We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RURAL CULTURE IN COMFORT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“RURAL CULTURE IN COMFORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 5 days at this location while visiting Portugal.
Just outside of the city of Evora we really felt at home each day coming and going from exploring the area. The locals in the city and at the hotel went out of their way everyday to make this trip special. We generally ate in the city as the selection of restraunts was excellent and cheaper also!! Also when I say city Evora is very samll and an easy walk when within the walled area. Grab a map at the Visitors Center when you get there, it will help! You must explore the outlying towns as they are beautiful and historic.

Obragato to all at the hotel!
Nuno, Thanks for the Hot Chocolate and Coffee each morning!

Room Tip: We were moved from the newer wing to the old wing. Much more authentic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    167
    31
    18
    4
See reviews for
216
496
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights points plus cash and had a beautiful room overlooking the garden. The rooms are superb: heavenly beds, luxurious marble bathrooms with separate tub and shower.

The pool was very nice too but limited the hours for children. They also have beautiful gardens where children can play and a playground! Our 2 year old loved this!

The hotel is outside of Evora and only accessible by car. It is only a few minutes drive to the city center. We preferred the hotel being outside of the city in the beautiful remote location. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socalfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for one night when travelling from Merida in Spain to Cascais in Portugal.
This hotel is set in a stunning old building, my room was in a modern nicely decorated wing that blended with the old building quite well.
The room was large with a good size balcony, but it had way too much furniture. Less furniture would enhance the feel of the room and make the most of the view from the large window. The bathroom was fantastic - as was the bed.
All the staff were lovely and helpful, we took advantage of the guided tour of the building and free wine tasting which was a nice touch.
I didn't use the indoor pool or spa - but it looked great. The outdoor pools are lovely with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas.
The restaurant was atmospheric - set in a cellar, food good and price not too bad.
There's free parking provided at the side of the hotel.
My only criticisms are single glasses of wine in the bar were a bit expensive; and that the wi-fi internet didn't work too well in my room.
If you can live without that (it did work elsewhere ok) then I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I do not even know where to start, the service was unbelievable.
Everyone was kind and the rooms where magnificent.
Food in the restaurant (catacombs) was to die for.
There is even a chapel in the hotel that is mind blowing!

I also highly recommend borrowing the bikes that the hotel has and riding around the area, beautiful country side that makes you just love being alive.

Cannot wait to visit again!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

On the outskirts of Evora this is an absolute gem. Convento is a beautiful national historic treasure and they have done an amazing job of blending a beautiful historic building and a modern hotel.

The tour given by the concierge staff was fantastic, service overall was exceptional, the wind tasting was delightful and the dining is absolutely wonderful.

I didn't have my kids with me, but the hotel seemed very family friendly, and I started to plot my return trip the moment I left the building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Fabulous hotel on the outskirts of Evora, with all the modern ammenities one could wish for, including an inside heated pool and jacuzzi, outside pool with children's pool as well, vast gardens and olive orchards, etc...The hotel manager leads a very interesting tour of this ancient monastery, recently converted into a hotel, daily, followed by a complimentary Portuguese wine tasting. The hotel serves olive oil pressed from its own olive trees. The breakfast is fabulous, with a large sampling of local delicacies, self-serve expresso and capuccino, sparkling wine, made-to-order omelettes, etc...The rooms in the modern section face the gardens and are very nicely appointed. The concierge at the hotel was excellent, making suggestions and reservations for us for tours at nearby vineyards and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Evora is a small and almost perfectly preserved walled city in the centre of Portugal's Alentejo - about 80 mins south-east of Lisbon and the same distance from the Alentejo coast to the west or the Algarve to the south - it is relatively quiet for a tourist destination (with a university), with decent and inexpensive restaurants and pastillerias and worth a visit.

The Conveto is not quite the typical twee spa hotel with tropical flowers floating in bowls etc etc. First, the location isn't great - a few miles outside the City in a nondescript area where the countryside meets villages and sparse suburbs - and the landscape is rather open and unattractive. Also, the convent itself is lovely, but not stunning. The ground are also a little shabby and most of the rooms are in modern wings, which are comfortable, but nothing special.

The same can be said of the main building - a pleasant enough old convent, well preserved, but with something of the shabby chic air of one of Spain's state-owned Parador hotels. The indoor spa pool is on the small side and the outdoor pool big, but very cold!

Having said that, the Conveto is still a very pleasant place to stay, with generally reasonable prices, good service, a lovely chapel (with services), free wifi (patchy) and an excellent breakfast. When we went, the clientele were mainly Portuguese. If you're coming to Evora, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.8 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
3.5 mi away
Evora Hotel
Evora Hotel
#11 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Property: Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing