We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here on points for one night and also used a suite upgrade. The restoration of the property - which had been vacant for over a century - was done tastefully with the history still evident in the common rooms. The rooms are relatively standard modern hotel rooms with traditional touches, rich colors and fabrics. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower, with a double vanity.

It is fun exploring the old monastery - with small staircases tucked away, little nooks, etc. Definitely take some time just to wander around.

The restaurant is well worth a visit; it specializes in local fare, and I would recommend having the local dishes and wine. My husband started out with the gaspacho, which came with all the toppings on the side and two small fried fish. Of all the gaspacho (or gazpacho in Spain) variations he had on our trip, this was the most unique and fresh. I had an appetizer which was big enough for a meal, with squash and local cheese.

Breakfast is also served in the restaurant. While certainly adequate, it seemed short staffed (maybe because it was a holiday) and that made the experience less pleasant.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything about this property shows the dedication of owners/management to find a good balance between preserving the amazing history and providing modern-day luxury. And they succeeded!

Location is very idyllic outside of Evora (rental car definitely recommended!). Hotel keeps its historic character (bar, rooms, social area..) with old furniture and features while offering all modern amenities a luxury hotel is expected to have. The chapel inside the hotel is wonderful. Don't miss out on the guided tour through the hotel grounds- we were fortunate enough to enjoy a tour by the Director himself which was a wonderful experience and the fact that he took this time off his busy schedule speaks volumes to the level of customer service offered at the property!

Food in the hotel restaurant is outstanding, slightly on the pricier side but well worth the money. The sommeliers are very good too and the wine cellar offers some real gems. We've had lunch and dinner in Evora as well but found that the hotel is much better.

Pool area in the garden is wonderfully relaxing, too and never felt crowded or too busy despite the hotel being quite occupied during the time we stayed.

Overall, it's one of the most amazing values for money I've encountered in a Luxury Collection property and the wonderful combination of history and modern amenities makes it a sucessful benchmark for many others attempting the same feat...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmoLaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If I could give 6 stars for this hotel I would! We had an amazing stay in this incredible hotel. The service is impecable and the dinner at the restaurant was the best meal we had in Europe (this trip consisted of traveling between Portugal and France). The rooms are huge and luxurious and the spa is amazing. The hotel offers a daily tour at 5 pm each day and you get a wonderful history of the 600 year old convent. They also have a wine tasting at 6 and the hotels restaurant is absolutely an amazing meal and experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllParkCityRentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Convento do Espinheiro for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to Portugal and loved every single minute of it!

First, a word of warning for anyone who's planning to arrive at night... print out some directions. The hotel is located in a very quite/dark area. During the day time the white buildings are easily spottable. At night however, it's downright impossible to find as the area around it is very dark and not properly mapped on the GPS (at least in ours). We literally spent an hour driving back and forth on the same few roads and asking directions before we found the place tucked inside some minor lane.

Staff: All of our stress melted away the minute we stepped inside reception. The staff who greeted us was warm and friendly. He offered us a sample of their house liquor as we checked in and explained that it's the same liquor that the monks used to make when they stayed there. Then he told us about the tour (at 5pm) and wine tasting (at 6pm) that they host every evening.

The tour turned out to be quite short, about 30 mins, but it was fun. They have 1 tour in English and another in Portuguese. The tour included the chapel, the wine cellar and an olive tree that's 1099 years old! Hearing the stories and the history about the monastery definitely made our stay extra special. The wine tasting is the perfect excuse for a pre-dinner drink. The guy who hosted the event was laid back and generous with his pour. At one point, he even act as messenger and informed us that reception wasn't able to get us a reservation to a restaurant we wanted because it's closed that day. Overall, everyone we encountered at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. You can tell they take pride in making their guests feel welcome.

Room: Our room was quite spacious and very clean. The king size bed is probably the biggest king size I've ever seen. We were giving a room with a balcony that faced the outdoor pool. The pool glowed beautifully at night. If the weather was warmer, it would definitely have been a great place to spend the evening with a bottle of wine. The decor of the room is quite historic looking. While it's not my usual preference, it's definitely appropriate for the setting and added to the charm of the hotel.

I am usually quite picky when it comes to bath products. However, I must say that the products that Convento do Espinheiro provided were really nice, especially the bath gel. It's not the crappy harsh stuff that you'll normally get, even at nice hotels. This is definitely a plus in my opinion.

Food: We dined at both the bar and the cellar restaurant during our stay at Convento do Espinheiro. Both were quite good. For our first night, I ordered the cabonara and my boyfriend got the Bolognese pasta from the bar. Being in the middle of nowhere and late at night, we didn't expect much. Surprisingly, they turned out to be delicious. Especially the Bolognese, which is done in the traditional way, with very little tomato and a rich meaty taste. In fact, it was so good that I swapped my plate with my boyfriend (very kind of him!) half way through the meal. The cocktails were a bit lacking though, especially the mojitos. Stick to wine instead.

The cellar restaurant is quite romantic. While the service can be a bit slow, the food are worth the wait. We ordered a baked cheese (comes in a nice sizzling plate) and foie gras (very generous portion) for starter. Both were fantastic. My main was a bit disappointing. The lobster risotto was not cooked through and the rice were crunchy. Even after I sent it back and have them redo it, they were still slightly undercook. That said, it was still a nice dining experience.

Overall, our stay at Convento do Espinheiro was a truly wonderful experience. The historical property is a destination in and of itself. Pair that with a team of great staff and it's a journey to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shir1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As guests from all over the globe might read this - here my say in English:
This hotel in an old monastary has the charm of the past plus all the modern comfort you might wish for. It is situated not far from Evora (city all history and Portugal at its best) nothing disturbs your peace in the nights in this hotel
Rooms are in a modern style or furnished with antique pieces, bathroom was great, inside pool and SPA -outside pool for summer - walks around enjoyable - billiard to relax
The director himself gives a personal tour of the building if you wish, the chef and sommelier do everything to make you want to come back -which I certainly will!
You should have a car to get you there and around

Room Tip: Sie müssen selbst entscheiden, ob Sie modern (Viele große Spiegel - und Jugendstilelemente) oder die...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've just spent one night in Évora at this amazing hotel and I could not be happier. I had stayed there before and couldn't wait to go back.
The rooms are very nice and very clean, with a nice view of the garden and pool. The breakfast room is wonderful and the food is very very good.
All the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and they suggested and booked a nice traditional restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

There isn't a single shortcoming to note or recomendation that I can make to improve this hotel. Even the price is OK for this level of overall quality and luxury.
Don't miss the hotel tour and a walk around the gardens.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
828 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
246 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Noble House
The Noble House
#15 of 26 in Evora
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $141 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing