We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place”
Review of Quinta do Marvao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta do Marvao
Ranked #6 of 9 Marvao B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2011

To be honest, Marvao was not initially on our list of must see places in Portugal. We had a lot of other places we wanted to see, and we added one night at Quinta do Marvao at the last minute, which we found to be reasonably priced. Finding the place is one of those great travel stories, as we had forgotten to print out the email that had the directions, but we found our way through a little tiny town, winding through remote roads with sheep crossing them at dusk, and entered into the most magical part of our two week trip. This whole area is a beautiful, in some ways reminiscent of Santa Fe NM, but with medieval castles perched on hilltops. The Alentejo is a relatively unspoiled part of Portugal, and Marvao and nearby Castelo de Vide are unspoiled parts of the Alentejo. As for Quinta do Marvao...... We loved everything about our stay, and the only regret is not staying longer. Our room in the old school teachers digs, very tastefully converted, was great, but after checking out the new strawbale guesthouse I'm thinking that would be my first choice next time we visit. The place is perfect for people who like to be in a natural setting, with engaging hosts who know a lot about the area and are enthusiastic and genuinely interesting.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank talaria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Quinta do Marvao
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

I can not say enough good things about this place! It is a B&B with two rooms - a queen room and a studio apartment. Both have a balcony area with table and chairs that would be a perfect place to sit with a book and a glass of wine after a long day and enjoy the beautiful view (sad that we did not get to do more of this). The beds were very comfortable and it is very quiet. The studio has plenty of room and a kitchenette (fridge and sink - I did not see anywhere to cook, but I might have missed it).

The studio is in a basement and with lower ceilings and fewer windows, it feels a bit like a cave. But very cozy and comfortable for most people (I'm tall, and it was fine for me).

The showers have good hot water and good water pressure. The hosts (George and Irene) are both very friendly and happy to help with restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was very good, but simple - fresh bread, yogourt, fresh meat and cheese, and fresh squeezed juice (and coffee).

I highly recommed this place as a base if you want to stay in the area and explore the hill towns, or to go wine tasting. It is off the beaten path, but worth staying if you can find it.

Also, they are building a separate house that will have two more rooms. It should be open next year - he is just finishing the walls and flooring now. That house will have a large deck to see the views - go check it out!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Charming room with a comfortable double bed.
Quiet atmosphere which will make you relax completely.
Breakfast was simple but very interesting with the owners George and Irene.
Free parking and wifi. No TV but who cares in such a lovely area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorfds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My family and I stayed at this location just a few days ago. Not only did we enjoyed
exploring the area, we also cherished the hospitality extended by George and Irene, the owners. They were most accommodating and we learned about the many sustainable
projects in which they are involved including building a new location for guest using
straw bale technology. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professorcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jose_d_pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Já ficamos na Eco-villa ( um paraíso!) e desta vez ficamos na Suite Deluxe : quase 80 m2, com uma va...
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Paulo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marvao
1.2 mi away
Dom Dinis
Dom Dinis
#1 of 4 in Marvao
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada Marvao
Pousada Marvao
#3 of 4 in Marvao
299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Rei Dom Manuel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Candeias do Souto
Candeias do Souto
#3 of 13 in Braganca
13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sever Rio Hotel
Sever Rio Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marvao
85 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta da Nave do Lobo
Quinta da Nave do Lobo
#5 of 9 in Marvao
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Marvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Marvao

Address: Vale De Rodao, Marvao 7330-151, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Marvao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marvao
Price Range: $88 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique location situated in a valley with an exceptional panoramic view, the Quinta do Marvao is located in the natural park and ecological reserve, 3km from the medieval town of Marvao, candidate to World Heritage and to the 7 Wonders of the World. Wake up with the sounds of the sheep going through the Roman road, take a delicious breakfast in the romantic atmosphere of the arcades of granite or in the quiet atmosphere of the porch and prepare for moments of pure relaxing or adventure with the scenic walking, birdwatching or exploring the castle. Taste the excellent food and fine wines of the region. Meals on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta do Marvao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing