We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Welcoming stuff and a very nice and well kept room and bathroom. We enjoyed staying at the hotel and therefore decided to extend our stay for another day. The hotel is centrally located, and breakfast is basic but fine.
The only problem we had was a weak WiFi signal in our room.

Room Tip: A room facing the entrace alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ruthie,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +351 266 704 141.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    118
    89
    16
    17
See reviews for
45
152
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Arriving quite late and tired, it was not easy to find the hotel (although we had a GPS device). I walked over to the hotel to ask how to reach them by car while my husband waited in the car. They gave a good explanation to drive to a street where we could park. I wished I had asked this upfront our trip that would have saved us a lot of searching ;-)
There are a number of parking spaces reserved for hotel guests. Not just the ones (two) in front of the hotel, but also in a bigger street around the corner. We had the last spot so were very happy and it's a very short walk over the cobble stones to the hotel.

There is an elevator, which was good news for us.
Our room was very small (no place for our big suit case) and so was the bath room, but the bed was fairly big and the room was clean with even a free bottle of water and good WiFi. The bed was rather hard to sleep on but further the room was OK.

We had a good night of sleep (no noises) and in the morning were surprised with a great breakfast. Freshly cut foods, you could make fresh orange juice, good quality products,... we really liked the breakfast!

For the price we paid (less than 50 euro, in March): we got a lot of value for our money.

My only complaint would be that the staff at reception was not always friendly enough, but this is a minor thing.

Would recommend this hotel!

by the way, the landscapes surrounding Evora are stunning. Make sure you have enough time to visit the countryside and drive to Monsaraz, Mouara,...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Belgian Travel

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +351 266 704 141.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good location, good price

Parking is dificult, but the hotel have some places to park. The hotel is some how in the middle of houses, dont have a front view.
Breakfast is simple but efficient, enought.

Evora is a fantastic town to visit, good people, excelent monuments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Exmo.Sr./ Srª M D

Queremos expressar-lhe o nosso agradecimento por ter completado o preenchimento do inquérito de satisfação de Cliente referente à vossa recente estadia no nosso hotel.

A vossa preferência é muito importante para nós e garantimos que valorizamos as vossas opiniões e comentários. Indicando-nos as vossas impressões sobre a sua estadia e como podemos melhorar, ajuda-nos a poder oferecer uma experiência superior tanto para si como para outros hóspedes no futuro. Esperamos tornar a tê-lo/a novamente entre nós.

Se futuramente podermos ser úteis e necessitar da nossa assistência, não hesite em contactar-nos em +351 266 704 141.

De novo muito obrigado pelo tempo dispensado no preenchimento do inquérito. Agradecemos a vossa lealdade à nossa Marca.


Atenciosamente,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great location, very near the city´s main square. The breakfast is very good for a 3-star. The rooms are not very spacious, but really clean and new. When you are inside you just can´t figure out how old the building is (like all the city). The wi-fi is good in the lobby, but in the bedrooms the signal is fairly ok. There´s no frigobar in the rooms, so don´t expect it. Apart from thar, the staff is really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +351 266 704 141.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is on a very narrow street, within easy walking distance to the main square and sights. Our room was very small and was a smoking room which we didn't expect. Staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very adequate. Wi-fi didn't work in our room as we were out of range. Just went to the lobby - no problem. Cab from the bus station is 6 Euro.
Our room and bathroom was spotless. Good value!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lady Smith,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +351 266 704 141.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived late so we were very pleased to find a twin room at the Hotel Santa Clara. It was their last room and although we would have preferred not to have a smoking room it was not a problem. The location is great. We were there over a weekend so parking was free and although we had to park a 5 minute walk from the hotel we didn't mind as it gave us the opportunity to explore the streets on foot. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast if not sumptuous then certainly adequate. It was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Parking is a problem. If you can drop your bags off and find a park then walk back to the hotel. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jane S,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +351 266 704 141.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A modern Hotel in an old city. Nice, clean rooms. A good breakfast, and a short walk to the city Square.
Wi-fi is available in each room.
Parking is somewhat of a problem, but this is an old city within city walls.
We had an unexpected opportunity to attend a concert by the Tallis scholars in the cathedra-l a most amazing evening.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA DE JESUS G, Gerente at Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kycliff

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +351 266 704 141.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Maria Jesus Gaspar
Diretora
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 25 in Evora
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#14 of 25 in Evora
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Property: Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Address: Travessa da Milheira 19, Evora 7000-545, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Evora, whose well-preserved historic centre boasts some of the finest monuments in Portugal, earning it the epithet of museum-city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Évora
Best Western Santa Clara
évora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing