We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Universidade de Evora
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.87*
and up
Évora Trip and Alentejo Wine Tour from Lisbon - Private Tour
Ranked #10 of 145 things to do in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

There are so many beautiful buildings to see in Portugal and maybe I was expecting too much but the main part is mostly a large courtyard area with classrooms off the side. The rooms do have different tiles and there is an explanation outside but I thought the grounds and other buildings outside needed maintenance.

Helpful?
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    138
    34
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The university is tiny - but the view from the inside of it is stunning. There is a nice courtyard with oranges as well, but it's secondary: it is all about the view...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
370 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“How can one study in such a beauty?”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love to take my travelers to the university of Evora. Lovely building, nice cloister, full of the famous tiles (Azulejus). I fail to understand - How can you study in such a beauty?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Not really that much”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Maybe I am picky, but in a city like Evora with so much to see, leave the University to the end and only if you have extra time. The outside is not that impressive and, yes, this is the second oldest university in the country, but, so what?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not like the college I went to”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The tiles in all the classrooms were outstanding. The walls were covered 1/2 way up with scenes of different historical events. The inner courtyard was very lovely, spacious and relaxing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank brinlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universidade de Evora also viewed

 

Been to Universidade de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing