We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, beautiful land, peaceful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portalegre, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KristinBe...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa, beautiful land, peaceful location!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Quinta da Vila Maria is superb. The rooms are spacious and bright, the location is excellent, and it is peaceful and relaxing. Jane and Ed welcomed us warmly and are very knowledgable about the area. We did several hikes, visited Marvao, a local castle, and had an excellent lunch at a nearby restaurant. There is so much to do here, and it is off the beaten path from overly touristed areas such as the Algarve. If you have the chance to stay here, do not hesitate!!! Book right away!! You will NOT be disappointed!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free wifi!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on the Trip Advisor website and for your very kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Quinta da Vila Maria. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon! Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LoveTrave...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful opportunity to explore Alentejo”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Jane and Ed work hard to create this delightful and restful B&B. They gave us so much help and advice and we loved our room and all we needed for a delicious self-catered breakfast. The Alentejo area has so much to offer - history, vineyards and wine tastinf, long, rambling walks in glorious countryside... We would love to return and hope very much to do so. Thank you Jane and Ed!

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidwazz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great apartment in an interesting part of Portugal”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our apartment was lovely with fabulous high ceilings and beautiful original floor tiles. This is a great spot for mountain biking, walking and for exploring the Northern Alentejo region. There are lots of amazing castles around too.

Ed and Jane were very welcoming and happy to assist and recommend some fantastic restaurants and places to visit.

We really appreciated the small details such as a welcome pack including lots of lovely stuff for breakfast.

It would have been great to have a pool, however there was a very impressive public pool within walking distance.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent44...
Nantes, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing