We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect hosts”
Review of Herdade da Retorta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdade da Retorta
Ranked #2 of 9 Serpa B&B and Inns
crewe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect hosts”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Sorry this review is rather belated as we stayed for 2 nights as part of a mini tour of the Alentejo region in early May. The Herdade was a gem and was only marred by the weather which was unseasonably bad for Portugual. Our hosts were delightful and even picked us up from a meal out in Serpa. Breakfast was really lovely and the fresh flowers on the table were a lovely touch. We're only sorry that the weather wasn't good enough for us to sit out and even try the pool. Lots of scope to develop more rooms (but we hope that the special character of the building remains).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakehCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were staying in the Algarve for three weeks and decided to visit the Alentejo region.We searched on line and found this hotel and as all of the reviews were positive we booked an overnight stay.The hotel and the owners, Carlos & Gabriela matched the reviews and descriptions perfectly being very welcoming and having a beautifully restored old manor house.Their attention to detail both in the renovation of the manor house and as hosts was perfect.The only downside was that our stay was too short. We would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

What an experience to stay in such a beautifully renovated 18th century mansion. The estate is beautiful with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside and it's a real haven of peace and quiet. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and even breakfast is an experience in itself.
The warm welcome of the hosts makes you feel at home at once and it's one of the best value for money experiences I have known. Memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We just had a perfect stay in Herdada da Retorta. We never had a better accommodation anywhere in the world! Gabriella and Carlos are the most wonderful hosts. Thank you, Gabriella, for the delicous breakfast and thank you, Carlos, for the taxi service to Serpa. The house was renovated with a lot of taste and love.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Gabriella and Carlos are excellent hosts and their attention to detail is amazing. Our room was very spacious and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast each morning was delicious and plentiful. When my partner explained that he is 'non-dairy' Gabriella had soya alternatives the next morning. The place itself is really lovely. Very good location for exploring the Alejento area. We also visited, on Gabriella's recommendation, Pulo de Lobo, which was well worth a visit. Unfortunately we could not stay longer than three days as there was no availability. If you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then this is the place to go. Our congratulations and best wishes to Gabriella and Carlos for a lovely, lovely holiday. Cathy and Frank, Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we were treated as friends, not guests. On arrival our hosts, Gabrietta & Carlos, showed us around their home and gave tips on restaurants ( the Pedra de Sal in Serpa is a must) and excursions. The house is lovely and spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with fruit, fruit juice, cheese, meats, cake, bread, honey, yoghurt etc. etc.!.....and different each day. A truly wonderful holiday experience and we shall always rember the warmth of the hospitality from our hosts. Carlos even insisted that he drove us into town each evening and collected us after dinner!

We strongly recommend Herdade da Retorta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAVEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Carlos and Gabriella were the perfect hosts. They have put a lot of work into restoring their fabulous house and are really happy for people to use it. The breakfasts were amazing and the rooms were so clean and comfprtable. We tried to stay on a previous trip but they were full so glad we got to stay this time. The resaurant Pedra de Sal in Serpa is really good, great food and run by a really friendly family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bartraghisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serpa
0.0 mi away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
0.0 mi away
Cantar do Grilo
Cantar do Grilo
#1 of 9 in Serpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melrinitas - Turismo Rural
0.0 mi away
Casa Da Muralha
Casa Da Muralha
#8 of 9 in Serpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Serpa
Casa De Serpa
#6 of 9 in Serpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Retorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Retorta

Property: Herdade da Retorta
Address: Herdade da Retorta Estrada Nacional 265, Serpa 7830-305, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Serpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Serpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herdade da Retorta is a farm with a beautiful manor-house restored to rural tourism with welfare, refinement and comfort. It is in this ambiance we invite you to visit this region prodigious for its patrimonial and natural beauty and to take part in the different leisure activities Herdade da Retorta has to offer. You can also be delighted tasting the fabulous traditional food or just enjoying the stillness and serenity of the plain Alentejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Herdade da Retorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing