We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011. The hotel is very well located, just steps from Praça do Giraldo. Our room was clean, plainly furnished, and comfortable but tiny. The breakfast buffet included in the room rate was adequate, and we especially enjoyed the self-service station to make fresh-squeezed orange juice. The front desk staff were helpful, friendly and spoke very good English. Because of its great location and very good price, I'd stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one week. It was well heated and the bathroom had plenty of hot water (very appreciated in November!). No tea/coffee facility within the room, though you can have some made at the bar (not free). Comfy bed with choice of pillows (there is a pillow menu!). Not a new hotel, but ok. Free wifi. Friendly staff. Breakfast: very good choice at the buffet, including the possibility to make fresh juices yourself; you can help yourself to fruits for snacking during the day; several choices of cereals, bread, cheese, etc. Some English French language channels on the bedroom's TV. You can walk to anywhere in town from this hotel. It is not easy to find by car as there are many one-way streets and, as the streets are quite close to each other, the GPS navigator struggles a bit. There are some parking spaces for hotel customers in the nearby street, but as the hotel gets fuller during the touristic season, they may all get taken by the time you want to park after a day out of town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupoftea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We had a very small car (Opel Corsa) but it's nearly impossible not to scratch it trying to make your way to the hotel which is nice but kind of very no frills, the breakfast especially is hardly edible. Best Westerns in US are much more upscale.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel is ideally located in the heart of Evora, a few minutes walk from the main square, Praça de Giraldo. The service was efficient and there were some nice touches such as free WiFi access and the chance to squeeze your own fresh orange juice at breakfast.

However, these factors were overshadowed by the miniscule room we had. I am not exaggerating when I say that the beds took up about 90% of the space so it was impossible for two people to move without bumping into each other.

Strangely enough the single room I booked for another member of our group had a double bed while our double room had two single beds.

There was also no mini fridge so the bottle of water provided courtesy of the management matched the 35 degree Celsius temperature outside and was tepid.

I had expected better standards from a hotel within the Best Western group and was surprised to learn that Best Western is franchising its name. I intend raising this matter with Best Western as the name was the main reason I chose this hotel.

The place was OK for a night but I wouldn´t recommend it for a longer stay in Evora, a city which is a rare treat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paulista668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

A family of four staying in a hotel in the city center with 110 euros really is a great deal! The staff of Santa Clara was really helpful, gave excellent restaurant recommendations and took care of one minor problem we had professionally and fast. The breakfast was also very good, considering we were in southern Europe whera a pastry and a cup of coffee is standard. They had good quality breads, cold cuts & cheeses, fresh fruits, coffee with warm milk, nice selection of cereals & yoghurts etc. And it was included in the room price! Room was clean even though quite small - but that did not matter, as we were in Evora for the sights. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Great location, mins from the main square and they take small dogs, a plus for us .

When spent one night here, we are living near Tomar in central Portugal, so we thought a night away would be nice, having surfed the internet I found a very good hotel site that offered this hotel for Euro 41.00 and that also included breakfast, great deal for two persons.

The hotel offers many services, free, tea and coffee delivered to your room, bathrobes, free internet, you can even squeeze your own oranges for juice at breakfast !

They offer bike hire which can be booked at reception, ideal area for this, saves walking.

All in all we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiosann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

First of all: DO NOT FOLLOW THE GPS DIRECTION!!! Simply park on the Rua Serpa Pinto in front of the church, there are some reserved parking lots for the hotel guests; and from here only 1 min walking you will find the hotel in a small and tight street.

The hotel is good, the rooms are tiny, but there are enough space for the clothes and suitcases, honestly not a huge room, really small... but for couple of nights it is ok.

Buffet breakfast, 3-4 different pastries, cheese, salamis, scrambled eggs, ham, cornflakes, VERY good coffee, cookies, juices, etc...

The staff is nice, friendly and helpful. If you need anything do not be shy for asking.

The location is perfect!!! Everything in walking distance!!! We did not use the car for days, because we did not have too, so you can drink wines, anything, after dinner just simply walk home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 27 in Evora
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#16 of 27 in Evora
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 27 in Evora
1,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#19 of 27 in Evora
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro

Address: Travessa da Milheira 19, Evora 7000-545, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Santa Clara)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VSTAY HOTEL ÉVORA CENTRO is set in a whitewashed, red-tiled building in Évora's historic centre. It offers bright, air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The rooms at STAY HOTEL ÉVORA CENTRO feature colourful walls and spacious bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV with cable channels, desk, kettle and offer a bottle of mineral water and two types of tea. Room service can be provided 24 hours a day. Guests can enjoy a daily breakfast buffet, served from 06:30 to 12:00. 24-hour bar and snack service is also available at the JUST DELICIOUS bar. Reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Évora
Best Western Santa Clara
évora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing