We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxed tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O Tapas - CLOSED

O Tapas
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed tapas”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great relaxed little spot with good menu choice and good staff who advised us what to order...lovely tuna salad and big fat shrimps and much more besides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gourmet meal with a touch of Alentejo”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In the month of March I only ate in typical restaurants in Alentejo, and in this particular night we decided to go for a restaurant with a touch of different. We have seen the reviews here and decided to try it out. The location of the restaurant is very good, it is in the middle of Serpa in the historical part. The worst part on this is trying to get there, streets are in a very bad shape, they seem made to walk or go by horse, not on your car.
The appetizers were already served with a bottle of wine in the table, everything very classy and in a warm familiar environment, it was very nice to just delight ourselves in some very well made food while we talked and choose the main dishes.
Well the main dishes were very well cooked, they tasted great, and they were great, well maybe if you like to stuff yourself I wouldn't recommend you to eat only a plate. But you get fulfilled and with some dessert you will be great.
The only and probably great complaint about this restaurant was the time the food took to get to our tables, between our order and we all got the food ( 6 people ) it took 60 minutes. This was terrible, but everything else made up for this time, and when you have someone to talk time goes by.

The desserts are very good and those I definitely recommend

In the end if you visit Alentejo and you want something with a touch of Alentejo, but not typical food at all ( you can call it Alentejo food with a twist ) come to this restaurant and enjoy the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cold and wet outside, delightful inside”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not many restaurants open on a Monday in windy and wet Serpa but we were warmly welcomed by the young couple who run this place. It is nicely designed, with a traditional Portuguese feeling but a modern colour scheme. Lots of local dishes on the menu too, all of them explained in English. We chose the delicious mix of eggs, asparagus and local sausage to start, followed by sea bream. The fish was perfectly cooked. Lots of wines available by the glass; we chose the house wine, which was very tasty.
Oh, and Serpa is a lovely town, even in the rain. We hope to go back in sunshine and eat again at O Tapas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classy and Elegant Meal”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I ate here for the first time this year and let me tell you, this place is just fabulous! It was very well decorated and very elegant. The food was absolutely delicious! Even the way the dishes were presented was very impressive and elegant. The atmosphere is very relaxing. The service was very good here as well. Next time I am in Portugal, I will definitely stop by here for dinner again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's everything excellent!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The place is wonderfull, with great staff and very good food. The fish is fresh, the meat is very tasty and the deserts are so great..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bfpmatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Tapas also viewed

 
Serpa, Beja District
Serpa, Beja District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing