We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BL Lounge

BL Lounge
Ranked #36 of 240 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $24
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a bit of trouble finding it, but it was more than worth it. I had the asparagus and shrimp risotto, which was very good. My husband wanted to try the regional specialty of pork with clams, but the owner said that the weather in the south had been bad that day and he didn't have any fresh clams, so he didn't want to make the dish and disappoint us by using frozen clams. He said that they did have fresh octopus and he knew how to prepare it so it was tender and not chewy. My husband was a bit dubious as he had never thought of eating octopus before, but the owner assured us it would be good and said he would make us something else if he didn't like it. It ended up being quite wonderful, just as the owner had predicted. A bottle of local white wine and some excellent desserts rounded out the experience. All in all, a memorable dining experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank donandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good host & good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The BL Lounge was high on the list of restaurants recommended by the staff of the Albergaria do Calvario (ADC !) where we were staying for 2 nights. A slightly off beat and tasty menu, with great service from a really genuine and pleasant host/owner all made for a very nice dining experience. Would love to take a gang of our friends there from home!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoolsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good meat, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

this is a well located and attractively designed local restaurant in Evora. Nothing exotic or particularly creative, but the food was well executed. The wine cellar is particularly good and we had a local reserve wine that was delicious. Good value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in Evora at BL Lounge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family had a wonderful evening at BL lounge in December, 2013. We were looked after so nicely; the wait service was probably the best we have ever experienced: professional, courteous, informative about our wines (which we had brought ourselves at no corkage fee), great food choice recommendations and all in a lovely, modern yet warm atmosphere. Food was top notch. We loved the interesting variety of tapas starters that we didn't see anywhere else during our 2 weeks in Portugal (especially the chicken livers and the special fava beans). A definite recommendation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank personfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Mushroom appetizer that tasted like snails...amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended by our hotelier, who advised: "Do not miss the mushroom appetizer." How could we say no? It went beyond even our wildest imaginings. I don't know how they do it, but six mushrooms with garlic and coriander appeared that tasted like French snails without the snails. Buttery, flavor oozing from every bite. Wow! Oh, wait, I should tell more. Set in a quiet corner of Evora, its exterior is unassuming. That is quickly transformed once you enter into a beautiful, expansive, modern space. When we tried to order one of their other very popular dishes for dinner, the polenta, the owner advised us against it as being too heavy of a dish for dinner. Instead we ordered pork medallions and shrimp with a tomato/bread side dish that I had never experienced before but was filled with flavor. We were told to save room for their famous chocolate cake...oops, too late. While we had arrived nice and hungry and hadn't eaten all that much (shared appetizer but a main course each), alas no room left for dessert. Oh well, maybe next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BL Lounge also viewed

Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to BL Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing