We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14c house with 20c amenities”
Review of Casa De Sao Tiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa De Sao Tiago
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Or was it 13c? I need to write these things down. This townhouse has been in the owner's (Francisco) family for 200 years (i think, i really need to write things down). The house feels like you've traveled back in time when you enter it. The house is littered with centuries old antiques. On the flip side the rooms are all modern with fancy marble sinks. Why this is not the number one most visited pension in Evora is a mystery.
The rooms were spacious including the bath rooms. The pension is on a quiet square with the rooms on an even quieter side street. The only noise we heard were other guests playing cards in the courtyard and they weren't loud enough to keep us up (i'm a very light sleeper). I was most impressed with the marble sink and other marble in the bathroom. I also enjoyed the overhead lighting recessed in an archway that spanned the room. The breakfast is continental and served in an attractive, cozy room in the back.

The host (Francisco, don't you hate it when reviewers show off by dropping the hosts name?) was delightful and informative. He was quite friendly and told us the history of the house and his families ownership of it. The location is right in the center of the old town with the sites surrounding us a few blocks in each direction. This was by far our favorite stay of our 8 day Portugal trip.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

This intimate and exquisite hotel is a delight for any romantic soul who has dreamed of time travel, of spending the night in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's 18th century exhibit. Directly adjacent to the base of the old Roman aqueduct and a few cobblestoned blocks away from the Temple of Diana, this entrancing hotel is 503 years old....and time has been kind in the very best ways - enormous mahogony mirrors, rosewood tables, little alabaster statues, and faded 19th century lithographs of the babies that once occupied the estate.

it's something very special right from the moment that Paolo the caretaker (an enchanting fellow who seems to embody the mystery and love that imbues this place) opens the enormous green doors into the cavernous interior corridor to reveal a suit of armour with spooky blue eyed mannequin, a peeling imperial pallaquin from long gone centuries...nooks of brightly colored tile set into deep windows, sweeping dusty staircases, and a corridor of rooms that each have a different feel -- guests are more like time travellers, and each room defines the experience, from fairly cramped and somber chambers (the twin room on the main corridor), to high romance (the honeymoon suite), to jaw-dropping architectural drama (the main entrance suite). This is not a modern hotel and there are no amenities that the pousada crew might expect - it's a dusty, dark, and almost ghostly old aristocratic residence, and the achingly lovely, idiosyncratic rooms do not seem to have experienced the past few centuries.

We stayed in the suite, which had a tattered but graceful parlor, several hundred year old magnificent hand-painted rose ceilings, arching above nearly 20 feet high, with a gorgeous hand-carved mahogany bed, and alabaster statuary on the bureau. In the morning, swallows flew through the alleys and past the windows.

This was not just magic-- it was a dream. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, and out of 12 hotels in portugal, this was one of our very favorites. It will not be a hit with those wanting modern conveniences or those without an appreciation of history, mystery, and the moodiness of sleeping under a peeling fresco. For the rest of us, it's a once in a lifetime treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Shiryah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESUS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubois38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimiliano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Morten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.3 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 27 in Evora
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
2.9 mi away
Monte da Serralheira
Monte da Serralheira
#17 of 27 in Evora
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
0.6 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#19 of 27 in Evora
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Sao Tiago

Address: Largo Alexandre Herculano 2, Evora 7000-501, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Sao Tiago 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa De Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing