We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ice cream and music under the stars”
Review of Pateo

Pateo
Ranked #26 of 250 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Terrace on a traditional courtyard, regional tapas, Alentejo wines, free wi-fi, multiple language service. We can accept anticipated reservations until 7PM.
oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ice cream and music under the stars”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

while exploring the town of evora, we saw a sign that stated there would be live music at the restaurant that evening... so after we had supper elsewhere we went to the Pateo to hear the music... a local guy with a guitar was playing and singing under the stars... there were 6 of us and when we learned they had ice cream we had some, it was the best chocolate ice cream ever, complete with whipped cream and nuts... the people were friendly and made us feel welcome, we enjoyed a lovely evening in a great little town...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    288
    87
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best finds in Evora, it is tucked away off the main tourist regional shopping street. The staff are the best asset this bar has, they were so friendly and knowledgeable about the local wines, and there is a lovely outdoor setting, not located on a foot path or beside a road. Well worth popping in for a look. The staff were also extremely helpful in tours to the monuments and directed us in that direction which the tourist office failed to do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice corner of Evora with good tapas and drinks”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hotel lady recommended this restaurant to us as we asked her where to go for a small bite. Otherwise, we would have passed it. It is a really nice location, calm and relaxed. The staff is superfriendly, tapas are yummy and the drinks are good as well. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinadarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Secluded and quiet outdoor terrace”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a pleasure to have a great dinner with lots of vegetables in a quiet outdoor space
surrounded by trees. My husband and I paid less than 36 euros for a large, very fresh
salad, some tapas, wine and excellent Portuguese bread. This is a lovely place to have
a great dinner without the sound of traffic or tons of tourists. Nice atmosphere and very
congenial wait staff. What a relief to find such a relaxing place with good food, too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All Round Great”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As others have said...lovely spot, friendly attentive staff, good food. Thoroughly recommend this to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrP_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pateo also viewed

Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Pateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing