We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
45
17
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
17
5
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 69 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon sick of driving, hungry, and needing a drink! We found the place tucked away on a country lane on the way to Marvao. We asked for something to eat and Louisa asked what we wanted in our salad! It was made to our liking with fresh fruits and vegetables. Breakfast of local products was good and it wad fun to squeeze our own orange juice! The bed was very firm.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waimeawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I can't express just how wonderful a place the Convento da Provenca is. It's clean and comfortable, the hosts very welcoming, friendly and helpful, breakfast is good and it's well worth getting Fatima to cook an evening meal for you. The whole place has a tranquil feeling, totally relaxing and the views are beauitful ... the only noise comes from the tinkling of goat bells.
The nearest town for eating out is Portalegre which is a few minutes drive or if you're feeling braver Marvao isnt too far but the drive back in the dark isn't for the faint hearted as some of the road is steep and windy!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwaysbetterinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Despite the rather un-presupposing entrance (next door to a large trucking depot) the hotel is surrounded by a large olive tree plantation and one would never know that you were so close to civilization!
The peace & transquility of the hotel and it surroundings (no yapping dogs - no squawking kids - no revving motorbikes which blight our urban life in Estoril) was a blessed relief.
The staff were kind, attentive, friendly yet unobtrusive.
The decor in the hotel itself is quite amazing...rather like a section of a museum, but tastefully done!
The supper was simple fair but well cooked and presented and served with aplomb.
The hotel's "galega" olives are worthy of special mention. Absolutely delicious!
Breakfast was plentiful a topped by the freshest orange juice possible (we squeezed it ourselves!).
This part of Portugal (Serra de São Mamede) is truly beautiful and worthy of a more thorough exploration than one weekend permitted.
All in all............a most enjoyable weekend and a place to be visited again and to be highly recommended.
Perhaps NOT a hotel to take young children!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EstorilEckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews