We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensao Residencial Policarpo
Nearby Hotels
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evora Inn(Evora)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$159
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moov Hotel Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$226
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
65
125
38
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
125
38
13
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 254 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very central 16th century villa with excellent staff, easy access to everything, very good value. We hired bikes and cycled the old railway line to Arrialos. There is no air conditioning but we never had a problem and the bathrooms are mostly shared and small - they have put such facilities in without altering the structure of the building.

Our stay was excellent from the moment we walked in - we were welcomed with a free glass of wine from the owner David and introduced to his wife, Marta. This is not the usual welcome as I never saw anyone else get this. Over the 5 nights we stayed there was a nice family atmosphere with the family children eating supper watching TV with us, having breakfast and granny coming to visit on Sunday. This was never intrusive but contributed to the warm homely feeling.

The receptionist Monica is a major asset and her choice of restaurants for stingy Scots excellent. We ate in places no tourist ever went and ate food we didn't see elsewhere.The staff here are extremely helpful. We had room 1 and being next to reception had excellent wifi the whole stay.However there is only wifi in public areas.

The Pensao will be hard to find down narrow cobbled streets or off the one way system. The roman column in reception shows how old the property is and the 16th Century stone staircase gets you to the upper floor.

We would come back here in an instant. If you want character, friendliness, historic atmosphere round the corner from the temple of Diana. to imagine what it was like in Roman times staying in this town then come here. If you want in room WiFi, en suite and flat screen TVs then there is an IBIS and other hotels outside the walls.

Room Tip: rooms near reception get wifi
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

While the location of the pension is excellent and the staff are friendly/helpful, there should be some mention of the fact that not all rooms are equal. The room I was shown for the first night of a three night stay was really unacceptable. It was dark, dingy, at the end of the hall (furthest away from the bathrooms) and facing the car park, where you can hear cars driving along the cobbled street all night long.
At my request, I was moved to a room on the second floor, and given a small discount for the discomfort experienced the first night, to the credit of the hotel owner. But, unless you are really hard up, I would avoid room 6, during your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This pensao is very well located in the centre of Evora. The car parking is also very convenient. If you want working WIFi in your room, make sure you request it in advance as it is not generally available throughout the building - it can only be used in your room if you are close enough to the two reception rooms where the routers are housed.
The rooms are basic and might be described by some as characterful. For me, they were basic and, accepting that it is an old building, I did not perceive them to be terribly clean.
The bathroom is very small and the condition of the shower curtain in my room was particularly off putting having a large unidentified stain on it
Finally please be aware that they do not accept credit cards so you will need cash to settle your bill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Located close to the main attraction , the pensao is offering rooms in an historic building . The hotel room was small , but ok. Our bathroom was very small and not suitable for larger persons.
The breakfast was minimal.Creditcards are not accepted
The hotel is tricky to find and if you go by car using a navigation system , put in the parking adress not the hotel adress.Parking lots are in the back of the hotel (different street).The main entrance is not/hardly reachable by car

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great room, beautiful view, excellent location right within the walls of Evora near cathedral, minutes by walk to Roman Temple and town center. The complex used to be the summer residence of a count, being there is like being back in time, I love the fairy tale room keys.

My room had sweeping view of the roof tops of other houses downhill and the distant plains, and also my own sink. The patio outside the breakfast room was great for morning stretches. The only thing that was not idea was the shared bathrooms. They were cramped, not well ventilated, and the standup show stall was very tight and did not drain well. It was a big mess on the floor after shower. But that is only 15 minutes of inconvenience out of the day, it´s not a big deal, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews