We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in center of activity”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Evora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencial Os Manueis
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in center of activity”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is in a great spot for walking to the center of all the attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful. However, if you have trouble with stairs, its a steep climb from the street to the hotel with no elevator. Parking is down the street outside the city walls but was a quick walk back. Light sleepers should stay on the backside if possible. Overall, great hotel that we would certainly stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRSHMN_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We followed Rick Steves' suggestions for a 2 wk visit to Portugal and were satisfied with his selections, including os manueis. The problem with this hotel is the street - it's very close to Giraldo Square and bars and the street noise stopped around 2 a.m and picked up again around 5 a.m. Other than the street noise, we found the hotel adequate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemmerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We picked Residencial Os Manueis because it had good reviews, and it looked convenient since we had a car and would not have to drive very far into the walled area of Evora. The hotel was lovely, but there were a couple of issues. Evora had changed its rules/laws, and the hotel no longer had the use of free parking spaces. We were lucky both nights to find free spaces on the street close to the hotel. I believe the parking lots outside the wall charge a fee now. Residencial Os Manueis was fine for us, but the entrance to the hotel could be a problem for some because of the steep, marble staircase from the street up to the lobby, and there isn’t an elevator. The two guys that run the place (and maybe own it) were both extremely nice and helpful. One carried both our suitcases up those stairs into the lobby and helped us find a parking spot. The other gave us great info about restaurants and places in the area to visit. Our room must have been the nicest one in the place. It was large and beautifully tiled with lovely antique furniture, two doors onto a “balcony,” and a large bathroom. There were two problems with the room. It was on the front of the building, and the noise from the street (people and cars) kept us awake. Turning on the air conditioner helped. The other problem was the bed. It was so hard we felt like we were sleeping on the floor. We ended up putting a fluffy, duvet-type coverlet under the sheet, which did help. We never complained because, besides that fact that we usually don’t, everything else was so nice, especially the two guys. Our breakfast was included in the rate, but evidently it isn’t always. We were given a voucher for a nice little coffee shop around the corner, which meant we got coffee and a “sandwich.” We enjoyed Evora and Residencial Os Manueis and would recommend it with the precautions about the noise, steps, and hard bed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The hotel it self was lovely...the hosts were extremely friendly and full of great recommendations but there were some problems that we ran into...
Unfortunately, our room (though very spacious and comfortable) was located directly on the cobblestoned road and you could hear everything outside all night - cars that drove by...people talking...party-goers way down the road...it was very difficult to sleep. There was not any shampoo in the room (only soap) and no additional amenities - hairdryer, etc. All fine with us, but something to be aware of.
In addition, make sure to confirm that breakfast is included in your stay as we were looking forward to the vouchers that I read about on tripadvisor and did not receive them...
................................................
Overall, the location was great, the hosts were very friendly and if you request to sleep in a different room the experience could be quite different.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daniyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed in the suite for 75 euro, and thought this was a great value. The interior is bright, cheerfully decorated, and spotlessly clean. Very kind and helpful hosts. Well located, right off the square. Make sure to print off the picture of the exterior to help find location. The lobby is one floor up, so no large doorway or sign. Parking spaces reserved right outside the door can be saved for you with reservation.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2008

This is a wonderful family-owned hotel right off the center square of the old part of the city. It's been in the family since the 1950's, but has been redecorated in the last few years. The rooms are quaint and comfortable, and breakfast is included around the corner. The hosts are helpful, accomodating, and, if you can speak a little horse-cavalo-caballo, they can talk with you for hours!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJMOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We spent one night for 45 EUR/room in Residential Os Manueis in October. We booked by phone as internet fees were 60 EUR/night for the same room, so better to reserve by phone. Of course as it was low season and weekday we would not have to book in advance as only one other room was booked when we arrived but we wanted to make things sure. Still we were welcomed warmly, our host spoke with the policemen not to fine us while we bring our package up and then provided a parking place in the street reserved for hotel guests. Room was lovely with nice view to the rear street, no traffic at all. The decoration of both the hotel and the room is splendid, with lots of natural light coming in from the roof atrium window. Breakfast was also very good as it is in one of the small bars next to the hotel and you can have anything you want. Also the restaurant next to the hotel (Os Manueis) was very good.At the end we made a few pictures from the view terrace on the roof. To sum up I think is the best choice to stay in in Evora.
Miklos (Hungary)

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foldimiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
0.3 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 25 in Evora
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Sao Tiago
Casa De Sao Tiago
#20 of 25 in Evora
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensao Residencial Policarpo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Os Manueis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Os Manueis

Property: Residencial Os Manueis
Address: Rua do Raimundo no 35, Evora 7000-661, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Os Manueis 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Residencial Os Manueis Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing