We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1 4 P'ras 9

1 4 P'ras 9
Reserve with
1 4 P'ras 9 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 242 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a ordinary looking restaurant in Evora but the fish dishes were really good.
The waiter seemed a bit subdued but warmed to the task quickly and was very helpful regarding the food order and the wine accompanying it.
He advised one starter between 2 and when it came we thought he was wrong as it was quite small. However when the main course arrived, monkfish cooked with rice, we realised he was spot on as the portion was huge. It could have fed 3 or 4. We did it justice however, as it was delicious.
Friends who had the prawns cooked with bread were similarily impressed.
Do visit, the value is also excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    182
    53
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More good food than we could eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant provides traditional Portuguese food, which is what we wanted. I'd recommend skipping the starters and going straight for the entree, which you will not be able to finish even though you'll love it because the size of the portions is so large.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Arroz with tamburion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very very good. Be careful about quantity, a dish for 2 is enough for 4!. Select wine in bottle, much better that the other one.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaDS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
242 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A super salty dinner that we didn't enjoy, a bit overpriced for Portugal!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place was one of the recommended restaurants by our hotel and while walking in the streets we found it in front of us so we booked a table for the evening.
The place is warm but personnel was just neutral. We had cured smoked meat with bread to start with and to accompany our wine. It was good. Then we had our main dishes (clams with chicken with fried potatoes and pork with mushrooms accompanied with fried potatoes).
Nothing special and not only that. They were very very salty, as if they mistakenly added much salt on top. You could see the sprinkled salt around the dish! Somebody may say that salty and unsalty is subjective but I am a person who eats salt but the right quantity in the food. Maybe somebody else can say that the recipe is like this and that we are not aware of the Portuguese cuisine but this was not the case as one of us is native Portuguese and in any case we both had many times Portuguese traditional food and we know is amazing! Personally I left my dish half finished and I didn't enjoy it at all. It was also the most expensive restaurant we had during our holidays in Portugal. Food in Portugal is relatively cheaper than in other European countries but in '1/4 para as 9' was overpriced! Wine too! We wouldn't care for the price if the food was satisfying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seafood stew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I shared a very tasty and large bubbling pot of arroz de tamboril...the menu said this was for two, but it was enough to feed four. Friendly place, and a highlight of our time in Evora.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1 4 P'ras 9 also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to 1 4 P'ras 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing