We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable and centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adorable and centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. We let them know before that it was our honeymoon, and they had a sweet little tray of cookies and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. It is small and simple, but very clean and centrally located. We found it very easily and were able to park in the alley near the hotel with no problem, even in the height of tourist season July. They serve a very simple but completely adequate breakfast. We really were very impressed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMondeEstBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    114
    79
    14
    16
See reviews for
44
140
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I traveled to Evora for a Conference that was held on 1-3 October 2012. The first surprise came when I tried to park the car in one of the "free parking" announced in the hotel webpage... I was so innocent..they only have a few parking places scattered all around the surrounding streets. The parking places were difficult to find and always occupied. But that was only the beginning...
The big surprise came when they give me a "room" (not sure if what they gave me could be named room) with a small cell window partially covered by an exterior wall. The room was more similar to a prison cell than to an hotel room (see attached photos). I asked for a room change but they only offer another prison-cell room or a stinking room in a smoking area outside the hotel. I could not believe what was happening.

I think this is not what most of the people expect for a 70 €/ night and person "Comfortable and totally renovated 3-Star Hotel" (according to the Affiliate website). I can only advise against choosing the Best Western Hotel Santa Clara as I feel defrauded by the hotel and did not have a pleasant stay there neither.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evora hotels

Candiac
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent place to stay,The staff is very pleasant and they really take care of you.Breakfast is very good.A hotel to go back again.Thank you for everything.We were passing threw going to Lisboa.Wearrived late at night and we were very tired and they made us feel comfortable

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turbide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Got to the hotel 40 minutes early and they would not even think of trying to get us our room, but that was not a problem we were indeed early. Then when we did get our room it was a smoking room although we requested non smoking. They were surprised we were not happy with our smoking room and said there was nothing available in that building. Then we were told there was only 2 single beds in the non smoking room. The new room was basic and OK but no elevator but it was non smoking so we stayed. Then we noticed there was no TV remote in the room. We called to the front desk and they said they were checking. We finally stopped by the front desk and we were told we needed to pay a 10 Euro deposit for the remote in which we passed on. I have never heard of this. After the room ordeal it's crazy to ask their paying customers for a remote charge! Go elsewhere!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SigPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We booked a room on line and were given a twin room in the annexe, round the corner from the hotel. The room overlooked a courtyard and was very quiet, so we were quite happy to be in the annexe, but WiFi was a bit patchy, as you would expect. The room was a little cramped with two single beds in it, but very comfortable and it had a decent sized bathroom with bath and shower. The hot water supply was extremely slow, but when it finally packed up altogether on the 2nd day of our stay, we were moved to another room in the main part of the hotel very promptly after a maintenance man had attempted to rectify the problem. That room was quite a lot bigger, although maybe a little noisier being in the main building. The breakfast was included and had all the usual continental breakfast items. The location was fantastic and free parking (assuming you get there in time to claim one of the hotel-only spaces on the street or one of the two directly outside the hotel) a definite bonus. There was a computer for guest use near the breakfast area. The staff were always polite and helpful and we would definitely recommend it to others and would stay here again, given the chance. We thought the value for money was really good, although it was quiet around town, so I don't know how negotiable they would be in peak season.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one on the top floor if possible, as it is always quieter with no-one above you. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Santa Clara is the perfect base for exploring this wonderful city - our 2 nights in March were a first for both and a revelation. The hotel is right in the centre, close to all the key historic sights and a short walk from a great range of excellent restaurants (Jan-March is good for anyone interested in the great Alentejo cuisine celebrated during these months). The rooms are not large, but extemely comfortable, well-decorated and appointed. Breakfast was great - full hot and cold buffet and freshly-squeezed orange juice! Staff were welcoming and helpful - what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Difficult to say, but we could see the cathedral spire form ours and it looked wonderful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Best Western Hotel Santa Clara in Evora, Portugal last December. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of this Unesco Heritage City, next to the old convent of Santa Clara and within a short walking distance of all the important historic sites of Evora, good restaurants, shopping, train and bus stations. The building has character, the rooms are smallish, but decorated with style and taste. Breakfast was very good and included a nice variety of juices, fruit, breads, yogurts, and cereals. The reception staff was efficient. This hotel offers a comfortable, clean, and attractive place to spend the night in the lovely city of Evora and is a great choice and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabonde401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#17 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#15 of 24 in Evora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Property: Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Address: Travessa da Milheira 19, Evora 7000-545, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Évora
Best Western Santa Clara
évora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing