We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful transformation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you have a monastery or convent and plan to transform it into a hotel then visit this hotel for tips as they have done a beautiful job (I'm looking at you Hotel El Convento in Puerto Rico). It's not often you find a chapel in a hotel so I imagine organising a wedding at the venue would be painless but for the rest of us there are beautiful grounds to enjoy, nice rooms and a good breakfast spread. The rooms are arranged around a garden, which you can enjoy from your balcony or assuming you find the way in it's a nice retreat.

Room Tip: If your mobility is limited then perhaps a room near reception is better as it's quite a sprawli...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MarkP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our property which we are indeed so proud of, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Convento in November 2013 and it was a magical stay. The Convento is hundreds of years old and beautifully restored. I recommend the free tour of the Convento and grounds, which is informative and gives you a sense of the history of the building. The room was spacious and well-appointed and the staff went out of their way to welcome us. They brought sweet treats to our room upon arrival that we enjoyed on our private balcony, and the hotel offers a fun little wine tasting each night. Although the ambiance in the restaurant was amazing, I think the ratio of price to quality of food offered in the city of Evora was better than the Convento's restaurant. Overall, I'd highly recommend this Starwood property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoyaRowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read your kind words which I took the liberty to share with our team. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is an antique monastery, very well restored and maintained. Our room had a great view over the gardens, very comfortable but a bit noisy and not very spacious. The place is very relaxing and the service is excellent. The spa is not that good, quite small and the steambath was not working at all. Evora is a beautiful piece of history that really worths a visit, as well as the surrounding area, full of charming villages and wonderful gastronomy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripeirinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and also, for having taken the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It makes us very happy to see that in general, the hotel and service provided by our young team was to your satisfaction, however, we are sorry for the problems encountered with the functioning of some of our spa facilities.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed there for one night and I am still amazed by this Hotel. The property is huge, an antique monastery very well maintained in all the details. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and cozy. Excellent sleep quality. The bathroom is big and the shower... What a shower!
Even if you are not staying in the hotel, you should visit it. The Chapel is beautiful and the gardens are full of olive and lime trees.
It is not located in the centre of the beautiful Evora but it is a 10 minute drive by car.
Definitely recommend! Very good price for what you get!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa.
It was a pleasure to read your kind words words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our proporty in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

With a limited stay in Lisbon, we picked Evora for an overnight trip since it had the closest Starwood (not a good reason at all, but it was a highlight of our trip).

We rented a car and drove the hour and a half from Lisbon. It's an easy drive. The hotel is really about a 10 minute drive from the historic center of Evora, but feels like it's miles away in the middle of nowhere.

It's an amazing hotel that's so different from all the others. We had a suite in the old cloister area of the hotel and the owners who restored the convent, yet modernized the rooms/amenities did an amazing job of honoring the history of the building. The building has quite the chapel attached to it.

Service was excellent, food was very good, and it was nice and quiet.

You will need a car to visit the town as it's not really within walking distance. Taxis there are very affordable, so that's another option.

I had no idea what a great tranquil spot Expinheiro would be. If I had the time, I would stay 2 to 3 nights with short day trips into town. It's truly a restful resort, and I wish I stuck around long enough to enjoy the hotel more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amcgrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It makes us very happy to see that, although short, you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After seeing every other country in Western Europe over the last decade, I finally made it to Portugal. This hotel is a great find, even after you feel like you've seen everything. If you're sick of big cookie-cutter resorts, boring Hiltons, and faux-history, this is your place. A few bits of advice:

1) GPS will not lead you to the right place. We had two GPS's - one had no idea, and Garmin said to turn onto a dirt road--don't. After turning off the N18, just keep going on the paved road and you'll find the hotel on the right past the school and cemetery. Google Maps has it right - take a printout with you, as mobile service is weak. You probably do need your own wheels to really enjoy the region and the hotel.

2) Get a room in the historic wing. It's worth the money. Don't go to a circa-1485 monastery and stay in a modern room.

3) The hotel runs a number of promotions that include champagne on arrival, breakfast via room service, etc. These are actually well-priced, especially considering that there aren't many breakfast options nearby, unless you plan to go into the city.

4) The service was quite extraordinary. I highly recommend expressing interest in the half-hour tour of the monastery, which they will organize at no charge. The central rooms all have stories to tell, and it's worth hearing them. I won't spoil it here.

5) The restaurant is very good but more expensive than you might expect. I think ours ran about $100. The wine shop is also on the expensive side. For a multi-night stay, you may want to plan on a dinner in town and get a bottle to bring back.

6) The service is excellent. We arrived on a rainy night about 22:30. The front desk clerk told us to leave the car and bags in the set-down area, helped us arrange a room service dinner, and got us settled. The car was ready in the car-park the next morning.

The broader Alentejo region is not high enough on the tourist radar. Our friends have been to the Algarve, Sintra, the Douro Valley, etc., but if you like history, food, and wine, Alentejo is a solid choice.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic wing - it costs extra but is worth it for the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colonel_Montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and also for taking the time to share your detailed feedback through Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our country and especially the Alentejo region which we hope to "place on the map" as an ideal option for those who seek, as you so rightly say, history, food and wine and we firmly believe that "our" unique convent, which we are so proud of, can offer this to our guests.
I am very happy to learn that in general the hotel and services provided by our young team were up to your just expecta<tions and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Not kidding - this beautiful hotel in the lovely Alentejo countryside of Portugal is so beautiful and so unusual that staying there is a reason to travel thousands of miles to experience. The sleeping rooms are attractive and comfortable (with private terraces and separate bath and shower), the historic chapel within the confines is lovely, the wine tasting room is remarkable, the pools (inside and out) are attractive and the staff could not be more accommodating. Evora itself is fascinating with history that dates 2,000 years before Stonehenge. Looking for a reason for a European trip? Here it is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VCF_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and fpor taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to read your kind words and to learn that you enjoyed this beautiful region as well as the unique city of Évora. We are indeed very proud of our destination, and of "our" special Convent which has played such an important part of the history of this country.
We also appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
994 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $151 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing