We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Hotel is Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel is Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although the Convento do Espinheiro is located in Evora - which is not on the usual tourist agenda - it is definitely worth a visit. The original part of this hotel (the chapel) was built in 1458 and has now been fully restored. It is beautiful and hosts many weddings. The restaurant in the hotel occupies the former wine cellar and is 5-star! And the staff is young, energetic and extremely helpful.

In addition, the newer areas of the hotel are modern and full of the latest comforts (including a self-cleaning and heated toilet seat). And the pool area is lovely.

Be sure to take the hotel tour - which is offered every afternoon - to learn about the interesting history of the Convento do Espinheiro. Then spend some time in Evora. It's a lovely little town with lots of interesting history and some superb restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed "our" Convento and its magnificent history which we are so proud of and also the service provided by our young team.
We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the fuutre.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    167
    31
    18
    4
See reviews for
216
496
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hotel and staff. The Don Joao 2 suite is spectacular. The restaurant is great- try the lobster risotto with sea bass. My only complaint is that it is a tad far from Evora, 2 kilometres. Bestrides that it was a great stay and I am looking for dates to return!

Room Tip: Dn Joao 2 suite. The rooms in the monastery are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flight380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Colletion Hotel & Spa for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our property as well as the service priovided by our young staff, and we sincerely hope that we may welcome you back soon to Évora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is a jewel. If you are traveling to Portugal I would definitely use this a a wonderful base to get the true feeling of the Alentejo and the Portuges people. You will only be an hour from Lisbon. You can explore the entire Alentejo region with its beautiful vineyards, castles and quaint historic villages and cities. You can be at the coast south of Lisbon in under an hour from here.

The hotel ( a former convent/monastery) has been lovingly restored to its former beauty by artisans and craftsmenwho rebuilt and restored the art and architecture of these buildings. The church is breathtaking. This is a very peaceful setting. The grounds blend seamlessly into the countryside with its beautiful fields. We stayed in the historic "old" section in a lovely suite where Spanish nobility once stayed. You cannot help but we swept up in the history of this location.

The staff was very knowledgeable about the history ad lore of the area. They were extremely attentive and helpful. Take the guided tour of the property and hear about the history. Taste the wine of the region in the wine cellar which is a converted cistern. Offered everyday for free, it is a must to.

The City of Evora is a wonderful place to explore with layers of history up and down its winding cobbled streets.

We stayed here for 6 nights and drove all around this beautiful area. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was the highlight of our trip to Portugal.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the old building it has so much character
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ha_buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
Proud as we are of "our" convent, immersed in history and in this beautiful region of our country, it was a pleasure to read your kind feedback and to know that you were able to enjoy some of the not only the hotel, but also the city of Évora and this unique region.
Thank you again for your preference and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved the hotel, the global mood and the fantastic pool. The church, the wine bar, the cloister and the gothic restaurant are fantastic. We loved the general feeling of being part of history. It is na oásis in the middle of Alentejo the hotest portuguese region.

Room Tip: Choose the junior suites or stay on the original rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroPimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado hóspede,
Muito obrigado pela sua preferência pelo Convento do Espinheiro e pelo tempo que disponibilizou para partilhar a sua opinião através do Trip Advisor.
É para nós um orgulho receber os nossos hóspedes neste espaço único e em tempos tão importante para o nosso país e ficamos muito satisfeitos por saber que sentiu a magia da história do Convento do Espinheiro.
Obrigado mais uma vez pelo seu feedback e esperamos ter a oportunidade der o voltar a receber no Convento do Espinheiro num futuro próximo.
Com os melhores cumprimentos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We used Star points to book a night at this resort and our only regret was not having more time to enjoy all the amenities. First, the location is superb. It is on a hill overlooking Evora and a short five minute drive from the historic city. Secondly, the service is incredibly attentive. We have traveled extensively for business and pleasure and the staff here is superb! Third, the history with the convent/monastery was so interesting including a 15th century chapel within the hotel where weddings and private events are often held. It is spectacular and open to all guests to enjoy. Fourth, the rooms are amazingly spacious and well appointed. Fifth, the food (and wine) is wonderful! Lastly, the beauty of this hotel/resort/convent is amazing, especially after dark with the outdoor lighting. The pool and spa are top notch, too. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNR810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro a Luxury Collection hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also the service provided by our young team. This is undoubtedly a unique property which we are very proud of and we sincerely hope that you may have the chance to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for your kind feedback.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a long history to present. It's definitely a great place to stay and at the same time a great place to learn about the history.

The hotel locates approx. 5-6 KM from the city center, approx 6-10 minutes drive. Taxi price is about 8-10 Euro.

There are two parts of the hotel, one is the old building part, where all rooms are decorated in a traditional style with a nice painting and the other part is a new building part with a modern design. So you will have choices to choose from.

The hotel offers everyday at 5 pm, a tour of the hotel, to explain and give the guests some information and history about the place, which is very interesting.

There are two pools in the hotel, one is the indoor pool and the other one is the outdoor pool, locates nicely in the garden.

I like the atmosphere and interior in the hotel, as they still keep a lot of decoration and things from the old time and have incorporated them into the hotel overall interior design. It looks very nice and charming.

The only thing that the hotel should improve here, would be the breakfast choices. As the luxury collection standard, I would expect to see more variety on the breakfast choices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarissMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the history of this magnificent convent which we are so proud of.

Your opinion regarding the breakfast selection is very important to us and we have taken the liberty to share with our Chef for future improvements in this area.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, it has a spa, a beautiful pool (indoor and outdoor), an excellent restaurant and imaginatively designed rooms, but it misses out from an excellent rating due to a few small issues.

The service is enthusiastic but slightly amateurish, which for a Starwood Hotel I would not have expected. The staff were all very young and supervised by one or two experienced staff. They were all welcoming, spoke foreign languages perfectly, were knowledgeable about the local area and enthusiastic, but they had not got the experience to anticipate the needs of guests like someone of more enthusiasm would and were slightly nervous all the time, which spoiled our relaxation a little (although not much, as I say they were lovely).

The hotel itself is very large compared to the sort I generally stay in, and whilst I was worried that would mean guests were crowded together the opposite was true and it would have been nice to have a little more life in the bar and common areas (except the pool where it was great to have the pool to yourself and a couple of other guests).

Evora itself is a beautiful town and very well located for other attractions nearby. We spent our holiday relaxing and so got up fairly late before we went out in the midday heat to sight see and therefore could only manage a few hrs before returning to the pool to cool off. If you are more serious about seeing the local historical and cultural attractions it is worth getting up earlier as most are closed between 1 and 3pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

Although we are happy to learn that in general you enjoyed the hotel and our beautiful region, we are sorry that your stay was not totally up to your expectations, mainly due to the service provided by our team. This is in fact a challenging time of year for us, when we receive several hotel school trainees for their internship, and your valuable feedback only confirms that we must be more focused and consistent with "on-the-job" training and supervision of these young members.

Despite the points mentioned, we hope that we may one day have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Convento do Espinheiro.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.8 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.5 mi away
Evora Hotel
Evora Hotel
#11 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Property: Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing