel so you are not going to get your individual menu and a waiter to come and take your order are you?! Yes it is a buffet but it is very very good. The selection was vast and the food was always hot and being constantly replaced. From roast meats, to pasta, to Paella, to Mussels, to cottage pie, to fish, to anything you a can think of. Yes there wer a lot of 'British' favourites available but if there hadn't been you can bet people would have been complaining about that - and there was always a huge choice. I am a foody and I love to eat at very nice places and whilst this was not Michelin quality I can't believe people are complaining about it! The choice for the children was impressive and my children ate well.

Pools - Yes they are bloody freezing , but hey be brave jump in and you'll soon warm up! Not ideal but the kids were happy to jump in and out so it really wasn't a big deal. We didn't experience any problems with sunloungers unlike other places we have stayed at. We could always get a bed in a good spot no matter what time we came down. Someone commented about the entertainment noise around the pool. This was only around the main pool and there were two other pools that were much quieter, so not sure why you wouldn't just move to a quieter area rather than complain about it?!

Really we couldn't fault this holiday and would definitely recommend it and would go back ourselves.

I think perhaps some people don't do their research properly before they book their holiday. This is a Holiday Village. Holiday Villages are primarily aimed at families with young children. Of course the restaurant is going to be noisy, of course the entertainment is primarily aimed at the kids. The idea being that if the kids are happy and having a good time then the parents get to relax - and we certainly got to do that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MrsBofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    311
    124
    60
    19
See reviews for
718
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a very children focused hotel and holiday. The children will have a great time with the water slides, endless kids club choices and activities, very energetic entertainment team, i5live and the list goes on.
This is not the holiday if the adults want peace and quiet, total sunbed relaxation or a quiet evening meal in the dining room. Hotel is clean and modern, apartments and balcony are huge, food quality and choice was very good.
Yes the pools are very cold (just brave it and get in) and the entertainment team around the main pool like to have the music playing loud (it was turned down to a more acceptable level but we had to ask politely multiple times).
All in all a good week break but this can be a noisy hotel at times with lots going on to join in with, particularly great for the kids.

Room Tip: Block 1 is better placed than block 2. The much quieter pool is at block 2. The daytime music around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mythos_magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of may, hotel really nice, jo the manager very helpful ,I did have to wipe the wardrobes before putting my clothes in !!! But housekeeping cleaned bathroom and made beds, there is something to eat for everyone and food very good, choose your time to eat it can be very loud , we ate later after most of the small children had gone. The sun beds saving does happen sadly towels on beds all day and no one to be seen wouldn't want to be here in summer you would have no chance unless you set your alarm for the sun bed race !!!! The kids clubs are great day time entertainment is great Kerry, Sam work very hard as does Charlotte , Leanne,Adam,and josh ,we didn't go to the evening entertainment one bar staff and no where to sit again fighting for a seat so we gave it a wide berth . Sadly there is a down side THERE IS NO FREE WIFI AS ADVERTISED BY FIRST CHOICE AND THE FIRST CHOICE REP THINKS THAT WIFI AND INTERNET ARE THE SAME SO CHARGES 20euroes a week . Really need to sort this as its false advertising , my second bad thing is the pools they are so cold the children really didn't get full use they had to use the indoor one which really they could do this at home ,the third thing is that the beds are so hard maybe budget beds were not a good investment , to sum our holiday up we had a fantastic time just let down by false adverts but that a first choice problem not this lovely hotel with a great manager and staff

Room Tip: Block 1 is a must as block 2 is quite far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tahiti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms are nice but the beds are made from rock. Food is nice, staff friendly and kids have a great time but none of the pools are useable due to the freezing temperature of the water. Kids were coming out blue!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shredders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Back on the 30th May, having spent a week here and I must say it was very nice. The staff were really good as was the food. Very clean hotel, lovely apartments.The entertainment team did a great job. I dont undrestand some of the negative reviews, but the brits always find something to moan about, we have been to three holiday villages, this is tops so far. I would certainly go back. For those of you reading this, dont be put off by the negatives - give it a go!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are nice, with an extra balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anton232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Such high hopes for this holiday. Cost a fair whack and was recommended by several people - we thought this would be amazing. Sadly, it fell far short of this. The "restaurant" was little more than a canteen serving British food, with the odd Portuguese "speciality" for good measure. The noise level in here was atrocious. It was so loud, I had to shout across a table for 4 people to engage in conversation. The accommodation was nice - beds could do with being changed, but nice decor etc. Housekeeping wasn't fantastic. There was half an inch of dust on the bedside tables at the end of 2 weeks. The entertainment staff did a good job, however, they seemed to think that all the music needed to be at nightclub volumes - again, not great around the main pool or indeed whilst eating lunch outside. The evening entertainment was held in The Venue. Little more than a dingy social club which smelt of drains!!

All in all, a real shame to be honest. The local towns were nice, people were very very friendly - would revisit the Algarve, but I'm afraid we will never visit a Holiday Village again!

Room Tip: Go for block 2 - down some steps, but away from the main campus and the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well where shall we start???

The day we arrived we had rain which reminded us of home so straight away Hubby wanted to go home, 2nd day was rain but we went into the indoor pool and tried to make the most of it.
3rd day the sun came out in the afternoon and the FUN began :)

The hotel - As we have been to the Costa HV this one is on alot smaller scale, but fantastic!!! Everything is within walking distance for all activities. The rooms are spacious and always clean and tidy, hotel is always clean, can't fault them at all :) The management of the hotel are lovely, friendly and very helpful on many occasion did we pop to reception, questions answered and help given :)

The Food - Great selection and some days couldn't decide what to have, all restaurant staff very friendly - and Dee always welcomes you with a smile for Breakfast, Lunch & Tea :) Also Laura was a fab Bar maid in the Tavern Bar

The Kids Reps - FAB FAB FAB, wish we could have gone to kids clubs as the family activities were crazy!!!! Charlotte and her gang (as i can't remember all your names) were great the kids (and big kid Simon) had a great holiday with all the activities- Leanne look us up when you are back in December, we'll meet in Aylesbury

The Evening Entertainment - Classic laugh a minute!!!!
SAM, I will miss my dip in the pool with you, even if it was cold ;)
Sam, Adam, Miles, Hannah & Rhian you are all so talented and dont know where you get all your energy - you're always smiling and so happy - You've all made our holiday one to remember :)

Swim & Football Academy - Our daughter could not swim before we went on holiday and now after 5 lessons with Dieter she is confident and using the technics he has been teaching them. My son can swim, but since being with Dieter for 5 lessons has got confidence and now swims with his face under water.
Our Son did Football this year as we met Steve at Costa HV last year through the academy - Again you have 2 great coaches there, Steve & Ryan - I have been asked to say the adult football has crippled my husband lol

We have had a fab holiday, meeting new families and ones from last years holiday - but most of all the REPS made this holiday one to remember xxx

Will miss you all
Dippy, Moody Boy, Connor & Amber xxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordy419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Algarve hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#53 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
20.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Algarve Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Algarve Balaia

Property: Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Address: Balaia, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 517 Hotels in Algarve
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing