We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and free parking”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We booked a room on line and were given a twin room in the annexe, round the corner from the hotel. The room overlooked a courtyard and was very quiet, so we were quite happy to be in the annexe, but WiFi was a bit patchy, as you would expect. The room was a little cramped with two single beds in it, but very comfortable and it had a decent sized bathroom with bath and shower. The hot water supply was extremely slow, but when it finally packed up altogether on the 2nd day of our stay, we were moved to another room in the main part of the hotel very promptly after a maintenance man had attempted to rectify the problem. That room was quite a lot bigger, although maybe a little noisier being in the main building. The breakfast was included and had all the usual continental breakfast items. The location was fantastic and free parking (assuming you get there in time to claim one of the hotel-only spaces on the street or one of the two directly outside the hotel) a definite bonus. There was a computer for guest use near the breakfast area. The staff were always polite and helpful and we would definitely recommend it to others and would stay here again, given the chance. We thought the value for money was really good, although it was quiet around town, so I don't know how negotiable they would be in peak season.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one on the top floor if possible, as it is always quieter with no-one above you. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    118
    89
    16
    17
See reviews for
45
152
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Santa Clara is the perfect base for exploring this wonderful city - our 2 nights in March were a first for both and a revelation. The hotel is right in the centre, close to all the key historic sights and a short walk from a great range of excellent restaurants (Jan-March is good for anyone interested in the great Alentejo cuisine celebrated during these months). The rooms are not large, but extemely comfortable, well-decorated and appointed. Breakfast was great - full hot and cold buffet and freshly-squeezed orange juice! Staff were welcoming and helpful - what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Difficult to say, but we could see the cathedral spire form ours and it looked wonderful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Best Western Hotel Santa Clara in Evora, Portugal last December. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of this Unesco Heritage City, next to the old convent of Santa Clara and within a short walking distance of all the important historic sites of Evora, good restaurants, shopping, train and bus stations. The building has character, the rooms are smallish, but decorated with style and taste. Breakfast was very good and included a nice variety of juices, fruit, breads, yogurts, and cereals. The reception staff was efficient. This hotel offers a comfortable, clean, and attractive place to spend the night in the lovely city of Evora and is a great choice and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabonde401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Nice clean, white old building from outside, exactly in medieval city center. You cross the door and you are in a sad hotel, without any personality. Everything looks from the seventies, rooms are very small and not perfectly clean. Poor Breakfast in choice and quality

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evora hotels

Elberton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is tucked away from the main streets of Evora but is just a couple minutes walk from the main square. The room was small but we had a private courtyard with no street noise. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were good-fresh squeezed orange juice!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I liked this hotel a lot. Great location just down from the Praca do Giraldo on a quiet alley/street (do not try to drive to the front of the hotel!) Our room on the first floor overlooked the alley, was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to what was our favorite restaurant in Portugal - Adega do Alentejano on Rua Gabriel Victor de Monte Pereira.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here during a week-long conference at the University of Evora in mid-Sept. Double was spotless, nicely furnished, quiet, and comfortable. Looked newly redecorated. Queen-sized bed with lots of pillows. Free wi-fi, but connection was very unreliable for several days (almost useless) until fixed. Large breakfast buffet included, lots of choices, including fresh-squeezed orange juice. Location couldn't be better, unless there had been a view of the Praça do Giraldo. Close to shopping streets, restaurants, and cafes. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 25 in Evora
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#14 of 25 in Evora
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Property: Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Address: Travessa da Milheira 19, Evora 7000-545, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Evora, whose well-preserved historic centre boasts some of the finest monuments in Portugal, earning it the epithet of museum-city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Évora
Best Western Santa Clara
évora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing