We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful patio”
Review of Pateo

Pateo
Ranked #25 of 251 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Terrace on a traditional courtyard, regional tapas, Alentejo wines, free wi-fi, multiple language service. We can accept anticipated reservations until 7PM.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A wonderful patio”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We came here for a few drinks so I cannot testify as to the quality of the food, but the drinks were really nice (they have a good wine list) and the service was quick and efficient.
The restaurant is conveniently located in the historical center of Evora and the patio is a cool and refreshing place with plants all around.
They also play great music (American classics from 50s - 60s) and as far as I understood there is dancing in the evening.
Highly recommended to spend a few pleasant hours.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    278
    84
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went the extra mile”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have a physical disability and the Pateo Restaurant is up a flight of stairs. Two strong guys carried me up and I has a pleasant laid-back evening listening to 80s music and eating local food. I was carried out easily but my slipped on the stairs on the way out. The owner/manager insisted on escorting us back to our hotel to make sure we were ok.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bourgeois bohemians parenthesis”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We found the place by chance and have been delighted by the atmosphere.
Good music, well selected wines, calm and nice atmosphere (open-sky terrasse), friendly service and very nice food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milady007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas Tucked in Quiet Courtyard”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We loved everything about Pateo. It was recommended to us by the folks at our hotel and it exceeded our expectations. The salad and meat/cheese board were excellent, as were the wines (of course, I don't think we had even a mediocre wine anywhere in Portugal).

As other reviewers have described, the courtyard is lovely, with umbrellas and trees to provide cool shade. Even though the temps were in the upper 90's F (37 C), it was still comfortable in the outdoor dining space. The service is top notch. We liked it so much we came back on our second day to relax and enjoy all that Pateo had to offer. Our only regret was that we were too tired to come back later in the evening to enjoy the music.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank indygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Utterly Fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stumbled upon this gem of a place by chance and we're treated to the best tapas we've ever had At a very reasonable price. We only wanted a snack so the tapas were ideal. The hot dipping cheese was simply delicious and my partner Babs enthused all day about the prawns cooked in garlic stating that they were the best ever, and believe me she knows her prawns!
Overall, the food was scrumptious, Sangria fruity and thirst quenching and the staff attentive and dedicated. We wiil be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pateo also viewed

Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Pateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing