We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$332
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Solar de Monfalim(Evora)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$119
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveler rating
865
202
45
25
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
202
45
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarluxury collectionnew wingdesign roomspg platinumbeautiful chapelluxury hotelindoor pooltasting menuguided tourtour of the propertyrestored conventold sectionmain restaurantsteam roomunique experienceolive oil
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here the second time in two years. We received a room which was ok, but not as great as the last time in the newer and upper class wing. Anyway, the gardens have developed, andmthingsnvery pretty now. Aside the historical setting and the great rustic location the property is still in good shape.
However the room we had needed a refurbish, the wood is beginning to splinter and needs a touch up. No kettle in the room and the very very high prices for room service (even at the Sheraton Lisboa or the Alfonso in Seville we paid less for latger portions) makes us score the hotel a little lower than last time.
Shower pressure was great, just like the iron they provided. BF also good, but no more gluten free bread whichnused to be there last time. Service staff speaks English well, some although do not at all - this was surprising and does not deserve 5 stars.
I would come again if the price is right, not at the rack rate, as there are some hotels catching up in the region.
I hope the hotel manages to improve on the flaws pointed out here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VfB 1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry that your experience this time was not as positive as your first visit, but we thank you for your comments which are very important to us and will help us improve our performance in the areas which you have mentioned. The maintenance of this magnificent 15th century convent is undoubtedly one of our greatest challenges, but I am happy to confirm that we have currently a small team in house doing various types of maintenance, such as painting and wood work. Regarding gluten-free bread, we ares sorry that we did not have it during your stay and I have alerted the food & beverage team to have a tighter control of the stock.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Convento do Espinheiro in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This small hotel is a beautifully restored monastery that was unoccupied for 200 yrs.but the restoration was so well done that you'd think it was newly built. The rooms are quite spacious and well appointed and the staff is friendly and responsive to requests. The dining room is very picturesque and the food delicious, but the breakfast buffet is adequate and not as good as I would have expected. There is a beautiful chapel in the hotel where the king of Portugal worshiped when he stayed at the monastery and a free 45 min. tour of the hotel and grounds was offered as well as wine tasting by a very knowledgeable sommelier. There are indoor and outdoor pools and a very nice little spa although the outdoor pool was closed because of the season when we stayed there. The hotel is a little far from the historic center of Evora and a taxi or car is necessary to get to town. However, staying there was a very pleasant experience and I would strongly recommend staying there when visiting Evora

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiree509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

Since our opening in 2005, one of our goals has been to promote this beautiful region of our country, and mainly the city of Évora. As you so rightly mention, Convento do Espinheiro was once inhabited by monks and frequently visited by Portuguese Kings, and it is always a pleasure to share our history with our guests.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we only hope that you may return in the near future, who knows, in a time of year when you may enjoy our lovely warm weather and also our outdoor pool.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late April, we found the hotel fantastic & the staff extremely helpful. Outdoor pool wasn't open given the time of year but the indoor pool is (just) long enough for lap swimming. Contrary to other review we've read the hotel was really easy to find - follow signs for Espinheiro. I'd say its definitely too far too walk into town & that's from someone who normally reads reviews that say too far to walk & ignore them as up to 2 miles is easily walkable (maybe not on the way back!!) Taxi to or from town approx 8 euros & if you ask nicely the hotel may give you a lift in. We didn't have dinner at the hotel so can't comment. Breakfast was good, perhaps not as much selection as you'd get at a large 5* but that's to be expected given size of the hotel. The free tour of the property & free wine tasting were an unexpected bonus - the sommelier was great giving tips on wines to try & price ranges which should get a decent wine. Overall I'd highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views towards Evora - we were in the cheapest level & had an excellent view but we noticed some rooms had balconies overlooking the inner courtyard
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that in general you enjoyed the hotel and our beautiful city as well as the the guided tour and wine tasting session. We are very proud of our region and all it has to offer and it is undoubtedly an honour to share it with our visitors.

Thank you again for your preference and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We took our family to the hotel and had a wonderful stay. The pool and spa area is very nice and very well equipped with a sauna and hot tub. The grounds are amazing (though the hotel is situated in a slightly remote area a few miles from the historic center of Evora). Be sure to take a tour of the hotel to see parts of the historic convent. It's about 20-25 minutes long but worth it to see the Chapel as well as the suite where the Royal family vacationed. Overall, it is very reasonably priced and a very nice stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldEagleWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant family holiday in Évora, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The experience started well our car was whisked away and luggage taken up by an extremely helpful bell boy whilst we were greeted with a local liqueur as we signed in and then taken to our room by a receptionist. We were happy with the location of the hotel, it’s historic setting and all the facilities which included indoor/outdoor pool & spa. We chose a Design room (preferring a contemporary feel) which was a good size along with a nice terrace area overlooking the grounds. Bathroom was large with a good sized walk-in shower with overhead rain shower which was fast running with plenty of hot water also a separate bath. Beds comfy with good quality linens. Free WiFi with very good connectivity.........then we started to discover some of the niggles. A huge greasy palm print right in your line of vision on the floor to ceiling glass terrace sliding door, dead flies on the wood effect floor and aircon. which despite being put at the lowest setting just about kept the room cool enough. At times it was warmer inside than out and this was only April. We ordered a bottle of sparkling wine so we could sit out on the terrace and watch the sunset. This took half an hour to arrive and as they sent the wrong wine another wait. The following night we ordered ice for the room (no ice machines) and we are still waiting for it. Then the bins were not emptied, the glasses in the room not washed & replaced, the shower glass screen not wiped down and left covered in soap marks. Then there was the bathroom door which would not stay closed and the wardrobe door which would not stay open. The staff were all young, courteous and tried hard but didn’t seem to quite make it. Breakfast had plenty of choice but once again the expresso machine (self service) and samovar repeatedly ran out. The staff quickly replaced it when asked but they never seemed to anticipate this eventuality themselves. I missed the fact that there was no tea/coffee making facility in the rooms. This hotel is probably the most upscale in the region with prices to match so was not expecting such breakdowns in service. The final annoyance was on checking out when we were informed that the hotel did not accept Mastercard. We fortunately had a Visa card with us which we were obliged to use and forfeit the loyalty points we could have got on the other card.

Would we return? Probably not - hotel only deserves 4 stars for the facilities and not anything else. The feel was more impersonal and corporate than boutique. Those with any mobility problems should be aware that there is a considerable hike from the restaurant to the Design room wing (albeit on one level) and the breakfast tables are up two high uneven stairs which may be difficult for some people to negotiate whilst carrying things from the buffet. On a positive note we enjoyed our stay in this area of Portugal. The spring wild flowers were magnificent - field upon field of rippling gold, purple & white with plenty of historic interest to see in the nearby villages/towns, three of which had pousadas right in the centre which we would consider for a future visit as this would mean being in walking distance of a choice of restaurants. We ate in the hotel one night but whilst it was not a bad experience the food was minimal (fine dining) at prices double those of other places in Evora. Not really the sort of place to dine at on multiple occasions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews