We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inside the walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Penela
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“inside the walls”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, inside the walls of Evora. The rooms are very clean, beautifully decorated - lovely fresh cotton linen. It's very near the Praça do Giraldo and all the other main sights. We were lucky enough to be able to park in the designated parking, which is very near the hotel but can't be booked. The breakfast is very nice - even for a vegetarian like me - and seemed to have enough of everything without being overfacing. We got an exceptionally good deal that it made it really worth the money. Friendly, helpful staff. Free tea and coffee whenever you want in the lobby. I recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelaTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    117
    86
    16
    17
See reviews for
44
149
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The sound-proofing of the hotel rooms are not ideal. While my wife and I stayed there a group of kids were partying and making noise all night long. The staff on duty did everything he could, talking to them directly, talking to their teachers, and even calling the police. But the situation did not improve much. Eventually at about 3:30 we requested to be moved to another room on a different floor. It was better. We could finally get 4 hours of sleep. We don't blame the staff. I think he did his best.

And, our room is located directly facing the fire escape entrance, where people go out to have a smoke. Opening and closing the door can create lots of noise. And many people just slam it or left it open.

The breakfast was somewhat lacking comparing to other BestWesterns we have stayed.

The location of the hotel, free parking and room with a terrace can be counted as pros.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room directly facing the fire escape entrance, where people go out to have a smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lord_cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took a trip in january to Portugal,stayed at Santa Clara BW between 8-10th january,we found rooms clean with ferm beds,not big but spacious,bathroom was nice and very clean.Staff nice and kind,breakfast also good,they even had oranges and juice maker,sweets were also good.
Internet is free with good signal,AC worked fine and quiet,definetely recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location of this nicely restored hotel (as Best Western does very well all over Europe) is ideal. Just a few steps from the central plaza (Praca di Geraldo), everything is accessible on foot. We walked for three days and saw everything the city had to offer--cathedrals, roman ruins, the aqueduct, cobbled streets, and plenty of lovely architecture al lover this town, made better with a bag of freshly-roasted chestnuts, We arrived by train, with a very reasonable €5 taxi ride to the centre.

The hotel itself was good, rooms a little on the small side, but we were on a good B&B deal and didn't do anything but sleep in the room. No great view. Very clean, modern, everything worked. No tea or coffee facilities, which I missed. The breakfast was standard, and decent, but we avoided the unheated cooked eggs and bacon, not appetising. The cups were extraordinarily thick, and cold, and so the coffee from the pots was too quickly cold. I ended up filling them with hot water first to preheat them. Simple things, but important. Stff were friendly, and we made no special requests so cannot comment on the service. Room was always clean on our return. A truly lovely city to visit. Highly recommended--follow the top ten form Trip Advisor, grab a map and go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euromancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice hotel in Evora that is close to the center of town, but it is very hard to get to and the parking is very limited. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are a lot of good restaurants close by and waking in Evora is not real demanding. Would go back if I wasn't driving.

Room Tip: Parking is a real issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just 5 minutes from the centre of this UNESCO heritage town - we stayed three night and and found it very comfortable. We arrived by train from Lisbon only just over an hour away ., walked up to the hotel (15 minutes up hill) and left by bus (coach station also 15 minute max) . Car parking is a problem on week days as paid for parking sometimes limited time near the square - couple of spaces round the back (see pic) which is actually the front entrance to the hotel.
Staff were OK , not especially friendly but not unfriendly - responded quickly to request for extra blanket.
Breakfast good
We went on quided walking tour of town arranged from tourist office which was good and took bus trip to Monsaraz. Also went to the university and art gallery./museum near the Cathedral (free on Sunday)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. We let them know before that it was our honeymoon, and they had a sweet little tray of cookies and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. It is small and simple, but very clean and centrally located. We found it very easily and were able to park in the alley near the hotel with no problem, even in the height of tourist season July. They serve a very simple but completely adequate breakfast. We really were very impressed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMondeEstBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#16 of 24 in Evora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#17 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Property: Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Address: Travessa da Milheira 19, Evora 7000-545, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Evora, whose well-preserved historic centre boasts some of the finest monuments in Portugal, earning it the epithet of museum-city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Évora
Best Western Santa Clara
évora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing