We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good regional cuisine”
Review of O Garfo

O Garfo
Ranked #150 of 246 Restaurants in Evora
Cuisines: Portuguese
Description: tel: + 351 266 709256
Restaurant details
Description: tel: + 351 266 709256
De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good regional cuisine”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I can understand some of the disapointed comments on the restaurant, but keep in mind that the portuguese kitchen is typical regional.
Over the last five years we travelled through 3/4 of Portugal and we can say that every region has its own specialities. If you like fish, you have to go to the Peniche region. For consistent dishes you have to go to the North.
The Alentejo is good for pork( cured ham, black pig race, dried sausages).
Some dishes may seem odd in their combinations of ingriedients, but when you are used to it it's very tasty. Take for instance the pork stew alentejana with it's comination of pork and clams.

Concerning O Garfo, ok the owner may look a bit odd in his behaviour, but the man speaks only a bit of english, but if you speak french and a bit of portuese, he's friendly.

In contrast of Spanish, Portuguese are a lot more friendly and helpfull people.
We had an excellent dinner. The owner has a very good selection of wines at very reasonable prices ( average 12 € for a bottle 75cc). We were charged 53 € for a complete dinner for 2 , entries, main courses, dessert and wine.
So value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philipvansteenkiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    10
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were looking for a sandwich (tostas) or similar lunch in Evora and mistook this restaurant for another recommended by the hotel. Although we were the only customers, the owner was visibly upset when we asked if he had tostas. "This, sir, is a restaurant" he said. I wasn't impressed as the day before we were in a restaurant (yes a real restaurant) in Castelho de Vide which was happy to serve us anything from sandwiches to full dinners. I've reviewed that separately. I think if guys like this one carry on in this way, they will simply go out of business as the other restaurant has seen what it needs to do to survive in these economic troubles.

As we were hungry and had seen no alternatives (although dozens were literally around the corner) we each had the fish soup at 9,90 euros being the cheapest selection on his menu. And to be honest, the fish soup was excellent, lots of fish and shellfish together with noodles. It took a while but with no other customer obviously they started from scratch and it was worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Only if you really love porc”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The place was recommended to us by friends. We found it somewhat disappointing though service was professional. Since March is a low seazon it, possibly, improves during the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Przeglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went on the advice of our hotel reception. We were the only diners on a Friday night and we were treated like an annoyance. I thought the owner was having a bad night but upon looking at the reviews I guess it's his style. Food was okay. Too bad since it has the potential to be a nice family restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very old portuguese style restaurant, style and food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant was mentioned in the guide. The interior is worth a look. The owner won losts of prices - ages ago I think - and still goes with the old traditional recipies. The flavour was good, the presentation of the food very poor. No soft drinks for children, and they speak only Portuguese.
We had far better evenings in Portugal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katleen_lybaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Garfo also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to O Garfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing