We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Relaxation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times now. It is the perfect place to relax and yet the city of Evora is a 5 minute drive away and there are lots of other interesting places to visit. The hotel is in parts very old and also very modern. We have always found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food is amazing although if you go a la carte it is a little expensive. We were given a modern suite with a large bathroom, seating area and separate dressing area. It also had a spacious balcony. They do tours of the old parts of the hotel including the wonderful church. Also wine tastings every night in the wine cellar. The spa area is great. We may have been 3 times but plan to go again soon!

Room Tip: If you like to sit and watch the sunset ask for a room overlooking the pool. Otherwise ask for a mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou392013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It is a great pleasure to read that this was not your first stay with us and that you intend to visit us again. Thank you also for your kind words which we have shared with our team as we believe that there is no better motivation than thr satisfaction of our guests.
We look foward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    167
    31
    18
    4
See reviews for
214
494
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
230 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The building itself is very historic and impressive, with peaceful lounge areas, a large cellar, and a very different dining room. We found the staff at the hotel to be helpful and efficient. However, we could not rate this hotel as 5 star, as our room was not to that standard - the floor was showing signs of a lot of wear, the TV was an old small flat screen, there was no clock, bathrobes were a bit worn out looking. The bed, while comfortable, had a type of waterproof layer under the sheet which made it too warm. To counter this, we put on the aircon, & this was ok but a little noisy. None of these things were too bad, but together added up to lessen the experience.
On the plus side, a beautiful view from the room of the gardens, nice and quiet at night. We ate at the restaurant which was good if a little pricey for the offerings. Breakfast was a quality buffet. We enjoyed the pool (indoor & outdoor) steam room and sauna as well. A complimentary, although brief, wine tasting was a nice touch. In all, a good place to stay but not at the standard of 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Deare Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
We are sorry however about the points you mentioned which were not up to your expectations. Regarding the TVs, we have ordered new sets this past month and although not all of them have arrived, we hope to have them all replaced by the end of the year. Some areas of the building are in fact in need of maintenace, as is the case of some of the wooden floors as you rightly mention and at the moment, we can confirm that during the low season, we shall have a team working on these areas (painting, wood works etc).
On the other hand, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to again to Convento do Espinheiro in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

A picturesque place but a completely incompetent service. You need to be a very patient character to enjoy this place. A four star rating would match, but five is not in reach... Lots of potential for a proper management...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pstaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
Although you enjoyed the hotel, we are sad to see that unfortunately the service was not up to your expectations. If you may wish to share any further details about your stay, in order that we may improve our performance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly: dinis.pires@conventodoespinheiro.com and I will be delighted to be of assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely hotel. Great facilities. lovely swimming pools. The only thing that let it down was the attitude of some of the staff who gave the impression of being more important than the customers. It is beautiful, just 3K from Evora centre. Everything is expensive but the food was very very good and the choice of wine by the wine waiter excellent. Patrick on reception was excellent as was the bar tender who after only one visit remembered our preferences, but generally waiting staff and other reception staff either tried too hard ie, taking plates almost before we had finished eating, and were annoying, or were more interested in looking the part than doing the job. The room was lovely, although we appeared to be in the only room without a balcony. In my opinion the hotel although lovely was too pretentious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It makes us very happy to see that in general you enjoyed your stay at our property, despite the fact that the service by some of our staff members was not up to your just expectations.
We hope however that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back and that your next stay in Évora may be perfect in every way.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very clean room and comfortable beds. Updated bathrooms. Rooms with balcony with the pool view have wonderful sunset opportunity.
Excellent service
Next time in the area, I will stay there more than one night to enjoy the place and see the 1100 year old olive tree in the hotel's property
The food is exceptionally good prepared by a well-known and award winning chef

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank yo so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to try our traditional cuisine and we sincerely hope that we may welcome you back soon to see our 1100 year-ol olive tree and enjoy all that our property has to offer.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a beautiful, unique hotel in a nice, quiet location just outside Evora.

Our room and the hotel service were both excellent and a bargain at only 125Eu per night, including breakfast, through booking.com. We stayed four nights and ate in the Divinus Restaurant twice. On both occasions the food was very good (we tried both the tasting menus) but it is not cheap. Indeed dinner for two with wine was, on both occasions, more expensive that our room rate.

Sadly the staff at the pool bar, which we visited twice, once for lunch and then just for a drink, did not attain the high standards achieved in the hotel. The service was slow and the staff surly. I raised this with reception on departure and they apologised but said they had a problem with having to use staff who had not yet been properly trained.

Drinks are expensive but that's to be expected in a five star hotel, however, the price of bottled water at 5.50Eu in both the restaurant and the pool bar was something I find particularly irritating. I think this is excessive, so the second time we dined in the restaurant we asked for a jug of iced tap water, but a 5.50Eu charge for water still appeared on our bill but was swiftly removed when we complained.

All in all this is a great hotel and I hope they will make it even better by addressing these issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mossyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to see that in general, the hotel and services provided were up to your expectations, although we apologize for the fact that the pool bar service was not up to standard. I am afraid however that the information given to you by our Reception team was not totally correct regarding the training of the pool bar staff. All members of the food & beverage team attended the same training program, although your opinion about the service has helped us to see that some members are in fact in need of additional training, thus we thank you for your valuable feedback.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Convento do Espinheiro and we hope that you may visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Chose this over other places, based on the reviews, and we were not disappointed. Beautifully done conversion of a convent into a luxury hotel, although it takes some exploration to learn all the myriad areas (bar, business center, etc.). We stayed in the newer wing with views of the countryside (second level), and away from the pool. Nice little balcony, although it was too hot out to use. Rooms first class, with first class toiletries, shower (and bath) and climate control.
Staff was eager to please, offering check-in chilled local liqueur (peppermint), which was a treat (can be bought at the local supermarket, down the road on the way to Evora).
Only quibble- well meaning staff was not well versed in information about other nearby towns or have good literature to help with that (minimal wine country brochures, etc.), but they tried their best. Other areas in which they could and did help (reservations, etc.) was top notch. There is a good breakfast- they don't tell you that you can get an omelet made, you just have to ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edjan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
We are sorry that the information provided by our team regarding nearby towns/places to visit was not totally up to your expectations and I thank you for your kind feedback regarding this matter as I believe that this is definitely a very important point which we shall do our best to improve.
On the other hand, it is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed "our" convent and the other services provided by our young team, and we hope that we may welcome you back to Évora in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.8 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.6 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Property: Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing