We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Évora mini vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing hotel with an absolutely amazing restaurant (and expensive but do go try it at least once!!) that also serves the breakfast that is just "eat and cry for more"! The staff are really kind and ready to help you out with anything. The rooms are perfectly clean. Both pools (indoor and outdoor) are superb. The bar could stay open later - close at 11pm or midnight. No free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay.

It gives us great satisfaction to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and services provided and we are also happy to inform that we already offer our guests free wifi.

Thank youy again for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
There are newer reviews for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I´ve just return from a stay of two nights in the hotel . We were two couples and stayed in the design rooms .
Everything is excellent in the hotel :the reception staff ,the building ,the chapel ,the rooms ,the gardens and the many artworks that are displayed in the public areas .
The building is an ancient monastery with a beautiful chapel . The chapel has hand painted tiles with scenes of S.Jeronimo life that are an excellent work.
You can go in the tour that the hotel provide every afternoon to hear the history of the monastery ,the chapel ,and the cloisters . You can also go in the gardens and see the very very ancient olive tree (1000 years !!!!) that still produces olives !!!!
The restaurant is in the ancient cellar with its gothic architecture very well preserved .
Although it was raining we could see that the gardens are very agreable
Our rooms were in the new wing and were excelent with a balcony overlooking the garden . Even the pillows were fantastic !
The staff is nice and efficient !
I will surely come back

Room Tip: The design rooms are excellent ! The balcony is great specially if you like the sun !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Luca_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments.

It gives us great pleasure to see that the hotel and service provided were to your satisfaction. Your kind words regarding our young team and this beautiful convent make us very proud, and indicate that we are going in the right direction.

Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Convento do Espinheiro in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is true as many other reviews say that this hotel is unique, because it´s a place where luxury features blends with the old ones of the convent. And that´s the beauty of it. Equally interesting are of course the surroundings of this hotel - a truly bucolic landscape of Alentejo. Neverending green pastures with olive trees, cows and sheeps. Peacefull and romantic - really is a balm for the soul (or a simple switch-off from the hectic city).
We spent the Easter here. We´ve been told the hotel was fully booked, but we didn´t see as many guests at breakfast, which was actually pleasant.
The Deluxe garden view room had a normal size, but the huge heavy curtains, the big dark bed and two big single armchairs made it feel smaller...we also had a baby crib fitted in - so there wasn´t much space to move afterwards.
Bathroom is big, with a bathtub and also a shower. The balcony is nice, but as it was raining, we couldn´t spend any time there. Also the outdoor swimming pool and the playground looked good from our balcony. :-)
However, the minus are the doors - very, very noisy. We could hear through them kids shoutting on the corridor at midnight that always waked us up and every single time our neighbours slammed the door it will wake up a dead as it. This is a detail that should be fixed as the door make a terrible smacking noise while closing. It was a pity, as the mattrasses were really comfortable!
The indoor pool was very pleasant with salty water and a sauna. A real relax.
The breakfast was delicious, of course with a mandatory queing up for the omelette and pancakes (and the lady preparing the omelettes was taking her time as well :-)
As in many luxury hotels, you will find sparkling wine and a lot of fresh fruite as well.
The staff was very professional and helpfull. We asked for a bigger crib and when we returned from Evora (an amazing city!) we had in our room. We didn´t make in time to try the restaurant, but I think I´ve seen a Michelin star there, so might be good. :-)
Despite not sleeping much, all in all it was a very pleasant stay. The monastery, the beautiful church, the dining area and all the antique features blended with luxury and comfort make this place worth a visit and spend some days here. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and also for taking the time to share your comments with us through TripAdvisor.
It makes us very happy to learn that in general, "our" convent and the service provided by our team was to your satisfaction, however, we are very sorry that you were not able to rest due to the noise. In truth, during the festive seasons (Christmas, Easter, etc.), when we are naturally visited by more families (children are on school holiday), it is not easy to keep the atmosphere so quiet and relaxing, but we hope that we may have the pleasur to welcome you again in the future, maybe in a different time of year.
thank you again for your kind words which we have taken the liberty to share with our team.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What makes this hotel so wonderful is its very unique setting. Many elements of the old convent remain including an amazing chapel, the cavernous public rooms and the wine cellar which is now the dining room. Starwood has done a fabulous job mixing the old and new. Rooms are modern and very comfortable. The service is excellent and breakfast was very good. It is difficult to find the place using GPS since it does not have a proper street address. I recommend getting directions ahead of time. We went into the old part of Evora for dinner both nights since the dinner menu at the hotel is limited and expensive. Our favorite restaurant was BL Lounge - very, very good and a great break from traditional portuguese cuisine which I found very heavy.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank colorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collectin Hotel & Spa and also for taking the time to share your comments.
We are happy to learn that in general, the hotel and services provided by our young team were to your expectations, and we hope to have the pleasur of welcoming you to Évora again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a first class hotel in every sense of the term. A remarkable building; the chapel of the old convent is stunning. What marked it out from many others was the attitude of the staff. They were efficient and professional at all times, but also very friendly. I hope to go back - when I've saved up enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located 2 kms away from Evora, one of the most beautiful Towns in Portugal, world heritage. T
And this really the worst thing I can say about it: it isis not located in the city centre. It is also a bit pricey, but it is not expensive for the quality and service it provides.
It was built restoring an old monastery, and the work was incredible: the reception, bars and restaurant are beautiful and in the original part, as well as the church (really a church, not a chapel) that is also part of the hotel building.
The rooms are in new areas fully unrated with the old building and are modern and comfortable, as you could expect in a modern 5 star hotel.
The service is impeccable, with the employees always trying to help.
The good at the restaurant is amazing: I had a package that included an Alentejo Flavours menu that recreated the best of the food of the region with a perfect interpretation by the chef, including wines to match every plate. Portugal has a very rich cuisine, and each region has it's own special plates. If anybody wanted to taste the food from Alentejo (the region the hotel is in) in one meal I would say this would be the perfect one: an amazing chestnut soup, the most traditional fish plate and a meat dish with several variations of the traditional pork, ending with a desert where several local sweets could be enjoyed, served with local wines matching each dish and presented and cooked in a gourmet way. The restaurant us called Divinus, perfect name..
So, matching all factors: history, luxury, comfort, service, food, surroundings this hotel will surely provide a great experience and I would dare to say that this could be in overall the best hotel in Portugal...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTTouristSintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your preference for Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury COllection Hotel & Spa and also for taking the time to give us your kind feedback.
We are delighted and very proud to read your words, and also very happy that we were able to offer you a pleasant combination of all the factors that we are so proud of: the history of this beautiful convent, comfort, service and food. As you so rightly say, the Portuguese cuisine, and in our particular case, the Alentejo cuisine, is very rich, and it provides our food & beverage team constant motivation and a challenge also to combine it with our exquisite wines.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Convento do Espinheiro again in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Entering the Convento do Espinheiro is a step into the 13th century. When you stay here you realize what it was like to be a king in the 15th century! The restaurant was the monastery's wine cellar, what is now the beautiful wine cellar was a chapel. The service throughout the hotel is friendly and efficient, the rooms are spacious and the whole experience makes you want to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinipir, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and also for your kind feedback through TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the conversion of this 15th century monument which we are so proud of. You mention that your stay made you realize what it was to be a King in the 15th century, and this is the best praise that we could receive.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
975 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
805 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
672 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $166 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing