We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$248
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moov Hotel Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$106
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
865
205
47
25
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
205
47
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarluxury collectionnew wingdesign roomspg platinumbeautiful chapelluxury hotelindoor pooltasting menuguided tourtour of the propertyrestored conventold sectionmain restaurantsteam roomunique experienceolive oil
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Near the pleasant little town of Evora you will find this beautifull tranquil hotel. You will need a car to move around, but it's worth driving around the country site anyway. Traditional hotel, rooms and staff in a setting of an old monastry. The contrast can not be bigger when you book a Grand Deluxe Design room. Huge, quirky, eccentric. Some might call it 'over the top'. But very comfortable indeed. The yellow bathrobes are the only thing which reminds you of the otherwise dull and classic design. It's just fun to spend a few nights here and enjoy pure modern oppulance. The silence and the nice swimming pool add to this nice expierence. Only drawback: early morning motorized activities by the hotel garderners let you wake up too early.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

It's well worth staying for a few days at least at this beautifully renovated hotel as the atmosphere takes a little time to sink in. We enjoyed exploring the chapel, cloisters and various public rooms in the convent but also took advantage of the historic tour, which was full of anecdotes - don't miss the (almost) 1100 year old olive tree! The free shuttle to Evora is a great help for visiting the main monuments as well as some excellent restaurants (the Andy Warhol exhibition at the Forum was an unexpected bonus for us). Impressive food, glorious weather and a great pool - even a free massage - helped to make this a very relaxing holiday, but the greatest credit goes to the hotel staff, both as a team and individually, for really excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie55Findon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really friendly staff, wonderful rooms, really beautiful surroundings, away from city, good spa and good interior pool, nice areas to eat, have a drink and relax.
Meals a bit pricey but good (didn't have dinner though, didn't dare looking at the prices on the menu)
Breakfast area not as good as expected.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic, howver it is not up to the standard of other Starwoods luxury collection hotels.
The breakfast service was very poor specially when it was busy at weekend. The buffet was not regularly replenished and coffee was from a machine. There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and the swimming pool was very cold even in June.
The hotel itself is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I will start by saying that I booked this room using starpoints from SPG so the value was GREAT! This hotel is rated 5*...as platinum memebrs, upon check-in, we were immediately upgraded to a corner suite in the old building with a balcony totaling the entire size of the inside rooms put together, wow! The check-in staff was fine, no problems. The Hotel itself is wonderful. The grounds of the property are immense and definitely worth taking a quiet stroll around in the morning before people start to stir...the serenity and beauty are top-notch. The History of this place is great, its like staying in a medieval castle with the comforts of home and a couple of bars and a restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant it is very expensive. The food is fine but for the price I want to be WOWed. We found some nice places in Evora that were more reasonably priced and the food was really good; try Pisto they treat you like family and the owner speaks English really well. A famous Alentejo dish of Pork and Clams is a must try.
I would not give this hotel a 5* by American standards, they try hard but don't quite have it. The room service is lightning fast as well as anything else you request, like iron, ice, etc. but making you feel super welcome and not having to request things by anticipating it falls short. For example there was a snafu when I was checking out, they did not have enough cash on hand to provide me change because it was too early in the morning...I requested some tea and coffee while I waited the 1/2 hour for change to arrive and they wind up putting the coffee and tea on my bill! I paid it but as a platinum member and the fact that I was inconvenienced you would think they would have bent over backwards to recognize the inconvenience (I was in a rush to return my rental car back in Lisbon). Although, the bartender Paulo was 5* and then some, but the overall experience falls falls short of 5*.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and the region its in (Alentejo) makes this a hidden gem that mixes the old with the new that you must see!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahgninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews