We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit tatty”
Review of Hotel Dom Fernando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dom Fernando
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Dom Fernando for four nights as part of a mid-holiday break (we were based at Lagos in the Algarve for two weeks). Overall the hotel provides value for money - it's not particularly expensive - but it needs a deep clean (especially the carpets) and several licks of paint if only to freshen the place up. The aircon in the room was pretty noisy, and the TVs are quaintly out of date with a very limited range of channels. Still, we didn't go to Evora to watch telly; we went for the sights.

Dom Fernando's location is superb, a simple 10-minute walk into the heart of town. The Reception staff were very good too, very helpful and cheerful most of the time. The pool is large, very sunny and clean, but day-time snacks are limited to sandwiches and the bar is not always staffed if you want coffee or a soft drink. It can also be a noisy place. All the rooms are off long corridors and even when people are trying to be quiet, the reverberation is amplified. If you are a light sleeper, you might be woken up a few times. Even so, our room was serviced daily and to a good standard.

Worst of all were the breakfasts. I understand you can pay more to upgrade your first meal of the day, but why should you have to? I've stayed in youth hostels which offered better fare than this. Soggy scrambled egg and lightly cooked bacon (some of it *very* lightly cooked) comprised the warm food, with crisps, cereals, fruit and banana cake the rest. The coffee was bitter and the fruit juice tasted as if watered down. The toaster is a law suit waiting to happen. Metal grilles, fragile glass elements and - how about this! - all-metal tongs. Sooner or later someone is going to crack one of those elements and he or she will probably land in Lisbon. Sort this out, Mr Manager! Invest in a conveyor toaster and do it soon!

As for Evora, it's a delight. Beautiful churches, good museums, somewhat pricey restaurants and other sights of interest. The best meal we had was at Fanatismo on the main square. Be careful in all restaurants! When they approach you with the bread and olive entree, it isn't free and can be stupendously expensive, so check the menu before you eat it.

We took a day-trip to Lisbon by train, a 90-minute run setting off at 7.02 and costing 22 Euros each return. The station is ten minutes away from the hotel, and you walk past a Portuguese foodery called 'Alkimia' which serves magnificent hamburgers for when you come back. Lisbon is astounding, and the metro is easy to navigate. Get up to the Castle of St George and you'll have a view of the entire city; come back down by tram and you'll have an experience hard to forget. The Cathedral is also truly a work of art, and it's on the way up the hill to the Castle.

So, in sum, Dom Fernando served its purpose. We didn't go looking for luxury, and it provided good value for money. It was a good starting point for our daily excursions, but we thought it unreasonable to have to buy a decent breakfast at the first place we came to on our days out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanbrown489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just stayed one night at the Dom Fernando and would not return. Good points it is quite close to Evora - well within walking distance and the rooms were very clean but it was so dated and beds very very firm - everything else in the room seemed to be well past its sell by date!!!. The hotel had 3 stars but I presume that was because of the pool - I can't think of any other reason as I have seen far better facilities in 2 star hotels. Breakfast was like a mad house - scrum like!!!!!! everybody had the same idea of going early although 7.30 start seems quite late compared to other hotels and there were many workers in there - juices were like coloured water but coffee was decent. All I can say really is that I am glad I was only staying one night as it was only adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

For those venturing to the historic town of Evora in the Alentejo region of south-central Portugal, the Hotel Dom Fernando would be a good, reasonably-priced choice. On this occasion I was with a small touring group, and the tour company made the hotel selection for us--it certainly was more than adequate for our purpose.

The hotel is located just outside the city walls, and a 10-15 minute walk to the city center. Most of our group were "active" tourists who did not find this walking distance to be an issue at all. The rooms were clean, basic, and well-maintained, with most rooms having a small balcony overlooking the spacious pool area. (As an aside, our group was leaving the hotel just as the pool was being readied for the late spring and summer season--at the time, the temperatures were rapidly rising to 32-36C, and soon the pool would be a welcome amenity for travelers seeking respite from the hot, dry conditions of the region after a day of sightseeing.) The breakfast room was spacious, and the selection was more than adequate to satisfy our needs.

Overall, I was satisfied with the Hotel Dom Fernando and would recommend it for travelers who don't mind a little walk into the city center. For those who do venture into the city center in the evening in search of a fine meal, the is no finer restaurant in Evora than O Fialho (which I will be reviewing in the restaurant section). I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is easy to find, well located 'just' outside the city walls and very close to Evora centre and attractions, as well as having good access to main roads. Plenty of parking.
The staff were helpful and good choice of breakfast. The rooms were clean and bed comfortable (we requested a Double but had a twin, disappointing as due to headboard design the beds werent together). Overall it was adequate for our purpose as we only used the hotel as a base to sleep etc ... generally the hotel is very tired and could do with some maintenance and updating.
We have stayed in Evora before and this hotel didnt meet the standards we have previously experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysbetterinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the new year's eve. nice party, music...
The hotel is regular, it has a nice pool (with view from the rooms), it's clean, the breakfast is a little poor. It's not inside Évora, the location is not perfect. we prefered to take the car inside the city walls. the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was staying in Dom Fernando for just two nights with a friend on a short excursion from Lisbon. Had a great stay here, clean room which was pretty large with patio doors looking out to their own pool. Comfy bed, nice breakfast, friendly staff. What more can you ask for...!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The reception staff were very charming and helpful. The public rooms of the hotel were pleasant and comfortable. My own room was delightful. It was large and attractively decorated and furnished and included a safe which was very useful. It was on the ground floor with its own small terrace with table and chairs. This led onto the swimming pool so it was a great place to relax after sightseeing. Breakfasts were very good. Negative points are that the shower was old fashioned and weak. The TV had no channels in English. The bed was rather hard. Although the location was not in the old town, the tourist sights were only a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 27 in Evora
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 27 in Evora
1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
0.2 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 27 in Evora
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Fernando

Address: Avenida Dr Barahona 2, Evora 7005-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Price Range: $37 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dom Fernando 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dom Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Fernando Évora
Dom Fernando Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing